We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Neighborhood Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Melissa's

Melissa's
Ranked #62 of 999 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Dear Custoers and Friends:Melissas's Restaurant is sorry to say we will be closing our doors for the summer season.We will reopen in the Fall.Looking forward to seeing you all again in the Fall,Warm regards,M & J.
Fife, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Neighborhood Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Friendly staff, who spoke English well, and the food was Excellent. We only saw tourists in the restaurant once, out of our 3 meals there. Also serve non-seafood dishes. And good drinks!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    101
    39
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great fish freshly catch and made!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were here for 4th of July. Read review and stopped by. The restaurant is a small quaint place with a simple decor but the service is great. We had red snapper and mahi fish with your special condiments. These were absolutely amazingly tasteful. We loved the mussels as well. Thank you!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Msy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect atmosphere and insanely good seafood soup”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stumbled on Melissa's on the first day of my first Mexico trip with my mom and sister. It's a very cute restaurant where the staff and Melissa herself are friendly and speak excellent english, but it still feels authentic and not tourists only. My sister doesn't like seafood so she had the chicken burrito and loved it. It was plenty of food for 2 separate meals. I had the seafood soup which is out of this world good. I don't know how they make a profit at all with so much seafood packed into that bowl. It has octopus and scallops and crab and mussels in a light, tasty broth. Legitimately one of the best meals I've ever had and impressively affordable for the quality. I get hungry just remembering it. We also all had drinks (margaritas, pina coladas, and beer) which were cold and delicious and they give you a free shot of house tequila to close the meal. Melissa's was the only restaurant of the whole week in Mexico that we had to visit again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We went to Melissa's for our last lunch in Puerto Vallarta and when we arrived at noon they were there, but didn't open until 2. But they said no problem, come on in and they'll make us lunch. The food was excellent and the restaurant is right on the bus route down town so easy to get to.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best food we had all trip!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

This cozy little restaurant a few blocks up from the Malecon is worth the very short stroll to get there!
The prices are great & the food is some of the best I've had in Mexico. The Marlin Tacos were amazing!!!!
I'll definitely be back!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crystalceee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Melissa's also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Melissa's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing