We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but a long walk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Ranked #13 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stayed at the Garza Blanca in November 2013. Did not do the all-inclusive option. The initial arrival is very nice. Instead of checking in at a desk, you are taken to a couch and the desk clerk and concierge check you in and explain the resort and give you a welcome drink (cucumber margarita). Yes, they will try to get you to do the time share tour by offering discounts at the hotel on food and drink, a free tour (City Tour see below) and free taxi back to the airport. The tour is supposed to be 90 minutes. Another couple with us took the tour and it is the typical time share pressure sale.
The resort itself is very nice. The building is clean and well maintained and the grounds are well maintained. All the staff was pleasant but no one stood out. All the service was very good, the waiters always remembered to take orders from and serve the women first. The resort has three buildings on the beach side and two towers on the mountainside across the main road. They are currently building a third tower in between the first two on the mountain side. We were in tower 4 (the first number of your room tells you what building you are in) and could hear and see the construction. The noise wasn't too bad but it does start early and go all day. The construction is just above the uphill pool making it not so pleasant to use. It is a long uphill or downhill walk from the mountain towers to the beach. There is a bridge across the main road and golf carts for the uphill part.
We stayed in a junior suite. The room was gorgeous with a great view of the ocean and bay. There was plenty of space with a separate soaking tub, walk-in shower, double vanity, separate closets and a huge balcony with a hammock. Room cleanliness was excellent and the daily maid service was flawless.
The beach side pool area was very nice with the infinity edge pool. Plenty of loungers and beach towels. Same with the beach area. Both areas have umbrellas for shade.
The City Tour was a van trip to the ship port (never got out, just saw it through window), the church in town, Los Arcos overlook point and a tequila "factory". Glad it was free because the other couple with us did the time share tour because it would have been disappointing if I had paid for it.
Food at the resort was pretty good. We ate most of our meals at the resort. The mountainside steak restaurant, Boca, was our favorite. The filet mignon was the best steak and we tried them all.
The resort is out of town away from PV. It is an easy cab ride, 100 pesos, each way or try the Mismaloya bus for 7 pesos, pick up and drop off right in front of the hotel.

Overall I would go back if the price was right. We enjoyed the hotel but they can be proud of their prices.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tman6487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,937)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,326 - 1,332 of 1,937 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

We really enjoyed our seven day stay at Garza Blanca, and especially appreciated the combination of a great beach with fine sand, wonderful pools, opportunities for forays into the mountain/jungle terrain, tasting of fresh caught ceviche and mixing of micheladas, and friendly service from all personnel. Our room was an ocean studio, which was fine, but should probably be labeled as a very nice hotel room since it was basically two queen beds and a chair plus a mini frig and a hammock in the balcony. However, we loved hearing the waves and having a view of Los Arcos from the balcony. The air conditioning cooled, but did not reduce humidity and therefore we returned home with damp clothing and accessories. We especially appreciated the friendly, helpful activities people who took us on hikes, kayaking/snorkeling expeditions, and dips in the river. We can't remember all the names, but among them were Francisco, Miguel and Alan. Although we ate a simple breakfast in our room, we enjoyed the fajitas and drinks at Aquazul Beach Bar and evening dinners at Blanca Blue and Boca Dosstk. The 15% discount card for taking the time share presentation (which was quite painless and conducted by honest, forthright people) helped reduce the cost of those fancy dinners.

Room Tip: Some rooms are next to the sea and others located up on the "mountain." Although the moun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Great location
Great food a little pricey but once you taste it you find your rationale
Great service
Garza Blanca is a wonderful/romantic place to be,

Excited for the future of garza Blanca hopefully we will be back soon, thanks to Fidel for the tour :-) motivation at its best. Definitely the place to be in PV!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yeyoalvarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Just spent a lovely four days at beautiful Garza Blanca. The pool staff including Jaime, Alvaro, Alfredo and more were so delightful. They served with graciousness and smiles! They made every moment at the pool or beach more fun with their prompt and attentive service and great drink recommendations!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
2  Thank Melsbell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Just celebrated the first leg of our honeymoon here and had an amazing experience. The service at the pool is tip top! My main man Ezequiel serves beers with a genuine smile and Oscar makes a damn good cucumber margarita. All of the staff is extremely nice and speak English very well. Go all inclusive, go big, go home with a smile! Muchos gracias Garza Blanca!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

My wife and I spent a week at Garza Blanca to get away from the grim Seattle weather; it was our first time at an all-inclusive resort. The food and service were fantastic! Everybody was very friendly and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we wanted, especially the waiters at Aquazul, the poolside/beach bar and restaurant. We especially enjoyed the fajitas and the ceviche! Because this was our first time at an all-inclusive resort, we were on the lookout for any surprise exceptions on the final bill, and were happy to see that there was nothing unexpected there at all. They make it very clear what is and isn't included when you check in.

Our suite was beautiful and brand-new on the 9th floor with a fantastic ocean view (and a hammock on the huge balcony to enjoy it from). The king-size bed was a touch soft for us, but I expect it would be fine for most folks. Everything was very clean and the maid and turn-down services did a great job every day. Our concierge was Jessica and she was always very friendly and helpful. We also enjoyed an amazing couples massage at the spa; if we had stayed a few more days I'm sure we would have indulged in another one!

You should be aware that Garza Blanca is a "residence club" resort -- a time-share -- and you may be offered some discounts in exchange for a tour and presentation/sales pitch. If you aren't interested, just politely say so and it won't be a problem; you won't be treated any differently.

We do wish we had spent one more day there -- just as we were checking out the Aquazul staff brought some huge fresh red snapper and mahi mahi literally off a boat and started preparing the "catch of the day" lunch on the beach. They were cooking one-kilo slabs of fresh fish to order and making the freshest ceviche imaginable. We were really sorry to have missed that!

Overall we had an amazing, relaxing time at Garza Blanca and would happily go again and bring friends and family.

Room Tip: The 2-bedroom suites have a jacuzzi on the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markcogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed at Garza Blanca during our October honeymoon . We enjoyed the stay however, my husband and I told several times to front desk people about our honeymoon and that we want to upgrade, but they acted like they didnt hear us. Awful experience! If you are not a celebrity they treat you like nothing. I cried and was unhappy honemooner! Wouldn't recommend to other couples.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaraSanDiego2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Administration, General Manager at Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

In Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa, YOU ARE our Celebrity.

Due to high demand of our suites for honeymooners, and because we care that your celebration is unique, Garza Blanca is developing a new concept in hotel for the discerning traveler, whether honeymoon, anniversary or any memorable date MOUSAI be ideal to inspire unforgettable moments.

72 Suites go beyond luxury and imagination to be the sanctuary to save forever your best transcendental experience. Live de experience MOUSAI in October 2014.

Pierre Bonin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#3 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
551 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#9 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
759 reviews
7.6 mi away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#11 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta
Hyatt Ziva Puerto Vallarta
#12 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
7,889 reviews
5.1 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#6 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,518 reviews
7.6 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa

Address: Km 7.5 a Barra de Navidad, Puerto Vallarta 48390, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £150 - £1,253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacularly flanked by the vibrant blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the verdanant tropical forests of the Sierra Madre mountains, Garza Blanca Preserve Resort & Spa nestles gracefully just minutes south of historic Puerto Vallarta, one of Mexico's most dynamic and sophisticated vacation destinations.All Suites feature in-style decor that include marble floors, granite countertops, private terraces, whirlpool tubs and artisan in room amenities.Our ultra-chic gourmet restaurant is one of Puerto Vallarta's most sophisticated and premier dining options, catering breathtaking ocean views, a stylish lounge, a 230 label award-winning wine cellar, and a selection of unique contemporary dishes tailored to scintillate your senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garza Blanca Preserve Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing