We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what I expected, after reading reviews.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Ranked #24 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Not what I expected, after reading reviews.”
Reviewed 18 January 2013

My friend and I spent two nights here, before my timeshare week began in the hotel zone.The night manager was very nice and friendly, as was Betsy during the day. The courtyard on the main level was very pretty. Unfortunately, our room was barely tolerable. First of all, it was very small and cramped. A kitchen table that was way too big, was crammed into a tiny kitchen area, that you could hardly get around, let alone sit at it. The sink was full of dishes, which the manager thought were clean. The grease filter over the mini stove was filthy. Beds themselves were fine with clean sheets, but threadbare, old bedspreads. The coffee table was missing a quarter panel of glass, and the room smelled like mildew. There was a very tiny balcony, and if you looked to the left, you could see down to the beach. Unfortunately, the outdoor walls were covered with mold, and there was dirt and electric wires on the privacy sides. I admit we did not complain, as we had just traveled for 12 hrs, were exhausted, and didn't know where else to go, as it was late. We just tolerated it for two nights. Also, earlier reviews stated that there was no problem getting a late check out, so I asked on line (before I saw the room) about staying a few extra hours on Saturday, until check in time at the condo. First I was told that it would cost $600 pesos, and a future email, stated it was $700. (for 2 hrs). Needless to say, we checked out as early as possible on Saturday, and fortunately could get right into our place at Los Tules. I don't mind a simple, budget hotel, but cleanliness is essential. i won't return.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 5oclocksomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Mercedes P, Propietario at Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
We would like to clarify that the hotel was renovated in Fall of 2013 and has been under new management since. We take maintenance very seriously and our facilities are in good condition.

The inadequate furniture mentioned on this review has been replaced by comfortable, new pieces of the right size for the spaces. Mold problems have also been fixed throughout the property. Our common areas as well as our rooms have been upgraded. We have a well kept property, personalized service, and really make a point about fixing any little detail that may not be at the level of guest's expectation.

I would also like to add, that under this management, we do have late check out when possible. And we do not charge for it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    91
    28
    8
    1
See reviews for
9
139
55
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

This is a great location, just one block off the beach. The hotel has nice amenities which include a minikitchen and fridge, and hair and styling features in the bathroom. The room was reasonably quite and very clean. I found it entirely comfortable. The wifi was excellent. It was a good value for the money.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Unbelizablegrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

This is a great little secret in Vallarta, I was actually planning on not writing anything so less people will know about it but that wouldn’t be fair to the place. The location great, right in the heart of the “zona romantica” and is not even a very short block from the beach, restaurants convenient stores and shops are around the hotel. The place is clean and bright, is like an old Vallarta house that was renovated with a good quality but very low key style. Beds are nice and big with nice linens; rooms are spacious and full of light. In this place you feel like home, it is not strange to be helped by the owner who is there all the time, the staff is cordial and attentive. This is a boutique hotel, not one of those big chain impersonal ones so if you want to experience more of the feeling of Vallarta, this is your place, it is a small place so I don’t recommend it to travelers with kids. Is also not a place to go look for amenities, there is a nice small pool and your typical toiletries in the bathroom, and trust me, is all you need here. Of course you have internet and flat screens TV’s, phones, coffee maker, even a small fridge… There is always morning coffee at the pool area.
The rates are really good and if they are high sometimes it is because they are very few rooms and it gets full very easily. This is another of the places that you feel more at home than in a hotel. Hope you can enjoy it as I did.

Room Tip: just go, relax and enjoy it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerry u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Very rustic, minimal amenities. Staff very nice and helpful. Mais service average. Close to everything, but for price expected more.

Room Tip: Get a penthouse for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nstsized
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

This small hotel in the zona Romantica area is in a fantastic location just a stones throw to the beach, the stafff are friendly and very helpful. Our allocated room was small for 3 adults so we upgraded to the top floor 2 bed 2 bathroom appartment which had a lovely open air kitchen and the biggest balcony ever with a dinning table, sofas, and sunchairs, it was lovely to sit out there in the evening, we could see the beach and watch the sun going down. The bedrooms where a good size with huge comfortable beds and a TV in both bedrooms, also a toilet and shower in both rooms. The kitchen had a gas hob, although the pans where not up to much and there was no kettle we boiled water which was provided for us in a pan for a cup of tea/coffee. The only down side of the top floor appartment was no air conditioning only a ceiling fan, the bedrooms where really stuffy at night.
The pool area was very private, small pool but very clean, a very comfy seated area provides some welcome shade from the sun, breakfast is provided which consists of fruit, yogurt, cake, orange juice and coffee.
We did not eat in the reaturant attached to the hotel although the food did smell fantastic I think if we had been there longer than our 5 days we would have certainly tried it.
We asked for a late check out and got it free of charge.
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: the top floor appt is the best room try 4 that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunburn15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

If you want to experience the real Vallarta and don't want to stay in the same big resorts that give you the feeling that you have already been there, you need to go to Villa Mercedes.
This is an old Casona (large house) converted into a hotel by the original owners, how cool is that? and you can walk to the beach (playa de los Muertos) or downtown.
Next time I go to Vallarta I'll make sure I reserve a room there!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank parce78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

This is in the Zona Romantica, and we stayed in a corner suite looking out over the ocean and the El Dorado restaurant. While not fancy, it was clean, and felt like an authentic piece of an older Puerto Vallarta.

The staff was very helpful, the bed was comfortable. and the room was quite large. It could probably be noisy on some occassions but we were not bothered by the bar across the street, or any other street noise.

We used this hotel for 2 nights, before moving to our very nice timeshare resort. It got us into the downtown area where we wanted to be and suited our needs well. We will probably stay here again in December.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tankersteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#60 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada de Roger
Hotel Posada de Roger
#18 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vallarta Shores
Vallarta Shores
#3 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Cupula
Casa Cupula
#11 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.5 mi away
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
#47 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resorts by Pinnacle 180
Resorts by Pinnacle 180
#14 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel

Property: Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Address: Amapas No. 175, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Mercedes is a PETIT HOTEL with boutique type accommodations steps away from Los Muertos Beach. It is located in a historic hacienda-style building with unique Mexican charm in one of the most convenient locations of Old Town Vallarta. Once the first "finca" in the district of Los Muertos Beach, the historic character has been kept throughout generations and upgraded with modern-day ammenities, art, and unique decor to meet the comforts of modern-day living, and the tastes of discerning travelers seeking authentic experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing