We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A New Favorite”
Review of Casa Naranjo

Casa Naranjo
Ranked #86 of 1,016 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The hidden secret of Vallarta´s residents...
New Jersey
Level Contributor
165 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A New Favorite”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Recommended by several people at my hotel (and the taxi driver) and they were all correct. This restaurant deserves it's high Trip Advisor rating. My family arrived on a slow Tuesday night and had the pleasure of spending a little time with the owner and chef.

We started with a green salad with orange dressing (great dressing), Crab bisque with Tequila and Pumpkin (best crab bisque ever), Cream of Mushroom with Epozote, and the absolute show stealer, the Smoked Salmon Carpaccio with Pepper and Citrus vinaigrette. The main courses were the equally outstanding Duck Margret with ginger and orange sauce and the Naranjo Pork Chop. This restaurant is not only worth a try, it was good enough so that we will leave enough time to return for the tasting menu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank FamilyMan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    57
    13
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cancún, Quintana Roo
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well worth going a bit out of the way..”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Couldn't be more positive about this restaurant. Our party of six enjoyed everything about the experience. It's not inexpensive by the standards of what you could get in other places in PV but the food quality,ambience and service make any added cost (and it really isn't much more) well worth it. It's great to sit right next to the open kitchen, as we did, and see the chefs preparing the meal. We knew it would likely be a terrific dining experience when the chefs offered us an amuse bouche of smoked marlin turnovers and actually gave us each two pieces. From there, standouts were all of the soups we had, including a very refreshing cream of orange and tarragon. All of our fish entrees were great, including the red snapper dishes, the salmon, and the sea bass. Desserts were worth having too, especially the poached pear. It was not a fast paced meal, even though the place was near empty, but that was okay with us. We've had some very good meals in PV over our 4 trips here but this was at least the equal of any other.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BAL82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great little restaurant”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We had dinner there -- recommended by a near buy jeweler -- good selection on menu & wine list. Thoroughly enjoyed experience & would defiantly go back. The food/wine was very good value/quality. They accepted our master card --

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, but...”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

My husband and I had dinner at Casa Naranjo at the end of April 2013 and had an excellent meal. I ordered the pork chop and my husband had the fish. Both dishes were delicious and beautifully presented. We ordered margaritas and they were very good. Our waiter, Daniel, was very attentive, but not intrusive. It was also nice we could see into the open kitchen and watch the chef at work. The dining room was nicely decorated and the bathrooms were the cleanest I've seen in PV. My hesitation on not giving this restaurant a higher rating is based on the fact it was a little warm and stuffy inside. There were ceiling fans and an air conditioner working, however, due to the heat outside, they could not keep up with cooling the room. It is was a little hard to find this place too, since it is off the beaten path in Old Vallarta. They only accept American Express and no other credit cards, so otherwise you need to bring cash. The staff went out of their way to order us a taxi when our meal was done and it was outside waiting for us. We would definitely go back, but probably on a cooler day.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank tropicalshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Picton, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Food - Great Service”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We were a party of six celebrating my daughter's birthday. This was the first visit for all but my daughter who has eaten at Naranjo on several occasions and chose this restaurant for her special occasion.

Needless to say, we were all very pleased with everything about this top class restaurant, the food, the wine, the ambience and the terrific serving staff.

In addition to the afore mentioned, the key features for my wife and I were the crisp linen table cloths and napkins. Last but not least, the food was served HOT on HOT plates, without even asking - great!

We will be back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Naranjo also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Casa Naranjo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing