We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small gem amongst many”
Review of Casa Naranjo

Casa Naranjo
Ranked #87 of 1,031 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$16
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The hidden secret of Vallarta´s residents...
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
416 reviews
300 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“A small gem amongst many”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

In PV's old town near the romantic zone. Small restaurant with the service and food you keep coming back to. Baked Panela cheese with onions as an appetizer. Spinach salad with shrimp and grapefruit slices, mixed greens fresh and crunchy. Duck breast with sweet potato & orange purée was fantastic, duo combo of jumbo shrimp and lightly pan seared snapper, pasta with sea food. Great small menu. White table cloths and friendly prompt service. The Chef sent some Marlin turnovers ( empanadas ) that were fantastic. Good Chilean wines.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    57
    13
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Walk East of the Bay for this Spot”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Off the beaten path but somehow diners know of this fine place. Beautifully designed and decorated, the tables are well-spaced, service attentive but unnoticed, bringing dish after dish of very fine food. Every plate we had was not only beautiful but tasty. The fish was so fresh. Love the touches of orange throughout the menu as Naranjo means orange tree. Please add this place to your fine dining list without the extremely high prices.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A New Favorite”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Recommended by several people at my hotel (and the taxi driver) and they were all correct. This restaurant deserves it's high Trip Advisor rating. My family arrived on a slow Tuesday night and had the pleasure of spending a little time with the owner and chef.

We started with a green salad with orange dressing (great dressing), Crab bisque with Tequila and Pumpkin (best crab bisque ever), Cream of Mushroom with Epozote, and the absolute show stealer, the Smoked Salmon Carpaccio with Pepper and Citrus vinaigrette. The main courses were the equally outstanding Duck Margret with ginger and orange sauce and the Naranjo Pork Chop. This restaurant is not only worth a try, it was good enough so that we will leave enough time to return for the tasting menu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank FamilyMan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cancún, Quintana Roo
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well worth going a bit out of the way..”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Couldn't be more positive about this restaurant. Our party of six enjoyed everything about the experience. It's not inexpensive by the standards of what you could get in other places in PV but the food quality,ambience and service make any added cost (and it really isn't much more) well worth it. It's great to sit right next to the open kitchen, as we did, and see the chefs preparing the meal. We knew it would likely be a terrific dining experience when the chefs offered us an amuse bouche of smoked marlin turnovers and actually gave us each two pieces. From there, standouts were all of the soups we had, including a very refreshing cream of orange and tarragon. All of our fish entrees were great, including the red snapper dishes, the salmon, and the sea bass. Desserts were worth having too, especially the poached pear. It was not a fast paced meal, even though the place was near empty, but that was okay with us. We've had some very good meals in PV over our 4 trips here but this was at least the equal of any other.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BAL82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great little restaurant”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We had dinner there -- recommended by a near buy jeweler -- good selection on menu & wine list. Thoroughly enjoyed experience & would defiantly go back. The food/wine was very good value/quality. They accepted our master card --

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Naranjo also viewed

Emiliano Zapata, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Casa Naranjo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing