We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The atmosphere matches the food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dante Ristorante - CLOSED

Dante Ristorante
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The atmosphere matches the food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

The view from Dante i stunning to say the least and the food is a perfect match to the view. Add to that Roberto's friendliness and willing to please and you cant go wrong.

Have you ever been told that substitutions are not welcome?..........Not at Dante. Mix and match anything you like.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank looking4sun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    15
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

Garlic bread very tasteful.
Good choice of affordable wines.
Calamares fritos to share was delicious.
Good service and free limonceli without any taste.
Next time we skip the free offered limonceli !

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
129 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“not our favourite.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

While the food was good, our waiter was impatient and not all that helpful. It was our only visit to the marina, so we enjoyed the scenery but would not return because of the service. Our risotto was very tasty and dessert was good, but we just didn't love the atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sjm1183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
288 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Solid Italian, with a great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

The food was good, Not the best I've ever had, but nowhere near the worst. (And, I'm picky about Italian!)
Very attentive service.
Beautiful views of the marina from the large patio seating area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KV-MKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA,
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Pass it by”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

I have traveled to Puerto Vallarta about 12 times and never had a poor meal until now. I have walked the Marina and passed Dante's and figured I would go in some time as it always had a crowd. This night I passed up some of my favorites and we went in. What a mistake. It was not the they were not nice, in fact everyone there was great. Nothing seemed to go right from the start. Two waiters came by after the first to take our drink order. Ok, so they are a little disorganized . The guy at the next table was chain smoking the whole time so that put a damper on things. The bruschetta came out, tasty enough, but the bread was embarrassing stale. So was the bread basket delivered with it. So much that you could not eat the tasteless garlic and oil served with it. My Caesar salad was average and my wife's beet salad just ok too. I ordered a special, risotto with chicken and mushrooms and my wife ordered chicken with angle hair and pomadoro My risotto was so creamy it was in edible and my wife's pomadoro sauce was watery and tasted like it came from a can. Again, the service was pleasant enough. I have a dislike for restaurants in Mexico where street people are allowed to roam around and sell flowers or play songs for you in exchange for money. Is was continuous throughout the meal so we just decided to leave after out meal and not stay for coffee or desert. We were offered some complimentary limoncello and accepted. Had to be the worst I have ever tasted anywhere. It was definitely home made by someone who did not have a clue. With so many fine Italian restaurants in Puerto Vallarta, I don't know why I went here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Quikag54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dante Ristorante also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing