We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip Advisor reviews win again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Villa Del Mar
Ranked #84 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Trip Advisor reviews win again”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Reviewed Seacruise's review about this hotel and booked into it for three nights. Everything that was said in the review was still appropriate even though the review was dated 2007. The noise off Madero was tolerable because the buses only came by once in a while after 11:30 pm. Great value and worth returning to. Very clean and the room service still makes animals for the beds!

Room Tip: As mentioned elsewhere, try for a room away from Madero if you want to sleep before 11:30 at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ego10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    27
    16
    6
    11
See reviews for
9
20
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2013

My fiance and I were in town for a friend's wedding and Hotel Villa Del Mar was exactly what we were looking for - a great value that was clean and safe. It had fast, working wifi and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. This is a 0 amenities hotel, but that was just fine with us. They tidied our room, replaced our empty bottles of water with full ones, emptied our trash and cleaned our bathroom and floors everyday ... which is all we really needed. We had a really wonderful time getting to know the neighborhood, which we found to be friendly, safe, and easy to navigate (despite the uneven nature of the streets and sidewalks all around PV). This was our first time to PV and we thought it was a fun and wild little city, which was great but we were pleased that this hotel was in a quieter area. Just a few blocks from the main streets, the location was perfect for us and our events - it was about a 6 block walk to the water, a 30 minute walk to other side of downtown. Cabs were readily available, but we enjoyed leaning our way around on foot. Our 3 favorite things about this hotel: 1. location - all the food carts and breakfast spots nearby/easy accessibility, 2. price/value - clean and friendly, and 3. our balcony - where we perched when we were "home"/which added a lot to the space and made our small room feel special. I should mention too, this hotel has a great view from the rooftop terrace which we felt we had to show to all our friends.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony - the extra cost is minimal and well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colbybf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alberta canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I stayed here in Feb. 2013. Prior to that I stayed at the Azteca which is another budget hotel in P.V. I used these hotels as jumpng off points berore going by bus to other parts of Mexico. The Villa is a nice clean, friendly place . It can be a bit noisy as people come and go, largely because of the way the rooms surround the central open area. It is a little more expensive than the Azteca and maybe a bit newer. There is a place to tan on the roof also. I would recommend it to any budget minded traveller.

Room Tip: Rooms off the street are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riverrat24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Very basic "just to sleep" hotel - no amenities.
Even the wifi is really slow, room was a little bit dirty and the bathroom looked like nobody cleaned it for a while.
And there is a window going on the direction - inside the hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Vallarta hotels

Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

This area is not for families. I just arrived back from PV and stayed in this quaint little hotel. Once you go in it looks fairly nice - very nice workers also. Room was OK, not the best but hey, it's a budget hotel. The worst thing about it was I had to actually buy earplugs due to the traffic (CONSTANTLY- at all hours of the night) driving by (this is located on a main truck/bus route).

So either suggest a non-road facing room (since the construction isn't the best for soundproofing) and suggest earplugs just incase.

Room Tip: Request away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ddbertel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

I took a chance through Hotwire and what an unpleasant surprise we got. Hotwire classifies this hotel as comparable to Hamptons inn, Ramada Hotels, Comfort Suites, La Quinta Inns and 2.5 star rating. I can tell you that it is nothing more than a lie on behalf of the hotel and on Hotwire.

We got there and the place is trashy, the rooms are ugly and dirty. The beds are awful, you can feel all the coil springs. The bathroom wall does not go all the way up and it opened on the upper part. So you will need to leave the room to give someone privacy to use it. The bathroom was all dirty and the tiles broken.

I would not recommend anyone this hotel, its pricey for the poor hotel quality and it has a wrong rating, its not worth more than 1 star.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rigoberto45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cultus Lake, BC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

I have been travelling to Puerto Vallarta since 1993 and have stayed at this hotel every time. The staff are so friendly and helpful. I feel so "at home" here. The mirador (roof top) boasts a great view of the city and lovely sunsets. Since the hotel is located near the local farmers market, one gets a great feel for the Mexican people, and their way of life.

Room Tip: rooms with a balcony are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#58 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda de Vallarta Centro
Hotel Hacienda de Vallarta Centr...
#77 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
81 reviews
0.3 mi away
Encino Hotel
Encino Hotel
#85 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Casa Iguana Hotel
Casa Iguana Hotel
#86 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
#49 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
369 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#62 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Del Mar

Property: Hotel Villa Del Mar
Address: Calle Francisco i. Madero # 440, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Villa Del Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Mar
Villa Del Mar Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing