We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great place to spend the winter”
Review of Azteca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Azteca Hotel
Ranked #100 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
puerto vallarta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a great place to spend the winter”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I have been coming to the Azteca Hotel for about 15 years and love the location, the people who work here and meet lots of nice interesting people in the lobby. It is a basic hotel, very clean and many good places to eat in the neighborhood. If you are on a budget this is the place. I consider it my second home as I live here six months a year. It has lots of hot water and wi-fi along with cable tv.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    12
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
3
14
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We have stayed at the Azteca Hotel in Old Town many times over the years and have found it to be a clean and convenient place to stay. The price has increased this year to 400 pesos (less than $30) for two, but is still a good bargain.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aquamaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We thoroughly checked out budget hotels in the Zona Romantica and nearby. Many other reviews were dated or inaccurate so it was worth it. The Azteca at 350 pesos ($27) for a couple is certainly one of the top choices. Rooms are basic but clean, there's a great mirador to hang out on or do yoga, wireless internet in the rooms, nice common area/verandas and helpful staff who genuinely appreciate your business. The neighborhood is fantastic if you want to try local food, with the South Side's best taco stands, comida corrida (fixed price meal) places and killer grilled chicken places all within a few blocks.

Also recommended is the even cheaper Ana Liz (300 pesos) just down the street. Place to avoid include the Hotel Villa del Mar unless don't mind being able to hear every conversation and sound in every room and also the Hotel Rio on Morelos (major traffic noise, musty/moldy smell in many rooms and an unusable ice cold swimming pool).

This is a great neighborhood and we would definitely stay at this hotel again. The few rooms with kitchen were booked but would clearly be a great choice for a longer-term stay.

Room Tip: Back side away from the street for quiet, rooms on the street side if you want local color and don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ekknox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

I stayed at hotel aztecas on recommendation of the lonely planet. I was out one night late and in the morning I noticed my watch and some jewelry missing. I know it was the night guard, when I approached him about it he said to me "how do you know it was me and not the guys working either side of my shift". I know it was him. That watch was given to me by someone very dear to me and can never be replaced.

Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
8 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Vallarta hotels

charlottetown PEI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

We loved this place and found it to be very clean and comfortable. The staff was exceptional, very friendly and helpful. The price was very reasonable and we were close to everything,even the beach.The bus or taxi was right at the door.The local people were very nice and we enjoyed mixing in with them in this area.

Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank cathyl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2009

My husband and I stayed in a room on the 2nd floor. There are no elevators, the rooms center around a lovely little courtyard with tall plants. The shower water pressure was great, the room was well-used, but very clean. It's no-frills, providing towels and soap, and there's cable tv with a majority of English-language programs.

The good thing is it's very quiet and lights in the hallways are turned off in the evening.

There's a ceiling fan and window that opens to the courtyard, so there is a little bit of light. You can go up to the roof for a view.

Overall, I recommend it for the low price (about 350 pesos per night for double), quiet, and cleanliness.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KaraWitham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2007

Great staff, acceptable location, firm beds. wonderful water pressure in the shower. Rooms kept clean, very low price. One might want to bring a pillow & a towel. Their pillows & some of their towels have seen better days (there's a laundry next door & right across the street). But overall a very good deal. I stayed there 6 days.

  • Liked — The price was by far the best on Madero street.
  • Disliked — The very lumpy pillows.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SenorElote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Del Mar
Hotel Villa Del Mar
#85 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda de Vallarta Centro
Hotel Hacienda de Vallarta Centr...
#77 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hortencia
Hotel Hortencia
#75 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#58 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
169 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mocali
Hotel Mocali
#70 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
52 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Vallarta Suites
Hostal Vallarta Suites
#66 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azteca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azteca Hotel

Property: Azteca Hotel
Address: Calle Francisco i. Madero 473, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Azteca Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Azteca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azteca Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing