We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good on a Budget”
Review of Azteca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Azteca Hotel
Ranked #100 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Penticton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good on a Budget”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

The Hotel Azteca is one of dozens of budget hotels in Puerto Vallarta. It is a short walking distance from most place in central Puerto Vallarta. The hotel is basic; bed, toilet and shower. The free wifi works very well in the rooms but sporadically on the roof. This is a no frills kind of place for those on a budget. The staff is friendly and the desk manager speaks excellent English. He was very accommodating when our fan did not work. The rooms are cleaned daily and there is no smoking except on the room. Good view of the hills from up there. Deals can be made for longer stays. The pillows are lumpy as they are filled with tufts of wool.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool. Room 33: the fan doesn't work properly and the whole mechanism wigg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judithtbernard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    12
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
3
14
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
648 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Very cheap and worth for money hotel Azteca is located in spacious three-storey building with a courtyard, terrace, decorated with palm trees and plants. Location is far from the beach, so it can be inconvenient for tourists whose main purpose is beach vacation. However the area is quite vibrant and colorful, near the historic city center. Nearby you can find all kinds of restaurants and shops. The hotel did not provide breakfast although tea or coffee were available in the morning at the lobby. My room was small, but quite adequate for the price, with a shower, toilet and TV. The reception staff were friendly. I was satisfied with my brief stay at the hotel and would recommend it for budget travelers.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Azad690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peresvet
Level 6 Contributor
791 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Azteca is a budget hotel situated in Zona Romantica. Location is rather far from the beach, but it was not a problem for me, still in walking distance. City`s downtown, many cafes and restaurants were also easy accessible. I hadn`t booked this hotel in advance, found them and checked in there having already arrived to Puerto Vallarta. As a cheap hotel it provided quite appropriate facilities and comfort. I stayed in a twin room with ensuite bathroom with hot shower. There was TV in a room and sunny terrace on a roof. They didn`t serve breakfast but guests could take some coffee in hotel`s lobby in the morning. Manager and reception staff were very friendly and welcoming to me and to my friend. Considering their inexpensive rates I regard this hotel as a fortunate choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Aleksandr550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

I stayed at the Azteca in Feb 2012. I was travelling alone and looking for the budget hotel.It's a 10 minute walk to the beach ( Los Muertos) in Old Town and located on a quiet street. It was clean,hard beds and the pillows are flat, the bathrooms basic with showers but what more do you need....this is a budget hotel. My room was towards the back of the courtyard so very quiet at nite from the street traffic. The only noise I encountered was from other people on holiday coming home later than me.There is not alot of quiet if this happens as there is not much of a sound buffer between your room window that is into the courtyard, but the hotel staff are so diplomatic in trying to instill respect for your fellow travellers into everyone who stays there and it does not happen often.For a small hotel the staff are friendly and professional and I cannot believe that someone suggested on their review here that they had stuff stolen from their room by a hotel staff member. Small hotels in PV are very family oriented and their success relys on satisfied customers and I cannot imagine them employing someone who would steal from a visitor. I wish the person who suggested this had elaborated on how they reported this to the desk and how the hotel dealt with the incident or the employee. My material stuff that I brought with me to the Azteca was always intact as I came & went from my room.Salute !

Room Tip: Ask for a room toward the back of the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cheena_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
puerto vallarta
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I have been coming to the Azteca Hotel for about 15 years and love the location, the people who work here and meet lots of nice interesting people in the lobby. It is a basic hotel, very clean and many good places to eat in the neighborhood. If you are on a budget this is the place. I consider it my second home as I live here six months a year. It has lots of hot water and wi-fi along with cable tv.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We have stayed at the Azteca Hotel in Old Town many times over the years and have found it to be a clean and convenient place to stay. The price has increased this year to 400 pesos (less than $30) for two, but is still a good bargain.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aquamaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajijic, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We thoroughly checked out budget hotels in the Zona Romantica and nearby. Many other reviews were dated or inaccurate so it was worth it. The Azteca at 350 pesos ($27) for a couple is certainly one of the top choices. Rooms are basic but clean, there's a great mirador to hang out on or do yoga, wireless internet in the rooms, nice common area/verandas and helpful staff who genuinely appreciate your business. The neighborhood is fantastic if you want to try local food, with the South Side's best taco stands, comida corrida (fixed price meal) places and killer grilled chicken places all within a few blocks.

Also recommended is the even cheaper Ana Liz (300 pesos) just down the street. Place to avoid include the Hotel Villa del Mar unless don't mind being able to hear every conversation and sound in every room and also the Hotel Rio on Morelos (major traffic noise, musty/moldy smell in many rooms and an unusable ice cold swimming pool).

This is a great neighborhood and we would definitely stay at this hotel again. The few rooms with kitchen were booked but would clearly be a great choice for a longer-term stay.

Room Tip: Back side away from the street for quiet, rooms on the street side if you want local color and don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ekknox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda de Vallarta Centro
Hotel Hacienda de Vallarta Centr...
#82 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Del Mar
Hotel Villa Del Mar
#80 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hortencia
Hotel Hortencia
#75 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#59 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
170 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mocali
Hotel Mocali
#74 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
53 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Vallarta Suites
Hostal Vallarta Suites
#67 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azteca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azteca Hotel

Property: Azteca Hotel
Address: Calle Francisco i. Madero 473, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Azteca Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Azteca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azteca Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing