We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Hotel Belmar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Belmar
Ranked #61 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2009

We are budget travelors. We don't need much. Good price. Clean. Safe. This met all of our expectations and more. Great location. It was a pleasure staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJ999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2009

I made reservations at the Hotel Belmar because I had stayed there before and it was ok. Many hotels in PV have huge discounted rates since the "Flu scare". I called for the rates and was told that every third night was free (33 1/3 discount for three days) and was quoted a 350 pesos rate w/o AC (that is another 60 pesos). I checked in and paid for 2 nights plus 180 pesos more for AC. OK. The AC went out during the first night. The front desk people were very noisy. - laughing, joking, etc., Repairs going on began at 8 am, hammering etc. and so on. Total disregard for the customers in the hotel. On the third day I went to pay for another 3 day stay. They would not give me the third night free so I told them that was not what I was told when I called for reservations. I said would check out and go to another hotel that offered 50% discounts, that were better and cheaper. They gave me the third night. This used to be a good place to stay.

Do your homework; there are better cheaper places in PV.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PatzMorelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2009

Stayed here for 10 days in February. Great location, walk to everything in Old Town - restaurants, bars, taco stands, the beach. Rooms are very clean. Hotel is artsy and hip in a non-pretentious way. Staff was helpful and courteous. What a steal in Puerto Vallarta! Loved it! See photos and a more thorough review at http://blog.cultofthecougar.com/2009/02/12/puerto-vallarta.aspx

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank queencoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2009

This room turned out to be great. We came in late at night, with a baby, and don't speak much spanish. So, keep in mind: no elevator, no english, and not in any sort of "touristy" neighborhood. They were very kind and we got exactly what we were looking for: not an american chain hotel. It is on the corner of 2 busy bus lines. Mexican busses are big gear-jamming trucks. This didn't bother us, but might if you have sleep issues. I would only recommend this hotel to our traveller friends, not our tourist friends...

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MargiOntheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2009

I stayed at Hotel Belmar in January for a week. I have to tell you the staff is wonderful. Especially Cynthia who is the night Front Desk receptionist. Everyday she had a great big smile on her face and always went out of her way to make sure all of the guests were taken care of. I also want to thank Maria Jose (the owner). I had a small mixup with my reservation and Maria took care of it promptly. I look forward to seeing you all again on my next trip to Vallarta.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeEncantaVallarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2009

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in February 2009. We made a reservation via internet, and requested a double bed and balcony facing the street. This turned out to be very noisy, having the balcony facing the street.

We had booked the mid-range-priced room which was about 650 pesos. The room was brightly painted in hot pink and yellow and green, very cheery and clean. But the noise coming from the street into the night was so loud, that we decided to move to a different hotel that was quieter. If the room was less money, we might have stayed, but 650 pesos was too much for such a noisy room.

So we moved to the Hotel Azteca which was clean, simple, not as colorful and no balcony, but much, much quieter, and only 350 pesos.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaraWitham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2009

Yes the rooms are small. But we had a wonderfull time. We didn't go to Puerta Vallerta to stay in our room. We recieved more from this hotel than we got last time from a 3 star hotel. This hotel is right up there on our list for places to stay

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank domitalatoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Del Mar
Hotel Villa Del Mar
#98 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
#57 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Encino Hotel
Encino Hotel
#94 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostal Vallarta Suites
Hostal Vallarta Suites
#66 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda de Vallarta Centro
Hotel Hacienda de Vallarta Centr...
#85 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#38 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belmar

Address: Av. Insurgentes #161 Esq. Aquiles Serdan, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#36 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £18 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Belmar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique small budget hotel located downtown Puerto Vallarta with a great collection of art. Close to the beach, main plaza, the Malecon, the church, Olas altas. Within walking distance to restaurantes, galleries, boutiques, bars, discos, where all the action takes place, Hotel Belmar Friendly staff, attended personally by the owner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Belmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmar Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing