We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Town Gem...Vallarta”
Review of Hotel Yazmin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Yazmin
Ranked #64 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan Cosala, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Old Town Gem...Vallarta”
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Stayed at the wonderful Hotel Yazmin, Puerto Vallarta recently in one of the newly renovated upstairs rooms overlooking the street. I was a little hesitant at first, but since I hadn't made a reservation and it was Friday -- I went for it. What a truly terrific little gem.

The rooms are immaculate, darling little bathrooms with a really hot and strong shower (which I love). It wasn't really nosy being right upstairs from a busy street -- I heard some sounds from the Saturday street market, but was ready to go out and partake anyways.

The location is one block from the beach, around the corner from Los Arcos and a few blocks from Andale's (a great spot to meet people, dance and drink the night away until 3 am).

I will return again and again as I live on Lake Chapala, only 5 hours away, and visit Vallarta at least a half dozen times a year.

Coffee in the morning, a little pool, lovely gardens and helpful personnel -- what more could you want -- and, yes, security.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cruisedirectormex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    42
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
45
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

This place was awesome. A friend and i stayed here for a week. The rooms were clean, the linens were clean. It was not noisey at all, and its really close to some of the best food in PV.
It is a block from the beach and the Malacone!

We usually stay here for a night when we stop over on our way north or south. Its a cheap place, and a steal of a deal.

Ive been here twice more with my wife since my original visit, and you always know what to expect.

I would suggest this to any traveller.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We spend a couple of days each year on our way to our mainstay in Jalisco. It is quaint and simple. Downstairs at the restaurant, the food is great! And the staff is always amicable.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are facing the patio. Try to be up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fremma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penticton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We loved the location and atmosphere of the Hotel Yazmin. It is decorated in an old Mexican style and the staff dress the part. The rooms were very clean and comfy, the beds and pillows were good, and there was plenty of hot water. Nary a bug in site. This is an old hotel that has been updated, and there is a restaurant next door with excellent food. We would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't bring a car unless you absolutely have to - there is no parking, and the parking on the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank linrich51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA, PV
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

We LOVE LOVE LOVE Hotel Yasmin and as of October 2011 they have a small pool AND wi-fi!! Also, as of July 2011, it is very colorfully painted (no longer all white) This family owned hotel is one block from the beach. Very economical, affordable, comfortable, and peaceful. I've been going to PV for over 35+ yrs, and my stays at the Jasmin have always been very pleasant. The staff are very courteous and at least one understands English. Pls remember NO credit cards taken here. The rooms aren't the Ritz, but cute and comfortable. AND never in my 35+ years have I ever seen a bedbug. Cucarachas outside, yes, but they are tropical bugs, not ones from being filthy. Being from Hawai'i, we have the flying ones too! With that being said, I know for a fact that the Yasmin fumigates when necessary. The popular Café de Olla (closed on Tuesdays) is right next door. What we also appreciate is there is security on premises and front gates are locked at 11pm. Excellent for single women! The one thing they do NOT have is telephones, but, hey, you are on vacation. There is a Ladatel/Telmex pay phone across the street on the corner. Overall, you can't go wrong here, especially for the budget conscious. I sincerely hope you enjoy like we have all these years!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alohaspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Unlike the reviewer below who thinks if you stay here your crazy we rather like the Hotel Yazmin. We have stayed here 5 times now over the last couple of years and have recommended the hotel to personal friends who also liked thier stay. 5 times 5 different rooms and haven't seen a bug like the last reviewer said.
The Yazmin is in the heart of Old Town Puerto Vallarta and is a one block stroll to Puerto Vallarta's famous malecon and one block to the beach.Some of Puerto Vallarta's best restaurants are on the same block as this hotel and there are 100's of eateries and bars within 3 or 4 blocks. The hotel is not new by any means,but it is clean and well kept and the staff are courteous and some speak great English and know the area well.
We will say that if your the type of person you go's to Puerto Vallarta to be tucked into bed at 8pm then ask for a room in the back of the hotel or stay at a $200 a night sterile Americanized resort as Basilio Badillo ave can be quite the happening place at night.If your the type to go to Puerto Vallarta to enjoy yourself and the night life then this is a economical ,close to everything place to stay.
Our only complaint is there is no Internet which we were assured by the staff they are working on getting,however there are plenty of restaurants on the same block that have free wi-fi.

Room Tip: Street Parking only,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Magnum440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

OMG, are you people crazy? Sure this hotel is a block from the beach, but it's also next to an extremely popular restaurant and so, is really loud until about midnight. I had ear plugs and boy was I happy I brought them. But the caper is that I left this hotel itching like crazy, with bites all over my arms and legs.

In addition, you need to pay extra for the AC, which you pretty much will need bc the rooms get stuffy. I would advise people to steer clear of this place, even if it as a "great deal."

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank karina79_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Eloisa Hotel
Eloisa Hotel
#106 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada de Roger
Hotel Posada de Roger
#18 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
871 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
#25 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#59 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#62 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
319 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#22 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Yazmin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Yazmin

Property: Hotel Yazmin
Address: Calle Basilio Badillo 168, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#33 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Yazmin 2*
Number of rooms: 292
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Yazmin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yazmin Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing