We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upgrade!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eloisa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Eloisa Hotel
Ranked #107 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Edmonton, Alberta CANADA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Upgrade!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

My husband and I upgraded to one of the larger suites. It was very cute, but spacious there was a bedroom with quite a bit of shelves. The living room with two built in couches. The bathroom with a corner stall shower. Everything clean, but there were a few things that just seemed to bother me. In the kitchen area of the suite the roman blinds were a very bad choice for the patio doors because they were so stained and dirty. Especially where the garbage can is, the small tv oh and the rock border on the floor was not very comfortable for your feet. There are two pools one on the roof and another on the main floor. In the morning they offer a small breakfast up on the roof top terrace with fruit, pastries, coffee, juice. It's definitely in a great safe area with many places to check out the book store, massage place, hair salon, clothing shop and a few very friendly gringo bars just steps away. Cheers!

Room Tip: There is no fitness centre or room service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nursey_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    68
    50
    21
    22
See reviews for
30
60
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Well, stayed here for a week. We had a suite. The hotel is a good location, only good thing about it. The bedrooms have good air conditioning, and the sheets are clean. However, the headboard was made of concrete!! What!! I had to use the extra pillows to make a makeshift one. The wardrobe had a hole in the top, the whole sound of the bathroom could be heard.

The living room was awful, the television was tiny and was in spanish. The curtains had two massive big yellow stains on it, The balcony was dirty and the views were of bloody building sites!!!

The kitchen was fine, the fridge was clean. The bathroom was tiny, the toilet had poo stains in it. Nice. The sink was 2 miles away from me, either that or i have incredibly short arms.

The breakfast, was non existent for me. I only eat bread and tea. They had only coffee and orange juice. They had fruit, pastries and yogurt. The staff were were not provided with gloves to cut the fruit. The hotel management should look into providing better utilities for the breakfast staff, as they looked very hot and sweaty. The rooftop breakfast had a nice view of the mountains.

The wifi only worked in the lobby of the hotel. The location was good and thats it.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ViennaGalaxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Vallarta hotels

Vancouver,BC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

I am used to staying in all-inclusive resorts in PV. This was a welcome change to stay at this small property in Old Town. The location is excellent, the rooms are modest and clean. Best room rates are through their website. or call them direct and negotiate a rate.

Friendly staff, nice little open terrace continental breakfast on roof top, included in room rate.

i would suggest upgrade to an air conditioned room, if you have trouble with PV's humidity, the ceiling fan in the basic room rate may not be enough for a restful sleep.
I would go back to this hotel in a heartbeat. Please keep in mind the location is in a busy traffic area. Location is steps to the beaches of Old Town and Zona Romantica.

P;ease check out Miss Ally's Boutique for women at he hotel entrance, beautiful handmade cotton beachware, at reasonable rates.

Room Tip: higher floor, fifth is best, park side has nice ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bubbletea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver BC Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

This was our 3rd stay with them. Love the front desk staff, they are friendly and always accomodating when you request something or ask questions. Clean and basic but the location is excellent! We stay 2 weeks each time and will be back in November.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthVancouvergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

We have stayed in this hotel before and found it nice for the price However this is not so any longer. The hot water is warm at best and if you are up after 10am the is none. The elevator was down and because the pool is located on the roof the stairs were a broken leg waiting to happen. It seems like nothing has been cleaned or kept up for some time the lobby furniture is disgustingly dirty. But worst of all don't leave anything behind because at least one housekeeper there is a thief my daughter had made her own dress in school and had tried it on and showed me in the room, she forgot it on the bed when we decided to check out as ten days without a hot shower and a screaming child next door was a bit much.We returned two days later and no dress.

Room Tip: If you stay here lock up your stuff
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank piccolopup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

I guess it depends what you're looking for. Those who say "great location" are clearly looking for something right in the middle of all the action. And if you're one of those, then this might be the place for you. It's steps away from the beach, and tons of restaurants and shops, and right next to the plaza. There's a great view from the roof of the ocean where a simple complimentary breakfast of fruit and cereal is served. The staff is pleasant and helpful.

But because of its location, it's rather noisy. I'm not talking about the zumba class that's at 8 every morning. I found that if I turned on the fan and used my earplugs (which I always do when I travel), I couldn't hear it. But it really is right in the middle of things and, at least the week I was there, there were musical events in the plaza several nights, one which lasted until midnight. On the other hand, you have a ringside seat for such things.

However, the real problem for me was the condition of the hotel itself. The quality of the rooms seems to vary wildly. I had booked a suite, and asked for an exterior one, as so many on Trip Advisor recommend. The only exterior suite available had shades which were badly stained and didn't work properly. All the wood in the room was marred by cigarette burns, cracked, and chipped. The tiles on the floor were either dirty or badly worn because they were all stained, cracked, and scratched. The table in the kitchen area was also stained, scratched, and filled with cigarette burns. Ditto for the leather chairs. The mirrors had numerous black patches on them. The tiles in the kitchen were chipped. The refrigerator was dirty and ancient, and the "stove" was a one-burner gas hotplate. There was a once attractive large pottery vase that was now chipped, and a T.V. that didn't work. The fabric on the sofas and bedspread was stained and faded. And the final touch was the walls: I concluded that this was a deliberate painting effect, but the effect it had on me was to make all the walls look very dirty. Not pleasant. This was the exterior suite on the second floor.

I asked if I could change rooms. I wasn't able to that night, but I was given a different suite on the fourth floor for the rest of my stay. This was much better. They're clearly in some sort of refurbishing process, and this room had been done over. The walls still had the same unappealing dirty looking paint job, but the shades were (relatively) unstained and they worked; there was a new T.V. that worked; the mirrors only had a couple of black stains and one crack. The fabric on the sofa was cleaner and the bedspread was new and brightly colored. The kitchen area had been redone: the tiles weren't chipped, the refrigerator was new, and the stove was now a two-burner electric hotplate. The floor tiles were clean and unstained. Also the decorative pottery was not chipped. But even in this room, the table was burned and stained, one lamp had no shade, and one day I left a note for the maid to please change the sheet because IT had a cigarette burn in it.

Would I stay there again? I might because it's right next to where my friends live in PV, but I'd probably have to really think hard about it.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the ones that have been redone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bdinmadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, UT
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

We stayed here at the beginning of our trip and at the end. Lilly at the front desk is a gem! Her English thankful was wonderful, she upgraded our room, worked with Expedia to fix the old reservation and took exceptional care of us! I highly recommend and outside room or suite. The entire staff was wonderful. I wish they had wi-fi throughout, just in the lobby right now.
Breakfast on the roof is simple, but the view is so wonderful! The pool up there is generally quiet and the 360 views are awesome. We watched the sunset one night from there, it was wonderful.
Exceptional location, great price.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.0 mi away
Plazamar
Plazamar
#71 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.3 mi away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#57 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada de Roger
Hotel Posada de Roger
#18 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Yazmin
Hotel Yazmin
#61 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suites Plaza Del Rio
Suites Plaza Del Rio
#99 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#56 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eloisa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eloisa Hotel

Property: Eloisa Hotel
Address: Lazaro Cardenas No. 179, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eloisa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Eloisa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eloisa Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Eloisa Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing