We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value and Location”
Review of Encino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Encino Hotel
Ranked #81 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
344 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Value and Location”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This hotel is very well situated in the heart of downtown Puerto Vallarta, 2 blocks from the Malecon (beach boardwalk) and walking distance to many shops, restaurants and the swimmable beaches. When you head directly towards the water from the hotel, you’ll need to go left at the Malecon to reach the beach since you can’t swim right there (too many rocks and undertow). There is also another excellent beach to the right of the Malecon but that one’s a longer walk, about half a mile.
The hotel itself looks very nice from the outside as it’s build in typical Mexican architecture and colors. There’s a nice courtyard in the middle with a lovely rock wall fountain but unfortunately, it’s been broken for a while so no water flows from it. The staff at the hotel is very nice and helpful and the maids do a very good job of cleaning your room (they actually wash the floor every day). The rooms are not all the same, the corner ones are nice and big with a king bed while most others are smaller with 2 single beds. As mentioned by others, the beds are fairly hard, so if this is a problem for you, be warned. The AC worked well although it was hard to set the temperature. A few nights, we had to put the extra blanket on as it was cold! The hotel is next to a busy street so lots of traffic and can be noisy, bring earplugs!
If you’re looking for luxury, this place is not for you. This is clearly a budget hotel with excellent rates and it’s quite old. There’s a nice pool on the roof with some loungers but not a lot of shade. We enjoyed our 2 weeks there and would go back as we felt the location and price outweighed the age of the hotel and its contents. Note they also have a sister hotel next door with 1 and 2 bedroom suites for a longer stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2travel_RS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    116
    76
    25
    34
See reviews for
61
101
55
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2013

The best rooms are facing the Rio Cuale. Watching the egrets in the mornings and listening to the frogs in the evening are an ever changing scene. The rooms are clean and spartan. The staff is very accommodating. This was my second stay at the Encino.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbarab17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2013

My friends and I booked site unseen and were very pleased with The Encino. Great value for our dollar, perfect location, clean with good security.Being right by the Rio Cuale was a wonderul surprise. The staff IS GREAT, hotel is in the center of everything. Next year a whole group of us are coming back . We wouldnt stay anywhere else in Puerto Vallarta. ¡Hasta año próxima!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

I,ve been staying at the hotel Encino for a month in the winter for the last 4 years. My room is cheerful with a view of the Rio Cuale. The rooms are clean , my bed is comfortable, and the personnel are friendly. The location is convenient to the Malecon and a 10 minute walk to also Muertos Beach. There is a swimming pool on the roof but since I,m not a swimmer, I don,t use it.
I do like the elevator.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellinglady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

It was a first trip to PV and this hotel was recommended to us. It is convenient to sea, the shopping and is right in between old and new PV, a hop, skip and jump to the malecon. Even so we found it quiet for sleep and very clean. It has a lovely indoor courtyard. We chose a second floor room with a double bed and a balcony, a corner room on the river side. We had a breeze whenever we wanted to keep doors and windows open. There is AC but we didn't need it. Some other guests recommended the suites for more room and I think they were only one more flight up. The rooftop pool was pleasant surprise and from there you also have a wonderful view of sunset and a nice private place to share a glass of wine at sunset.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeannecorkill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

They have a pool on the roof, clean rooms, lovely interior charm- at a super cost. If you want to experience Puerto Vallarta like a local- stay here. Ask for a corner room high up so you can see the water. Right next door is a huge mexician market which is fun to wander through.

I'd go back in a second. But I'm not the type to hit the american resorts anyways.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carbonbeing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#57 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
4.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Puerto Vallarta
Comfort Inn Puerto Vallarta
#59 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Del Mar
Hotel Villa Del Mar
#97 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
#47 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#32 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
8.1 mi away
Suites Plaza Del Rio
Suites Plaza Del Rio
#98 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encino Hotel

Property: Encino Hotel
Address: Calle Juarez Centro 122, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Encino Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Encino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encino Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing