We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful deal - right in town!”
Review of Encino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Encino Hotel
Ranked #79 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Anchorage
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a wonderful deal - right in town!”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I usually stay away from downtown but gave Hotel Encino a try...I was there for 17 days and have a wonderful time. The first few days I was pretty much by myself but as Christmas got Nye, the Hotel became full. My room was on the 2nd floor, facing the River Cuale. It was nice, clean quiet and very safe. Free beach towels for hanging out at the pool or just catching some sun. Daily maid service, fresh coffee in the lobby every morning...a great restaurant/bar, next to the pool on the top floor...the food is very good, the drinks are not expensive like most of the beach/downtown bars and you can just run a tab all day long. They even bring your food and drinks right to you at the pool. And what a great view - a super place to watch the sun set. You will really enjoy your stay, not spend a ton of money and look forward to your next visit. Take it from someone who has travelled a bunch - from the Ritz in Paris (France) to Pac Na Hostel on Isla Mujeres and the Four Seasons on Maui...the Hotel Encino is a great value. xOx Uncle John aka Tio Juan-ito

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank johncox_pv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    116
    76
    25
    34
See reviews for
61
101
55
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We just spent a week at this hotel, and just left yesterday. We were quit impressed with the traditional Mexican feeling from top to bottom. The front desk staff were most helpful despite limited English and Fernando was great! Thank you for all your help!
Our room was well cleaned, the A/C was awesome, and the corner room gave us a wonderful view of the streets.
The rooftop restaurant had super service and the food was well prepared and delicious. The pool area across from the restaurant was small, but refreshing and peaceful to sunbathe on a hot sunny day.
The hotel is within walking distance to EVERYTHING and EVRYWHERE! We loved it. My husband and I will definitely stay again. Not a 5 star, but worth the stay. :)

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller133101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

A budget hotel in a very good location. Rooms are clean but old. Small restaurant on roof. No WiFi except in Hotel lobby. Will go again because of the location. Old town, 1 block from beach and Malecon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hollanda2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elpaso
Level Contributor
217 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Stayed for 4 nights while deep see fishing in Puerto Vallarta. Not fancy, but clean and had hot water and decent A/C. Staff was good and mostly bi-lingual. small but friendly bar. Pool was very small but good for the kids. Stay on 3rd floor it less noisy. Not 5 star but hey for 55 a night in a resort town it was fine. Everything was within walking distance, beach, stores, restaraunts, night life.

Room Tip: 3rd floor quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ty b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Encino Hotel is really budget friendly. If you want to get a good night rest this is NOT the place to stay it is loud and rowdy at night. The pros of staying here is its close to the mercado, within walking distance to the malecon, and church. I would not stay here again because I didn't like how loud it gets at night when I want to rest!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luvme2mch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

This hotel is actually a hotel and suites. I have stayed in the suites and find them very comfortable and have a great kitchen to make your own meals if you don't plan to eat out often.
very central location and very affordable.

Room Tip: ask for room facing the river cuale
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
344 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This hotel is very well situated in the heart of downtown Puerto Vallarta, 2 blocks from the Malecon (beach boardwalk) and walking distance to many shops, restaurants and the swimmable beaches. When you head directly towards the water from the hotel, you’ll need to go left at the Malecon to reach the beach since you can’t swim right there (too many rocks and undertow). There is also another excellent beach to the right of the Malecon but that one’s a longer walk, about half a mile.
The hotel itself looks very nice from the outside as it’s build in typical Mexican architecture and colors. There’s a nice courtyard in the middle with a lovely rock wall fountain but unfortunately, it’s been broken for a while so no water flows from it. The staff at the hotel is very nice and helpful and the maids do a very good job of cleaning your room (they actually wash the floor every day). The rooms are not all the same, the corner ones are nice and big with a king bed while most others are smaller with 2 single beds. As mentioned by others, the beds are fairly hard, so if this is a problem for you, be warned. The AC worked well although it was hard to set the temperature. A few nights, we had to put the extra blanket on as it was cold! The hotel is next to a busy street so lots of traffic and can be noisy, bring earplugs!
If you’re looking for luxury, this place is not for you. This is clearly a budget hotel with excellent rates and it’s quite old. There’s a nice pool on the roof with some loungers but not a lot of shade. We enjoyed our 2 weeks there and would go back as we felt the location and price outweighed the age of the hotel and its contents. Note they also have a sister hotel next door with 1 and 2 bedroom suites for a longer stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2travel_RS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#57 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
4.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Puerto Vallarta
Comfort Inn Puerto Vallarta
#59 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Del Mar
Hotel Villa Del Mar
#97 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
#48 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#32 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
8.1 mi away
Suites Plaza Del Rio
Suites Plaza Del Rio
#98 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encino Hotel

Property: Encino Hotel
Address: Calle Juarez Centro 122, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Encino Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Encino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encino Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing