We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what you need.”
Review of Encino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Encino Hotel
Ranked #85 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Tijuana, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just what you need.”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My intention of going to PV was exotourism, so we left every morning at 7 am and returned at 7pm.
The hotel is clean, it has all the basics.
Its cheap, $110 dlls for 3 nights!
Nice pool on roof top, with great view to ocean and river.
GREAT service at cafeteria and good prices.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
6 Thank Ivan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    118
    76
    27
    34
See reviews for
64
101
55
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I stayed here with my family for 2 nights and we had an enjoyable time. I would give this review a 3+ if I could. We stayed on the 3rd floor and had a nice balcony overlooking the Rio Cuale. The pool on the roof also has a great view, but was very cold! This is ok, but I just needed to heat-up in the sun for a while first - then the pool was refreshing!! Our bedroom was small and older, but we were fine with that. However, the headboard had some "sawdust" on it and upon further scrutiny, it looks like they might have some termites (albeit, I never saw any bugs at all). The lobby is simple and nice. All in all, I would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RumYak14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

I had a very enjoyable 12 day stay this February.
All the staff were friendly and helpful.
Be sure to try a meal at Moment's Cafe on the 4th level by the pool.
Great sunset views,reasonably priced food and incredible iced lattes
I will come back next year
Mike O. Phila,Pa.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitoba
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

we stayed in 2 different rooms here. the first that was on the third floor was awesome, except for the noise at night. I think it was room 320 or 302 and it had an amazing view. The second room was nice too but not near as loud because it was facing one of the side streets. overall this place is very good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Manitobachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I usually stay away from downtown but gave Hotel Encino a try...I was there for 17 days and have a wonderful time. The first few days I was pretty much by myself but as Christmas got Nye, the Hotel became full. My room was on the 2nd floor, facing the River Cuale. It was nice, clean quiet and very safe. Free beach towels for hanging out at the pool or just catching some sun. Daily maid service, fresh coffee in the lobby every morning...a great restaurant/bar, next to the pool on the top floor...the food is very good, the drinks are not expensive like most of the beach/downtown bars and you can just run a tab all day long. They even bring your food and drinks right to you at the pool. And what a great view - a super place to watch the sun set. You will really enjoy your stay, not spend a ton of money and look forward to your next visit. Take it from someone who has travelled a bunch - from the Ritz in Paris (France) to Pac Na Hostel on Isla Mujeres and the Four Seasons on Maui...the Hotel Encino is a great value. xOx Uncle John aka Tio Juan-ito

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank johncox_pv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We just spent a week at this hotel, and just left yesterday. We were quit impressed with the traditional Mexican feeling from top to bottom. The front desk staff were most helpful despite limited English and Fernando was great! Thank you for all your help!
Our room was well cleaned, the A/C was awesome, and the corner room gave us a wonderful view of the streets.
The rooftop restaurant had super service and the food was well prepared and delicious. The pool area across from the restaurant was small, but refreshing and peaceful to sunbathe on a hot sunny day.
The hotel is within walking distance to EVERYTHING and EVRYWHERE! We loved it. My husband and I will definitely stay again. Not a 5 star, but worth the stay. :)

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller133101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mazatlan, Sinaloa
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

A budget hotel in a very good location. Rooms are clean but old. Small restaurant on roof. No WiFi except in Hotel lobby. Will go again because of the location. Old town, 1 block from beach and Malecon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hollanda2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
4.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Puerto Vallarta
Comfort Inn Puerto Vallarta
#62 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Del Mar
Hotel Villa Del Mar
#83 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
#51 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#59 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
169 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tropicana Hotel
Tropicana Hotel
#57 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
695 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#32 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encino Hotel

Property: Encino Hotel
Address: Calle Juarez Centro 122, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Encino Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Encino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encino Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing