We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for Beach Lovers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Ranked #59 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Not for Beach Lovers”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I hate to give a bad rating for the hotel based on my room, but here is my experience. My wife and I booked an ocean view suite. We got it but I wouldn't want it again. AVOID THE SINGLE DIGIT ROOMS,(3, 4, 5 etc.) EVEN OCEAN VIEW. They are street level. You open an iron gate off the sidewalk and walk down the hall to the room. Every truck, car, loud talker, and motorcycle sounds like they're coming into your room. There was no coffee maker or utensils. I'm not that picky about hotel rooms. Clean, comfortable, good location and quiet is about all that I ask for. But this place was LOUD. Also, when you looked off your balcony, you couldn't see the beach because the roof of the restaurant is in front of your room. You look over it to see the ocean. Again, this is because of the street level room location. Speaking of the beach, if you like to spend the day on the beach reading, eating, drinking, and lounging, this is not your hotel. Please take a careful look at the pictures. The umbrellas and tables in front of the hotel are for the restaurant. You have to walk somewhere down the beach to actually lay on the beach. The positives are the cleanliness, friendliness, and location. I won't stay here again. There are too many other choices that are better.

Room Tip: Do not get a single digit room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FasTxn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    118
    56
    33
    37
See reviews for
38
140
53
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Our second week there we moved to this hotel since it was on the beach. The staff were not as friendly as Los Arcos Suites which was one block from the beach. Emperador Beach Front Hotel & Suites has the thinnest walls. I swear the walls were made out of paper and the doors were made out of those cheap closet doors that you could put a foot through with no effort. No wonder you can hear everything. Plus being on the beach you will hear the bands playing music all hours of the night and people talking on the beach. The shower had good water pressure but that is the only thing I can say nice about this place.

Room Tip: You can hear the people in the next room like they were standing in your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Vallarta hotels

FREMONT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Spent a week here and thought it was a terrific value for a Ocean front room in Puerto Vallarto. It is well located in the "Romantic Zone" of old town on Los Muertos beach. The room was spotlessly clean and the maid was extremely creative in her animal creations using the towels. The very large Lanai featured a stove, refrigerator and a sink along with table andchairs and an an amazing view. WIFI is available in the lobby only, which is my only complaint, and was not very reliable.

Room Tip: All rooms designated as Suites are ocean front, hotel rooms are basic and face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jewing5092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I am flabbergasted by the nice photos and positive comments on this place. I accompanied a friend who regrettably pre-booked this for one night for a twin-bedded room. I now understand why search engines such as booking.com and expedia say "no cancellation" on the cheap "standard" rooms because once you see the non-ocean side rooms, you will want to leave immediately. Nothing close to the photos for ocean side. No drinking water provided - front staff advised us to purchase our own bottled water, can you believe this in a major tourist area? An annoying yappy dog in the room next to ours. No amenities - not even enough towels for two adults. At least shower had hot water. WIFI in room not accessible. Non-oceanside side is so bad it felt unsafe to open a window for fresh air or open curtains for light. Beds/pillows cheap and uncomfortable. Minimalist at its worst ! Wiith so many nice places in the area, I advise you to avoid this if you are seeking budget accommodations - you will thank me. I truly think they mean to rent these rooms by the hour!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nishamah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Ocean view kitchenette for about $75 can't be beaten....quiet at night, right on the beach (Playa Los Muertos)....the internet router doesn't do well but there are wi-fi coffee shops everywhere. There are towells for the beach, a balcony upstairs as well, great staff, new beds and flat screen TVs.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VictoriaGoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

I always like to emphasize the good and there is a lot at this wonderful hotel. The staff is amazing, Ian, Henoch,Claudia, Daniel, all front desk staff went out of their way to be helpful, whether it be making a phone call for me, checking a cab fare, giving directions, helping me with the computer they were great. Our room was exactly what I expected, it is an older hotel, is was not fancy, but the room was very clean, had an outdoor kitchen on a balcony overlooking the ocean, newer flat screen with lots of channels, free internet. This hotel is close to everything you want to do in downtown and old town, and only an 80 peso cab ride from the marina. Downsides were there were a few tiny ants in the bathroom, not a big deal to me, we are in a tropical country, and make sure you put the plug over the drain when you are not using the shower as the sewer smell will come through if you dont.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view room, well worth the little bit extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank glassgoddess1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

I have stayed at Emperador this same time each year for many years and I will not be returning again. Each year, my room (standard suite) offered less and less amenities. Drinking water that had been provided is no longer provided; kitchen utensils that had been provided now have to be ordered; the kitchen utensils I received were is such bad shape that most could not be used; I had to go out and purchase glass ware and other items that should have been provided; the furniture was awful and there was no comfortable place to sit; the nice couch had been replaced by a love seat; only a single sheet on the bed instead of a bed spread; no decorations on the walls at all. The AC unit never worked properly; several light bulbs were burnt out and light switches were not functioning properly. Although the front desk staff was outstanding, the room was so dismal that I will find another place next time.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean, which are far more expensive, offer an excellent view and have balconies. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 18Michael18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Tropicana Hotel
Tropicana Hotel
#60 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
691 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
#25 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#34 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Posada de Roger
Hotel Posada de Roger
#18 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
856 reviews
0.5 mi away
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
#50 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites

Property: Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Address: Amapas 114, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico (Formerly Suites Emperador)
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic Ocean views from each of its Suites, right on "Playa Los Muertos" Beach, in the heart of the most traditional area of Puerto Vallarta, you can walk to the “Malecon” (Beach boardwalk) the Property is surrounded by the best restaurants and bars. You won´t need to take a cab. The “Cuale River” shopping zone, the flea market and local museums are just steps away. * Beach lounges & Palm huts "Palapas".* FREE Wireless Internet access, FREE Computers available on the lobby complimentary.* Safety Deposit boxes (lobby level).* 24/7 Security system.* Doctor on call.* Visa y Master Card & American Express accepted.* NEW!! Si señor Restaurant & Beach Club.* Standard Rooms = Mountain View.* Standard Suites and Jr Suites = Deluxe Ocean View.* All Suites do have a full kitchennette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites Emperador Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Emperador Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Emperador Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing