We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great value, okay hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Ranked #59 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great location, great value, okay hotel”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We had a "junior suite" with king bed on the 2nd floor (note that the "1st floor" in Mexico is the second story of the building, unlike in the US).
GOOD: The spacious room had a beautiful ocean view from the balcony. The A/C worked reasonably well. Water pressure in the shower was good. There is a refrigerator in the room and a stovetop outside on the balcony with an extra sink. The hotel offers palapas and lounge chairs on the beach, as well as beach towels for the asking at the front desk. There is free wi-fi in the lobby. The hotel is in a prime location, especially if you want to visit Los Muertos Beach (right outside) during the day. La Palapa Restaurant (one of my favorite PV restaurants) is right next door. The rooms are very clean (good maids!).
NOT SO GOOD: The room is sparse, with very inexpensive wooden furniture. There is no safe in the room, so if you have valuables, you have to use a safe deposit box downstairs. The bathroom towels are coarse and you only get two bath towels in your room unless you request more. There is no blanket on the bed - only a sheet. The king bed comes with only 3 pillows. Sometimes, there are bands playing music on the beach, so you cannot take a nap in the afternoon without earplugs. The wi-fi only works in the lobby - it doesn't reach the guest rooms.
BAD: Our toilet tank leaked water on the bathroom floor when we arrived, and we asked to be switched to a different room (which was refused). They did send a maintenance man to try to fix the problem, which seemed to help - a little bit - but the toilet continued to leak for the rest of our 4-night stay. In addition, the shower head was not well-connected to the pipe, so water sprayed out of the connector when we took a shower. The remote controls for the A/C and the TV both stopped working on our last day (we didn't bother trying to get them fixed). The daytime front desk attendant (Ian) was nice and helpful, but the evening front desk attendant barely (if ever) looked up from the computer screen in front of him.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel to someone who wants to save some money and be in a prime location, but doesn't expect too much from their room. I did peek into some of the "standard" rooms across the hall - they are MUCH smaller and don't have any view at all (they face the street and their windows look out onto the hallway, so there is no privacy if your curtains are open).

Room Tip: Don't bother with the standard rooms - go for a junior suite at minimum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank VinceInLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    118
    56
    33
    37
See reviews for
38
140
53
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Conveniently located oceanfront, walking distance to all restaurants, bars and the Malecon. Clean rooms, housekeeping daily, pleasant front desk staff, very accomodating. Book online, there is no better value (depending of course what season) when you book. Have booked as low as $50 per night. Stay frequently.

Room Tip: All rooms on the 11 line, 211, 311, 411 are great value and position. All have balconies, have ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stchsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Large, clean rooms, an ideal location and a friendly staff but I think it's unacceptable when paying over $125/night for a standard suite for them to "run out" of blankets so there is only a thin sheet on the bed. It is also a bit odd to upgrade to a room with a kitchenette only to have to request how many plates, etc you want and then (in one of our parties case) have them arrive 3 days later. Some days we'd just get 2 bath towels and no hand towel and with Si Senor restaurant taking over the beach there is so little room for beach chairs we sometimes moved down the beach. Ok if you want a room on the beach but with NO amenities.

Room Tip: By all means do NOT allow them to put you in the single digit number rooms on the street level...oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Vallarta hotels

Austin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We just stayed 5 nights at Emperador. The first night we were in #306 ocean view standard suite. the room was nice enough, but a huge palm blocks the view of the bay, beach, etc. The second day we moved to #302 ocean view junior suite. This has to be the best in the building. Nothing fancy at all, but very clean and the AC works just fine. Mattresses were hard in both rooms. Ian and Claudia at the front desk were as nice and accomodating as they could be.

Don't stay here if you're looking for any luxury -- there isn't any. But is is safe, clean and right in the middle of all the action. Restaurants and bars all withing walking distance. Beach right outside the door.

Room Tip: Must ask for ocean view, and second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuttaB55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one week. The first two nights, I was in room 403. The air conditioning did not work properly, the furnishings were dated and in need of replacement, the sewer gases came through the bathroom sink (had to leave the stopper in all the time), there was a strong mildew smell in the room, the bathroom door was warped from water damage. Generally, the room doors do not have safety chains or deadbolt locks, the windows allow all of the street noises in (the first night I thought I left the window open because the noises were so loud and clear), and the towel were frayed with stains and holes. The only great thing about this property is the location... just steps from the beach.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reise74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

The property was very clean, and the front desk was extremely friendly. On two separate occasions, two different front desk individuals went out of their way to help (both at check in and after check out). The beds are firm (which is what I prefer); and our bath was remodeled recently with ample hot water and pressure. I read many negative review before booking, but I don't see much to complain about. The only suggestion I have for the place is to avail multiple room keys for when there is more than one traveler per room. Otherwise, great place. I'll probably stay here on my next trip.

Room Tip: On the mountain-facing rooms, be prepared for traffic noise and the occasional rooster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Les F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I just stayed here last weekend. Lots of potental. Rooms are clean, I did not experience any of the bad issues with the towels noted earlier. They have added pictures on the wall - albiet only one. Yes there are only safes in the lobby, but you are in complete controll of your belongings, you do not hand them over to the hotel staff to secure. Before the "portable" safes, this is how it was done in hotels. So not a bother to my husband and I. The chase lounges are in the process of being replaced. They need to add more, but they do have some new ones. So my point is the owners or managment is listening. Which is GOOD. So here is what I have to say and why I say diamond in the rough. First, booked a street view online, When we got there they had an ocean view. But we needed to change out to another oceanview on the last day. I wasn't quite sure about why it mattered what floor the incoming people were on since the room was the same. Something for the hotel to think about.
Need to add a summer blanket. I had to have the air on to keep the humidity low. But my husband likes it much cooler than me and with only a sheet, that doesn't work. So add bedding.
On the first floor suite. Glad I wasn't there the enitire time. You added a picture, Need bedding and another one - it is a big room and there is nothing to absorb the sound so it echos - not cool. Also You may want to think about adding a door, right where you turn to go to the room, everything from the street funnels right down the hall into that room.
Next, it is too bad the owners subleased the restaurant. They are "owning" the hotel - beach space, you can't enter the hotel but through the restaurant vs. throught the gate to the hotel. Really need to get out of that lease and make the money on drinks alone. - The hotel staff is nice - not great with their english though. The restaurant staff was terrible. No service we were on the beach one day when the couple we met were sitting with us. The waiter asked the other couple if they wanted a drink, they ordered and then he walked past my husband and I - same table to another to get their order. My husband had to grab him and say - hey I would like something to drink. -- Lots of learning.
Regard the statement it is a dump or unsafe- I have to state I believe these folks are use to all inclusive resorts. Do not go to the romantic zone of PV if that is what you want. These are older budget hotels that are more of the boutiquet style. Nothing fancy but clean and safe.
Still hard beds for US standards

Room Tip: Get above street level and on the ocean for a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovethesun365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Tropicana Hotel
Tropicana Hotel
#60 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
691 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
#25 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#34 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Posada de Roger
Hotel Posada de Roger
#18 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
856 reviews
0.5 mi away
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
#50 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites

Property: Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Address: Amapas 114, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico (Formerly Suites Emperador)
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic Ocean views from each of its Suites, right on "Playa Los Muertos" Beach, in the heart of the most traditional area of Puerto Vallarta, you can walk to the “Malecon” (Beach boardwalk) the Property is surrounded by the best restaurants and bars. You won´t need to take a cab. The “Cuale River” shopping zone, the flea market and local museums are just steps away. * Beach lounges & Palm huts "Palapas".* FREE Wireless Internet access, FREE Computers available on the lobby complimentary.* Safety Deposit boxes (lobby level).* 24/7 Security system.* Doctor on call.* Visa y Master Card & American Express accepted.* NEW!! Si señor Restaurant & Beach Club.* Standard Rooms = Mountain View.* Standard Suites and Jr Suites = Deluxe Ocean View.* All Suites do have a full kitchennette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Priceline, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites Emperador Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Emperador Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Emperador Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing