We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location needs a facelift”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Ranked #22 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Love the location and the rooftop pool is a nice touch. The rooms are very small and need remodeling. We did the all inclusive and it would be nice if they had a little more variety. The staff is always helpful and friendly. Last year we stayed at Los Arcos Suites and probably will stay there next time as the rooms are bigger. Watching the sun go down at the dining area is beautiful. Many nice things to do are within walking distance and a morning jog on the Malecon can't be beat.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingRunners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (786)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 786 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

I have stayed here about 5 times. It is really a fun, medium sized hotel. The things I like: you can use any of the three hotels they own, Hotel Playa Los Arcos, Los Arcos Suites and this one. They also have a rooftop pool that is very quiet (this is an adults only hotel). They also have internet that you can actually receive in your room or even at the actual beach. It is quite safe, and I love the tree that grows all the way to the rooftop - super cool. Service has been friendly for sure.

If you are looking for 5 star luxury, this is not it. But if you are looking for a safe, clean place that is quiet and has A/C and in the middle of Romantic Zone, this is an amazing deal - I have been to Vallarta maybe 20 times and could not find a better deal.

The regular rooms are on the slightly smaller side. But that is not a big deal for me, I do not stay inside. Also do not get room 303 or 302 as they are next to the storage cabinet and you will wake up. In fact, I would skip third floor altogether because they move the furniture at the rooftop (4thfloor) around 8am.

Room Tip: Do not get room 303 or 302 as they are next to the storage cabinet and you will wake up. In fact, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank evpers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here because it was recommended and the reviews on TA were good. The hotel is small, quiet, and clean as previously noted by reviewers. We also upgraded to the nicer room based on the recommendations. When we checked in, the air conditioner was not functioning. They moved us to another much smaller room. We called the front desk and they did not have another balcony room available. We ended up in a large room with a kitchenette but no windows. All 3 rooms had the same size bathroom. The bathroom is the reason we will not stay here again. Very old and small. Functional, but too small for us. The pool was quiet and we did take advantage of the larger Los Arcos pool. We ended up using the smaller pool at Dona Susana most of our stay. The staff were all very helpful. Again, the only negative for us was the bathroom.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank AKRainforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

After staying across the street in Los Arcos Suites I asked to be moved over to Casa Dona Susana. I'm travelling solo and It was the lowest of low season.The units across the street ( the Los Arcos Suites) felt somewhat isolated. And this would probably not have crossed my mind if I'd had a travel companion. Well- I loved Casa Dona Susana. I was given a unit just above the reception desk, overlooking the street. The units are less spacious than across the street, but worked better for me. A better vibe! The rooms are cute. The colours are warm and inviting. My room was very small, but with a good balcony ( secure wrought iron over windows and balcony door) and a bar fridge. Perfect. And I slept much better in this quaint place. My best wish is to stay here again next September.

Room Tip: I loved my balcony room over looking the street. I suspect these rooms get more sunlight, because I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvs2roam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Casa Dona Susana. We loved that it was at the end of a street which made it quieter. We LOVED the setting with its open court yard, plants and flowers. The tile work and wrought iron made us feel like we were in someone's hacienda--so pretty, such a wonderful flavor of Mexico. . .AND the roof top pool was amzing with its flowers and the views. One night we watched a distance lightening storm--very romantic. The location is PERFECT--within walking distance of everything. The staff was very nice & very accommodating. We would return to Casa Dona Susana again & again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is a great place for the price and has two sister hotels for amenities such as a beach side pool. We've stayed at Casa Dona Susan several times and have not been disappointed. On one occassion our room smelled of bug spray and they promptly changed our room. This is the best part of Puerto Vallarta to stay in, close to the best beaches, cafe's, restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChaChaBonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We have stayed at the Casa Dona Susana twice in 2013. The hotel is located in a great spot, in the heart of the Romantic Zone, just a half block from all of the restaurants, shops and pubs of Olas Atlas st. Most of the rooms are small, generic hotel rooms that will suit your purpose. However, if you want to enjoy a bit of a sanctuary to come home to after a day out and about, it is definately worth the upgrade ($15 USD per night) to get one of the rooms facing the (quiet) street, with the balcony. The hotel entrance (and the balconies overlook) a quiet street that has no outlet for through traffic, so it is quite quiet. Even Olas Altas itself is quiet by PV standards, with none of the noisy smoke belching buses that run past many of the hotels in Puerto Vallarta.

On every floor, this is x05, x06 and x07. We have stayed in 207, and 307, plus one night in 306 when our air conditioning broke down in 307. The x07 rooms are the closest to Olas Atlas, and x05 are further back (inland). Both rooms have a huge balcony, and a kitchenette. These rooms are almost twice the size of some of the interior rooms in the hotel, and give you a great space on the balcony to enjoy a morning coffee, or an evening glass of wine. x06 is the room in the centre, and has no kitchenette although still a fridge, and the same size, enormous balcony. Again well worth the upgrade, to have a room that you can come back to and relax, and not feel cooped up with no view or space.

The staff are terrific, we especially have to mention Zulma, the very nice lady who looked after our room, in 207.

A good hotel, in a great location, with great staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Wayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.0 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#23 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
559 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#25 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,732 reviews
1.4 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#26 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#37 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,712 reviews
3.3 mi away
Krystal Puerto Vallarta
Krystal Puerto Vallarta
#62 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,563 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#29 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Dona Susana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Dona Susana

Address: Calle Manuel M. Dieguez 171 | Col. Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico (Formerly Los Arcos Vallarta)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#22 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £35 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casa Dona Susana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Dona Susana Hotel is one of the few intimate Boutique Style Adults-Only HOtels in Puerto Vallarta and where exclusivity is felt right down to the smallest details. However you spend your time, a vacation at this hotel is sure to be wonderfully relaxing experience. Discover Casa Dona Susana, the hotel that guarantees you memorable vacations. Relax in our recently renovated pool and solarium terrace, enjoy the sun of simply admire the panoramic bay view, the spectacular tropical mountains and the blue sea. Savor the most romantic sunsets in Puerto Vallarta You can enjoy the Restaurant, Beach Club, Bar and Spa service of our partner hotel, Playa Los Arcos Beach Resort & Spa, located just a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Casa Dona Susana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Dona Susana Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Casa Dona Susana Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing