We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The BEST as always.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Ranked #23 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Ca. USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The BEST as always.”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed here again in October 2013 for 2 weeks and as always, WE LOVED IT. The waiters and staff were wonderful as always. The staff there are very attentive and very helpful, everyone is always smiling and happy. The lady that cleaned our room left us a different "Animal" everyday made out of towels, left a note saying it was our Zoo. Lol. Very sweet. Plan in returning very soon, have reservations already. :). The bartenders are great as well.
We had a balcony room 307, they are big rooms, the bathroom is small but doable, the balcony is nice to sit outside with a beer or coffer, whatever you prefer. The hotel is on the dead end of a nice quiet street.
Lots of restaurants and bars very close, we always do the all inclusive, it really didn't cost too much more than the European plan. Nice to have drinks or snacks on the beach.

Room Tip: Pick a room up front ending with a 5 or 7, the bigger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    270
    77
    42
    29
See reviews for
65
402
111
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colima, Mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

If this place were US$40 a night, I would have given it 4 stars. But at US$140 it was a complete ripoff. Small rooms, and I kept hitting my head. Great location though. Stay here only if you're getting a good deal.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank RogerCuringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
132 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

The room dark and smells of mold. I asked to change room and the other room had a smell of booze and mold...disgusting. when I arrived they couldnt find my reservation even though I had copy. Afterwards they couldnt find room with functioning shower and toilet. They kept asking for more money to upgrade me. Very irritating .. I suggest never to stay in this hotel

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank 1traveladdictblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed here for several nights & booked online thru Expedia. There's a nice, smaller rooftop pool & chairs up top. It's a great place to chill with a book to escape the chaos of the beach. Rooms were clean & the decor memorable. It's merely a 5 min door to beach walk. Gladly they don't serve the free mediocre breakfast that other hotels do. They offer strong coffee in the lobby & reliable wifi throughout the whole place. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have dorm rm fridges in them. All rooms have tv's but some have newer ones, while...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrippinFranko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
365 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Older adults only hotel with Mexican charm. Friendly staff, flat screen tv (mostly Spanish), clean room , comfortable bed. Upgraded to balcony on arrival. Noisy at night (bring earplugs) from the streets even with the a/c on and doors shut. Coffee and cookies available 7:30a-10:30a. Near everything, about 2 short blocks to ocean. Have stayed before and will return. They gave you a bracelet on arrival and asked that we show it if asked...nobody asked and I lost it the first day. Did not like that since I felt showing a room key should suffice. In room safe and fridge.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chicagotoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
86 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

If you're looking for a hotel with a great location in the heart of P.V.s 'Romantic Zone', you should consider the Casa Dona Susana.
Price: We were charged $69/night on our credit card, total, after booking through the hotel's website. You may find a better rate through an online booking site, but for comparison purposes, this hotel is in that range.
What we got: That price was for an air-conditioned room, with balcony, good in-room wifi, kitchenette w/fridge and coffee maker, elevator, and really nice rooftop pool (adults only). As mentioned in other reviews, you get a wristband that gets you access to the 2 other hotels in the Los Arcos group, including the beachfront Playa Los Arcos, half a block away.
Location: The location is superb, on a dead end street in the heart of the action of the Romantic Zone. Not on the beach, you'll pay more for a beachfront hotel, obviously.
The room: The room was a tad small, as was the bathroom, kitchenette, and balcony. All the balconies face south, making them very hot during the day but nice for morning coffee and viewing the sunset in the evening, off to the side. The kitchenette was interesting, with about 2 inches of counter space, yet equipped with numerous huge pots, pans and large utensils, including a flour sifter(!?). Not a microwave to be seen. Coffee maker a big plus for us, a rarity in Mexican hotels in this price range. Boutique style hotel had many nice touches throughout.
Sleep quality: The bed was soft for Mexican standards, meaning quite firm but acceptable. The cutesy headboard with hard contours jutting out was perhaps not such a well thought out design. The street noise was minimal, considering the location.
We also spent a couple of nights at the Eloisa, same area and price range. While the Eloisa was a good choice, we preferred the Casa Dona Susana. Eloisa had a much larger room for the same price, but the better location of the Dona Susana, as well as the in-room wifi and adults only policy made it a no-brainer. At least for us.

Room Tip: All balconies face south, no shade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rnbnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey, british columbia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Casa Dona Susana is located in ‘Old Town Puerto Vallarta’, part of the south downtown hotel zone, in an area known as "Zona Romantica". Casa Dona Susana is in the heart of the old city, with numerous restaurants, cafes, art galleries, bars, hotels, condos, flea markets, and gay friendly night clubs in the immediate area, plus the south end of the famous Malecon walkway. If you are looking to avoid one of the mega all-inclusive resorts, then Casa Dona Susana may be the place for you. The ‘adult only’ Casa Dona Susana Boutique Hotel is part of the Los Arcos Hotel Group (Playa Los Arcos is the main hotel, situated on the beach, while Los Arcos Suites shares the same dead-end side street as Casa Dona Susana, across the street from Playa Los Arcos and approximately 150 yards from the beach).

I stayed at Casa Dona Susana for 9 nights, November 16 to 25, 2013. I found a vast cross section of people staying and playing at the Casa Dona Susana, including many seniors, childless straight couples in their 40s and 50s, plus a fairly large number of gay couples, ranging in age from early 20s right through to the over 60 crowd. I suspect that at least half of the guests were Mexicans on vacation, while Canadians seemed to make up the second largest group of guests. I had selected the hotel because of its location in ‘Old Town’ and the fact that it is one of very few ‘adult only’ properties in the Puerto Vallarta area.

My king bed room, number 6, was located on the main floor, off the central courtyard and under the main staircase. Initially, it felt as though I had been assigned a troll cave as my room. Room 6 itself was moderate in size, ten foot ceilings, tile floors, plaster walls, with a small kitchenette (two plate burner, some dishes and pots & pans, but strangely no fridge), a bedroom with hard king size bed, and a tiny washroom (shower only, no tub). Room 6 had two modern, quiet and efficient LG air conditioners, and I found it sufficient to just have the one air conditioner in the kitchen area on. My room stayed a comfortable 18 degrees Celsius (65 degrees Fahrenheit). Linens and towels were changed daily, and housekeeping did an excellent job keeping my room and the entire Casa Dona Susana clean and tidy.

My major complaint, and I think it can be broken into two parts, with room 6 is this: (i) noise transfer was excessive. I could hear any and all noises coming from the courtyard outside my door, plus people walking up or down the staircase sounded as though they were coming through the ceiling into my room (especially annoying when one is trying to sleep and people are returning from the bars and night life between 11 pm and 3 am); and (ii) the staff, although wonderful people and obviously hardworking, talk and make a lot of noise early in the morning and throughout the day, which carried into room 6.

Pros:

1. Excellent location in the Old Town part of Puerto Vallarta, away from the mega all-inclusive resorts.

2. Adult only, so no noisy kids around.

3. Classic Mexican architecture, with rooms on all four levels looking into the grand courtyard.

4. Nice roof top terrace and pool area.

5. Good linens and large, fluffy towels.

6. Modern, quiet, and efficient air conditioners in the suites.

7. Daily bottled water provided in one’s suite at no additional cost.

8. Access to sister hotel Playa Los Arcos (located across the street) and its restaurants, bars, pools and beach front.

9. Excellent, hard-working and friendly staff.

Cons:

1. Noise transfer from the courtyard and adjoining rooms into one’s suite was noticeable and interfered with a good night’s sleep.

2. Bed mattress was very hard.

3. Small, ancient television set in the suites (although they did have over 70 channels, including several English language channels).

4. No restaurant or coffee shop in the Casa Dona Susana (although, to be fair, there is a coffee shop and a restaurant right outside the front doors, plus probably 20 restaurants within one-block of the hotel).

5. Phone in room 6 did not work and when brought to the front desk’s attention, they had a repairman look at it, but he couldn’t fix it, so it just stayed broken and not working for my entire 9 night stay.

Overall, on a scale of 1 to 10, where 1 is terrible and 10 is excellent, I rate Casa Dona Susana as a solid 7. It certainly is not a luxury property, but nor does it try to be (for $54 US per night, one cannot expect the Ritz Carlton). The place is clean, the staff is friendly, and the location is good if you’re looking to stay in the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.0 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#25 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,484 reviews
1.4 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#22 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#21 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#7 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,289 reviews
2.5 mi away
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resor...
#44 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Dona Susana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Dona Susana

Property: Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Address: Calle Manuel M. Dieguez 171 | Col. Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico (Formerly Los Arcos Vallarta)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#22 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casa Dona Susana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Dona Susana Hotel is one of the few intimate Boutique Style Adults-Only HOtels in Puerto Vallarta and where exclusivity is felt right down to the smallest details. However you spend your time, a vacation at this hotel is sure to be wonderfully relaxing experience. Discover Casa Dona Susana, the hotel that guarantees you memorable vacations. Relax in our recently renovated pool and solarium terrace, enjoy the sun of simply admire the panoramic bay view, the spectacular tropical mountains and the blue sea. Savor the most romantic sunsets in Puerto Vallarta You can enjoy the Restaurant, Beach Club, Bar and Spa service of our partner hotel, Playa Los Arcos Beach Resort & Spa, located just a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casa Dona Susana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Dona Susana Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Casa Dona Susana Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing