We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Posada de Roger
Ranked #18 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home away from home.”
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I've been staying here for many years now and is as good as the first time. They treat you like family and make sure you have a pleasant stay. This is not a luxury hotel but is very clean safe and conveniently located in the heart of old puerto Vallarta, making it the best deal in puerto Vallarta! Which I hate to say it since I wish it would stay a secret because it's getting harder to book here because of it's growing popularity.

Room Tip: No elevator so if you have problems getting around ask for ground floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soloviendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    320
    80
    21
    6
See reviews for
123
333
193
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Great location 3 blocks from Los Muertos beach right in middle of the action and night life in old town. Rooms small and just fair but hotel has alot of character with many plants and foliage with a perfect courtyard with tables and chairs and good restaurant. Rates very reasonable. A few days max and then move on. Single traveler or couple would work ok..community kitchen on third floor open air, and small pool which works ok on 2nd level. Thin walls in rooms with potential noise from adjacent rooms. Excellent wifi internet service in room and courtyard which is a big plus if you have your own laptop.

Room Tip: There is a penthouse up on third floor with kitchen and very spacious for longer term stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pmac705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

The Posada de Roger is a charming and comfortable place to stay, as well as being an economically priced option in Puerto Vallarta. The location is perfect- in the lovely Old Town of Puerto Vallarta, on a cobblestoned street, removed from the cruise ships and tourist hysteria- and just 2 blocks from the beach. The bus to Mismaloya and points beyond stops on the street right in front of the hotel. There are also numerous cafes/restaurants in walking distance, as well as the Rio Cuale flea market.

The beds at the Posada de Roger are comfortable (which isn't always the case in Mexico- I've slept on a lot of hard beds), with colorful, cheery bedding. The rooms have both fans and air conditioning. We had a room on the 2nd level with a nice little balcony overlooking the street. The rooms also have glass balcony doors which close tightly and do a an excellent job of blocking out the street noise at night.

The hotel building itself is really lovely, with 4 rambling, tiled stories and lots of tropical plants everywhere. The pool is small but nice, and definitely well used. There is also a 4th-floor kitchen for guests' use, which is handy and as an added bonus has fantastic views of Vallarta and the mountains. There's free Wifi in the lounge but not in the guest rooms.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and housekeeping was excellent. The guests were a nice mix of both Mexican families and tourists. And we even had a little gecko join us in our room one night!

The city of Puerto Vallarta overall isn't cheap compared to many places I've been in Mexico, but for the price (about $45/night), the Posada de Roger can't be beat. We stayed a week and I would definitely stay there again, and would recommend it to anyone. It's a hotel with a lot of character that feels very authentically Mexican.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank special_j25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We only stayed one night before moving out to an all inclusive in Nuevo. The all inclusive was excellent, but on the whole I think our one night at Posada de Roger was the highlight of the trip. It's a very cute little hotel, with great staff who keep it clean and well run. We had a wonderful taste of real Mexico that simply can't be had at the big resorts, and I want more of it now that I've had that taste. The Roger isn't particularly fancy or high class, but I highly recommend it nevertheless. One thing though, don't bother with their restaurant as better, less expensive fare can be had within close walking range.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redacted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
72 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

The very high Tripadvisor rating of this hotel had me expecting to be competely blown away. Overall, though, I would say "pretty good" to sum up my feelings about this place.

Location is very good for the old town, near the beach and the restaurants. It does have character, with a lower courtyard and an upper pool area courtyard and even a top level terrace as well. It is quite small however, the pool and pool area tiny so you won't have a lot of privacy if you want to spend time relaxing at the hotel you will be almost on top of the other guests so keep that in mind. Also, the wi-fi is free but spotty and the connection can be poor so usually the best luck is to go to the lowest lobby level for a connection.

Rooms are fine, showers have hot water (eventually). My room looked recently updated with a cheery bright sofa and bright walls.

Overall, it's definately a good value for money for a central simple non-resort style hotel in the Old Town.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mezaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
167 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We spent five nights at Posada de Roger. The location cant be beat - just 2 blocks from the beach and the entire neighborhood is loaded with dining and drinking options.

We had a room on the third floor near the swimming pool - our room was simple but we were only sleeping there so we didn't want or expect anything too fancy. We had cable tv with a few american stations, plenty of hot water in the shower, there was air-conditioning in the room but we never used it - the ceiling fan was enough to keep us cool at night. The hotel also offers wireless internet and were were able to get a weak signal in our room but it worked much better in the courtyard

Even though our room overlooked a busy street and we were right by the pool, when the windows and doors were closed it was actually fairly quiet.

The hotel doesn't have room safes but instead they have a secure room with safety deposit boxes where you can store your valuables. There is also a very good and inexpensive restaurant in the hotel that serves breakfast and lunch. I don't know about their lunches but we ate breakfast there twice and really liked the food

I would definitely return to Posada de Roger

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Co
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Just got back last week from a great stay at the Posada de Roger. Make sure you have some pesos with you when you arrive because you will need to put down a cash deposit for the room key, remote control, & if you want to get a safety deposit box. They take American $$, but when you get refunded you will be refunded in pesos. There are no safes in the room. They will hold lap tops etc behind the front desk for you at no charge, but they close at 11PM so if you get back late you will not be able to get your stuff. I put our passports in the safety deposit box. It was $320.00 pesos for all three. We were a tad disappointed when we first arrived because our first room 107 in the courtyard was SO tiny. With our suitcases there was no room to walk & the bed was pressed up against the closet, but when I went up to the desk they were great & moved us to room 216 which was perfect. Roomy with a little balcony right by the pool. The staff was great. It was very clean with lots of lovely plants all over. We ate at Freddy's Tucan twice for breakfast because it was so convenient, but it was just ok. We found better breakfast down the road. The location is just wonderful, close to many restaurants, the beach, & just a short walk to the main drag in PV. I would not hesitate to stay here again. In fact, I wish I was back there right now!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessiDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,540 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#34 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
#50 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#22 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
744 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vallarta Shores
Vallarta Shores
#3 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#59 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada de Roger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada de Roger

Property: Hotel Posada de Roger
Address: Calle Basilio Badillo 237 | Colonia Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada de Roger 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a real Mexican-style hotel in downtown Puerto Vallarta, surrounded by beautiful gardens and authentic Mexican architecture. Our personalized service, always cordial and efficient, assures that you will return home with a smile on your face!We are located one block from the main beach in old town, 2 minutes walk to the malecon 'the sea walk', and 20 minutes to the International Airport.We are very close to shopping areas, markets, internet cafes, as well as to other services to make your vacations simply perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Posada de Roger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Roger Puerto Vallarta
Posada Roger Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing