We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Budget Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Posada de Roger
Ranked #16 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I stayed at the Posada De Roger for 12 nights at the end of May. Nice little place with a great location and friendly staff. My room was on the third floor, king bed, updated bath, and very clean! Location is perfect for wandering around old town, the malecon, and the beach. Unlike many other reviewers of the hotel, I found the restaurant to be not so good. On my first morning, I ordered an omelet (a safe choice for a first breakfast) and found it to be terrible. There is nothing worse than a burnt egg, so I never went back. I found a great place on the next block called the Pancake House that I wholeheartedly recommend for good food and great service. My only issue with the hotel itself is their check-in policy requiring three different deposits in pesos....which I didn't have and needed a quick trip to the ATM. You need a deposit to get the key and a/c and tv control (200 pesos), another 200 pesos for the safety deposit box, and then again, another 200 pesos for a beach towel. So basically you tie up 600 pesos for the length of your stay, and end up when you check out with a pocketful that you spend at the airport. It would be much easier for everyone if they would simply take a credit card imprint.

All in all, I would stay here again. The staff, price, and location are great!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (873)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Posada de Roger
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 873 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

This charming colonial Mexican hotel has mastered location and service. The hotel is located in the old town/romantic area of Vallarta. The service from the employees was excellent, from the front desk staff to the housekeeping staff. My room was considered a economy room with no window. This did not bother me at all, as I was out for most of the day and needed a place to shower and sleep. The room had a ceiling fan and a/c unit. Also my room (Room 106) was tucked away in the corner and relatively quite for the most part. The hotel had a decent pool area on the second floor with lounge chairs. The hotel is very secured, as you had to ring a door bell to enter/exit 24 hours a day. There were numerous restaurants all within a 5 to 10 minute walk from street vendors to fancy sit down ones. It would have been nice if there would have been hangars in the closet; however, for me it was not such a big deal as I had ironed my clothes when I packed. The hotel is connected to a awesome restaurant (Freddy Tucans) that served breakfast and lunch. The beach was less than a 5 minute walk and the main plaza, cathedral, and malecon aka boardwalk was less than a 10 minute walk. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you don't need a window in your room, definitely consider a economy room. All rooms are exte...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeminiTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

If you are looking for a clean, no frills hotel than this is it for you. There are flowers everywhere, a small pool, super clean rooms and AC that works like a champ. We stayed for five days and it was the best time ever. We loved the fact that the place was in a spectacular location, literally minutes from the beach and excellent places to eat. Super safe location, loved the taco stands all around. Great place. They have safety deposit boxes that are free to use, excellent breakfast spot downstairs and a beautiful upstairs outdoor kitchen. For less than $70 bucks a night it is a steal.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcigami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Our stay at The Roger was enjoyable. The courtyard is beautiful with all of the tropical plants and flowers. The pool wasn't huge but perfect on the hot days. Our room was clean although, on the small side (mainly the bathroom). It would of been nice to have some counter space in the bathroom as well....but for the value, I am in no way complaining!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with newer windows, they are quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmilyC_4985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is a great little hotel. The price was very good. Room was clean and had all i needed (well, perhaps more hangers :^) Staff was friendly and helpful. Lobby and common areas were full of plants and flowers. Location is right in old port / romantic zone.

I also was travelling alone (woman) and felt safe.

I was right on the courtyard so it could be a bit noisy, but also vibrant.

I love it!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ingrid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We truly enjoyed genuine hospitality, kindness and professionalism of the entire personnel. Service quality at Pasada de Roger was much higher in comparison with many fancy hotels in the United States. Our room was comfortable and very clean; location is perfect for someone who likes to stay in town as opposed to be secluded in a tourist resort; still just a few blocks from the beach.

Room Tip: Corner room with a city view was not that noisy at night.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank haxer0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Posada de Roger the staff was friendly and helpful. Being right in the middle of the romantic district was great, and the look of the hotel was amazing. The only reason I did not give it a 5 was that the bed wasn't really comfortable. It wasn't bad just wasn't really good. Other than that we really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#25 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,692 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#37 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#22 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Encino Hotel
Encino Hotel
#82 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
#58 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
371 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#10 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada de Roger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada de Roger

Address: Calle Basilio Badillo 237 | Colonia Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £27 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada de Roger 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a real Mexican-style hotel in downtown Puerto Vallarta, surrounded by beautiful gardens and authentic Mexican architecture. Our personalized service, always cordial and efficient, assures that you will return home with a smile on your face!We are located one block from the main beach in old town, 2 minutes walk to the malecon 'the sea walk', and 20 minutes to the International Airport.We are very close to shopping areas, markets, internet cafes, as well as to other services to make your vacations simply perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Posada de Roger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Roger Puerto Vallarta
Posada Roger Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing