We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend for a great value close to downtown but in the hotel zone.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Ranked #27 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2011

All-inclusive is a great deal when you can find it. If you book the room alone then there are both seafood and taco restaurants around the corner. You can not go wrong. I have stayed at resorts in the hotel zone and would travel down to this area and past it to get to downtown and to the romantic zone. I will definitely stay here again or in the romantic zone. Everyone works so hard. Please tip them. The drinks are inventive and great tasting. The food was terrific; undersalted but that is okay with me. Terrific assortment of foods even for the picky eater, which I am not. Homemade mexican food even those "Sunday" only meals that are laborous to prepare were served. Clean rooms, clean hotel. Enjoyed the live nightly entertainment. Smaller hotel was nice.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WebsiteTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenaventura G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2016

Estimado cliente, agradecemos sus comentarios, son fundamentales para poder mejorar.
Dear guest, we thank your comments, we work on improving our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,629)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,175 - 1,181 of 2,629 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2011

My fiance and I really loved that you could walk out the front door of the hotel and be surounded by the city. You really felt like you were in old Mexico, not just some resort city like Cancun. We also liked that it was a smaller hotel, not some giant complex.

The hotel is nice and very clean. Room service was excellent and the staff was very friendly. Food was just OK, but we didn't expect it to be amazing. Omelet station for breakfast was really good, and they were nice enough to serve us Mimosas each morning. Fajitas/shrimp were awesome, and oddly enough, the onion soup was really really good. Wish they had a few more options for beer, but the Sol they served was just fine. We are not a picky couple, and just enjoy being in the sun with a drink in our hands. I never understand these people that complain about stuff as much as they do. You probably paid $90 a night for a ROOM, FOOD, AND ALKY. AND LOTS OF IT. And you are going to complain that the food wasn't 5-star quality? Or that the ketchup tasted funny? It's Mexico people.. it's basically a 3rd world country. And you didn't pay $400 a night to stay at the Ritz. Try to relax and enjoy yourself. Things will not always be perfect. You may order a meal you hate... who cares, just order another one until you find something you like. It's ALL-INCLUSIVE.

The Good:
1. Very friendly Staff
2. Good, not great food.
3. Clean rooms with good AC
4. Clean hotel with great views
5. Good location
6. Affordable
7. 24/7 room service

The Bad:
1. Too many vendors on the beach in front of the hotel
2. Just average food
3. Lose your pool towel and you get charged $

Room Tip: Use common sense. You will be ok. Mexico is safe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jitaly79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenaventura G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2016

Estimado cliente, agradecemos sus comentarios, son fundamentales para poder mejorar.
Dear guest, we thank your comments, we work on improving our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We spent five days at the Buenaventura. This is a relatively small hotel, and as such, the service was more personal and less commercial than the larger brand hotel--more like friends rather than friendly strangers. Many of the common areas and rooms have been updated. Located at the center of Puerto Vallarta (PV), it is easy to get to attractions around the area within a $5 or less cab ride--just south of Nuevo Vallarta and on the northern edge of PV. our room had spectacular views of Banderas Bay, and most importantly, the hotel sits on the beach. It is a very family-friendly hotel (and many, often multi-generational, families were guests) with a dedicated activities staff that kept many of the younger visitor busy in various areas of the hotel. Many of the guests were return customers, usually over the course of several years.

The concierge staff, especially Belen and Miriam, were involved in our plans from day one. They knew our names and were both were fluent English speakers. They were proactive in making and double checking reservations at local attractions and restaurants, arranging and confirming transportation to all locations, and were happy to make suggestions for activities. They also made sure we had everything in order before going to the airport when we left (being our first time to travel abroad from USA). Each day, one of the staff would call us to see how we were doing and to ask if there was anything we needed. When Belen or Miriam were not present, it was clear that they had informed the on-duty concierge staff of any important information related to us to ensure a seamless service experience. We were very grateful to have their assistance and insight throughout our stay in PV.

The hotel staff is also friendly and most are fluent English speakers. If one of the staff is in doubt about their understanding, they will find another, more fluent staff member to make sure your needs are met. The bar staff is incredible to watch as they keep up with the various beverage orders for the visitors. Every daiquiri we had as part of our all-inclusive package was wonderful. Since the hotel has private beach access, our server, Jorge, was always available to refresh our beverages without being intrusive as we enjoyed a day under a cabana feet away from the waves of Banderas Bay. It is important to note the hotel beach is cordoned off to prevent beach vendors from interrupting your lounging time; and in the rare event that a brave vendor does cross the line, hotel security quietly and quickly escorts them back to the public beach.

Our room was average-to-good as far as decor and condition, especially considering the age of the hotel. It is apparent that they have done their best to update the rooms within the limitations of the structure. The living space of our room was a bit small but big enough for two to navigate comfortably. When not on the beach or in the pool area, the room's balcony provides a more private place to enjoy the ocean view and people watching. The bathrooms closets are large, and the air conditioning works well when the summer heat is too much to handle. Housekeeping always visited our room while we were out of the room rather than getting that knock on the door while we were in. It was evident that the lobby staff and housekeeping communicated with each other about our whereabouts while at the hotel. It was also interesting that once housekeeping had an idea of how our room temperature preference, the bed linens were altered (thicker, heavier duvet was replaced with a lighter duvet in the duvet cover) to make us more comfortable--and without asking.

The breakfast and dinner offerings in the hotel's restaurants were usually exceptional and provided a wide variety of choices. One downside was the desserts--usually these seemed commercially pre-produced and packaged differently for each meal service. Lunch offerings were good, but nothing spectacular. Room-service dining hours were quite extensive and offered a good selection, even late into the night--and it was delivered quickly.

Buenaventura also provides free wi-fi for guests, and it is accessible in all common areas, guest rooms, and even on the beach. The business center was also available and made printing boarding passes, etc., easy. Spa and other related services are provided by the sister hotel next door, at the Villa Premiere Hotel & Spa.

If there is something you need that isn't available in the gift shop or at an odd hour, an OXXO convenience store is across the street, literally steps away from hotel entrance. A Quicksilver surf shop as well as an upscale clothing boutique is also located across the street should you need an outfit you didn't expect to require.

Overall, the quality of service, food, and drink for an all-inclusive package during an off-season trip was an incredible value. Those we spoke to about the price of our package relative to what we received were astonished.

We will definitely stay at Buenaventura again, or give the sister hotel next door a try. Either way, the quality of service this organization provides is exceptional.

Room Tip: Floors 3-5, balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BGoodner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenaventura G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2016

Estimado cliente, agradecemos sus comentarios, son fundamentales para poder mejorar.
Dear guest, we thank your comments, we work on improving our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

This is the third time I have stayed at this resort, and I have never been dissapointed. I asked for a certain room, and if it was not available, I was offered an up grade in there sister hotel, which I politely declined. The staff at the Buenaventura is nothing else but supurb, and will do anything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. I like that when I return they all know my first name, and always have a smile on there faces. You are within walking distance to the Malecon and many other restaurants, activities, and shops. Hats off to the Buenaventura, you have out done yourself.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally182203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenaventura G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2016

Estimado cliente, agradecemos sus comentarios, son fundamentales para poder mejorar.
Dear guest, we thank your comments, we work on improving our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

My mom and I went to Buenaventura last june, and after staying at a very fancy hotel in cabo a few years before, this was a bit of a downgrade. They sent us to the wrong room at first, with just a king bed when we signed up for two doubles. No problem, they switched us right away. It's an average resort, small window to see the beach.

The Pro's:
GREAT food. The buffet was spectacular- their fresh orange juice every morning was amazing. The sunset restaurant right on the beach has the world's best fish and chips. The brazillian meat fest wasn't really my thing, but I'm sure meatlovers will love it. The restaurant next door allows us one meal there per trip, and the food was spectacular- just make sure you wear nicer clothes.
GREAT staff. I had absolutely no complaints about the staff, they were amazing people. They loved that we tipped (we're canadian, apparently not as many americans tip, so that might also be why they liked us..) and they were just the friendliest people around. There was a man named Angel, who was just the sweetest man ever in the buffet restaurant. The bartender makes margaritas incredibly strong, so even with "half" the tequila we switched to virigins- but the ron punch is amazing, so be careful cause it sneaks up on you. they were always really good at serving you in the lounge pool or on the beach too.
Right downtown, so it's not a far walk from the boardwalk or flea market- don't bother getting a cab it's only like a 20 minute walk.. but it's quite the maze so don't lose your partner in there!

The cons:
It's right off the streets of downtown, so I thought that was a little sketchy, I would go to a resort area next time, but it really wasn't as sketchy the more we walked around.
The people downtown really harass you, whether it's trying to get you in their restaurant, or in their cab, or whatever. The security on the beach wasn't always paying attention so some of the guys would pass over the ropes and hover around you when you just want to have a drink in peace.
The ocean was pretty good, we went in june so it rained most days, we had only one sunny day so didn't do too much swimming.
Cruise ships would come a spend the night in the resort, and the hallways are SO loud, so we locked our door at night because people were running past our room screaming their faces off drunk every night.. and there were a lot of locals at the resort, so we didn't any new people because of the language barrier, no big deal though.

Overall, if you want great food and service, and don't care about the location so much, I highly recommend this place. location isn't really that bad, but they don't seem to offer as many activities. It's a smaller resort so they also don't really have many shows.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelgal36064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenaventura G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2016

Estimado cliente, agradecemos sus comentarios, son fundamentales para poder mejorar.
Dear guest, we thank your comments, we work on improving our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

The hotel is spotless at all times,every employee worked to high standards providing exceptional friendly service always. The food I give a five star rating,outstanding menu and very tasty selections. It's location was fantastic, walking distance to alot of attractions and the beach front was awesome!!..The gardens were breath taking and meticulous very well maintained...It is child friendly and provides a wonderful family atmosphere.

Room Tip: ask for room upgrade at check-in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gypsycher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenaventura G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2016

Estimado cliente, agradecemos sus comentarios, son fundamentales para poder mejorar.
Dear guest, we thank your comments, we work on improving our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

My wife and I used Trip Advisor to help us nail down our final choice for Puerto Vallarta, so I should start by thanking all past, present (and future) reviewers. Because of you, we had a really amazing vacation.

We wanted everything that the other more Northern Vallarta resorts offered (great beach, all-inclusive, good food, etc.) WITHOUT the $40 cab ride into town. We got it all, and more. In EVERY SINGLE WAY, our expectations were met AND exceeded at the Buenaventura.

- We were excited about the unlimited a la carte, but the Buenaventura buffet was actually so delicious that we quite quickly stopped bothering making reservations for the a la carte restaurants. (At breakfast time, bring an extra 10 peso coin or $1 US along for the omelette station chef. If you like chorizo in your omelette, just ask for it.) We were so surprised by the little things too. For example, on French night, the buffet onion soup of all things was the best I have ever tasted.

- The walk downtown was easy (5-10 minutes), interesting (with more than enough shops/restaurants along the way) and 110% safe at all hours of day or night. For those who want to stay at the resort, there are a few vendors who set up daily between the lobby and pool (with the resort's official blessing), and their prices honestly seemed in line with what is charged elsewhere. Just remember... pretty much wherever you go (except the Hotel Gift Shop, Ley's (basically Mexican Wal-Mart down the block) and Oxxo (basically Mexican 7-11) on almost every street corner) everything has a starting price and a final price. 99% of vendors expect bartering, and even moderate bartering can save you 20%. Hard bartering will average you about 40% savings depending on the popularity of the product or time of day/year. That said, stay away from buying most stuff on the beach (except parasailing). It was all over-priced, although I did buy a stick of fresh BBQ'd shrimp for 18 pesos vs the 30 peso original price. (Thank God I didn't get sick, but I was just really hungry for shrimp.)

- Do not do a time share presentation. (We learned that from Trip Advisor.) We did not read one single review here where a person said it would be worth it, so we made this decision before we even left on holidays. I'd encourage you to do the same and to stay firm. Remember, you will be offered a presentation at least 10-20 times per day from people at your hotel, people on the street and shopkeepers. (At one store, a shop-owner quoted us $130 US for a beautiful statue. When we told him it was out of our budget, he said he could knock it down to $20 if we did a time share presentation. ADIOS!) For tours, we paid in full for the Cielito Lindo snorkeling and beach tour through the Buenaventura and loved it. We were very impressed with the tour, the service and the price for value. We also heard good things from other travelers about Rhythms of the Night and Los Calietas (sp)? If you want to go parasailing, the Buenaventura doesn't have a connection for it, but you can always find at least one or two boats cruising up and down the coastline looking for customers. During high season, they'll charge you as much as $45-$50 US / person. During low season, you can easily parasail for $30 US / person (or maybe less) if your bartering skills are up for a challenge. It was our first time and was one of the most relaxing experiences my wife and I have ever had. My wife saw a school of stingrays from the air, and I enjoyed the utter peacefulness of it and the amazing view of the city. Always remember: With parasailing or with anything else, be prepared to walk away without looking back. We got close with the parasailing negotiations and did exactly this in a silver market, and the vendor chased us down in another booth after 5 minutes to agree with our offer.

- We don't have kids and were a little concerned about this place not being adults-only, but I don't think we heard screeching or yelling even once during the entire week. Most guests were Mexican nationals, and the kids seemed as well-mannered as their many perfectly side-parted haircuts.

- Tipping: I can't speak for high season, but $1 US or 10 pesos during now in low season seemed to go a very long way. I honestly didn't once see a Mexican national leave even 10 pesos even though they were also wearing the all-inclusive armbands. On the first day, we started with $1 US per drink, but we very quickly switched to $1 for every 2 or 4 drinks, and the bartenders/servers were still extremely happy. Bring a stack of 100 $1 US bills for tipping. It should last two people a week if you're careful. If you run out, switch to 10 peso coins. On a personal note, if you like a particular server or bartender, always ask them about their schedule or where they'll be tomorrow. The staff seems very careful about not infringing on the territory of other staff, so if, for example, Carlos or Jorge is working the poolside bar tonight but not tomorrow, they'll seem a little hesitant to bring you drinks by the pool, even if you order from them. (Incidentally, those two were our favourites for service and humour: Jorge and Carlos.)

Miscellaneous:
- I burned like a lobster and quickly learned to find shade. There's lots of it on the beach and around the pools - no trouble finding beach or pool spots.
-It's always a good idea to carry water around with you, and even if you're on the all-inclusive plan, it's handy to always bring an empty bottle with you which you can fill up a few times a day from the water station at the lobby bar.
-Towels? Don't misplace them. The little card warns you that they'll charge you $30 US per towel that you lose which was enough to help us keep our wits about us.
-Keys/Room Safe - Front desk warns you that they'll charge you $100 for losing the key to the safe in your room. We happened to have one of those longer elastic style hairbands with us. We fed the key into one end, and wore the hairband and key like a bracelet wherever we went. We also put the key for the bar fridge on the same wristband, so we never misplaced either key and always had them with us at all times. NOTE: The top shelf of the mini-fridge has plenty of room if you need to keep something cold like food you bought around town or medication. As well, we never were quite sure whether or not they would charge us for taking anything from the "honour" bar, but after a few beers and bottles of water, we guessed the answer was "no". Our only charges at the end were for laundry - very reasonable prices, they do an AMAZING job and they're very quick.

One quick note: 5 days into our stay the Puerto Vallarta Malecon was closed for renovations until autumn sometime. All of the shops are all still open, but the boardwalk area is under construction. Just be aware of this, but it won't affect Malecon shopping nor the more Southern Old Town/Romantic Zone areas.

Finally, I know everyone goes to Mexico for various small reasons but for one big reason: to relax. Knowing that none of the little things are going to be an issue at the Buenaventura, you'll be able to accomplish the big reason you visited. Top marks for this place and expectations exceeded.

Room Tip: Ask for poolview w/balcony; you get oceanview too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Kenton D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenaventura G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2016

Estimado cliente, agradecemos sus comentarios, son fundamentales para poder mejorar.
Dear guest, we thank your comments, we work on improving our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.1 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#19 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,026 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#10 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
777 reviews
1.4 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#25 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#12 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,720 reviews
0 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#7 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,546 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Co...
#32 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive

Address: Avenida Mexico 1301, Puerto Vallarta 48350, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#38 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £122 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an unequalled all-inclusive resort experience at the best location in Puerto Vallarta. Beach, sunshine, tropical setting, vibrant spaces with color and joy, we provide everything you're looking for. A breath-taking place to relax and enjoy a fun-filled getaway. Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments invites you to enjoy its all-inclusive program with its excellent cuisine, as well as numerous activities suitable for the entire family. Our 234 rooms and suites include all of the comforts and amenities you'll require for an unforgettable stay, regardless of the purpose of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buenaventura Grand Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Grand Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing