We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Ranked #26 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My sister and I stayed at this hotel for the second half of our week in Puerto Vallarta. Our room was comfortable and clean, which was all we needed as we really spent most of our time in the common areas. The beach area is beautiful and we were not bothered too much by the vendors. It would be great if the management didn't let people claim the chairs for hours without even being there to use them. The service was great with waiters coming by often to bring drinks or snacks both at the beach and by the pool. The a la carte restaurant is by far the best place to eat as the view is stunning. The food was good, but the hot food wasn't always kept hot in the buffet. The wifi didn't work in our room or lots of other rooms, judging by overheard comments, but was fine in the lobby. I would go back to this hotel again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LBSRichmond_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenaventura G, Guest Relations Manager at Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear LBSRichmond_BC, thanks for taking the time to share with us your experience in our Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Spa.

On behalf of all who enjoyed working in this beautiful hotel, we appreciate your words are very motivating, as well as our commitment to quality services have already taken action on the issue of the temperature of food and beach loungers.

Sincerely,

Cesar Soto
Guest Service Manager
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

962 - 968 of 2,625 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

My wife and I have stayed at the Buenaventura 24 time in our 27 years in Puerto Vallarta. We feel welcomed every year that we go. The doormen Pedro and Fuastino have been there from day one. They are very helpful and have become very good friends. Near the pool area there is no one better than Jorge. His work ethic is impeccable and he keeps you laughing all day long. We follow him everywhere he goes. Also Eduado and Gustavo do a great job. The restauant menus could use some upgrading but the food is still very good. Just being home for two days, we are already looking to be there again next year. Muy Bien!!!!

Room Tip: We just stayed in the honeymoon suite. You have a view of everything. My second choice would be the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vincent L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenaventura G, Guest Relations Manager at Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Mr. Vincent L, thanks for taking the time to share with us your experience in our Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Spa.

On behalf of all who enjoyed working in this beautiful hotel, we really appreciate your words are really motivating, we have already extended to our team and will be waiting for your next visit.

Sincerely,

Cesar Soto
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed at the Buenaventura the week of January 25 - February 1, 2014. We went with Air Canada Vacations, and booked through our travel agent. For a little more money (not much), we booked the "Deluxe Ocean View All Inclusive Select" option, which gets you the black wrist bands. I cannot recommend this option enough. We were assured an ocean view room. We requested a balcony and we got it, 3rd floor, facing inside, close to oceanfront, with a king bed. We got premium international alcohol brands and better tequila for our margaritas. Our heads thanked us. We could dine at the a la carte every night if we wanted, and wherever we ate, be it at the buffet or the a la carte, we were offered a "select" menu and could order a la carte off it. This menu included lobster, shrimp, steak, salmon, tuna sashimi, etc. Among other things, we had grilled shrimp with garlic every night. I suspect that certain people we talked to booked the cheapest package and their M.O. was then beg, bully, whatever for a free upgrade, All the power to you, but don't complain about your "run of house" room assignment if you weren't willing to pay a little extra when you booked. You get what you pay for and we got it.

I thought the food was really good, not the best I have had but definitely well above average. My only issue with the restaurants was that they would oddly run out of certain things some nights. One night they ran out of red wine and one of the waiters actually went out and bought it himself! Another night the a la carte had no Kahlua for our coffee (really? in Mexico?). But management needs to get their act together They told us they are working on it. It's not the servers' faults!

Service at this hotel is outstanding and very professional at all times. By the way, we tipped but reasonable amounts. Too many names to mention but gracias y abrazos a todos.

This is an older hotel located right in downtown PV. It's smaller, very social atmosphere and without the usual palatial gimmicks of let's say, the gated all inclusive "estates" on the Mayan Riviera. We loved being in town and close to the action, but with relative tranquility. It's nice to be able to walk out the door, go for a walk and see Mexicans going about their business in what is still a real Mexican city despite the tourism. Our room was of medium size but always clean and never a problem with stocking the fridge. The beach at the hotel was relatively peaceful and ample, certainly for PV. For comparison, I invite you to check out the crowds at Los Muertos Beach. My only gripe is that they need to ban "reserving" chair lounges with towels or put more chair lounges and palapas out. Having to wake up at 7 a.m. to get a spot may not be what most of us go on vacation for. However, our balcony was close enough to the beach that we spent some quality time on it. It was "red flag" the whole week which means no swimming due to strong currents. We waded in up to our knees/waists and splashed around. A full on swim would have been nice, however I appreciate the hotel doesn't control ocean currents.

We would and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Go with Air Canada Vacations AND choose all inclusive select. Make any requests at time of booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenaventura G, Public Relations Manager at Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Andy R, thanks for sharing with us your experience in our hotel, we have already extended this message to all staff that enjoys working in this beautiful Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Spa. all of us really enjoyed your words, I assure you we have done enough to not miss anything in the bar or restaurant. and we hope you come back soon.

Cordially Yours,

Cesar Soto Garcia
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We just returned from a wonderful week at the Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Spa. We have been to PV many times ,this was our first stay at this hotel. Picked this Hotel for its location and it didn't disappoint, close to the Malecon , banks ,shops and corner stores. Taxies' always outside the front door and a 2 minute walk to hop on a bus (which is a must when in PV )
The Hotel is well laid out, you don't have to walk miles to get to the Buffet , Bars, Pool, or Beach.
Our room was fine, with a king sized bed that was very comfortable and balcony. The mini fridge was stocked daily. Shower was huge and always had hot water. They were in the process of installing Free WiFi in the rooms, while we were there WiFi was just in the lobby.
Staff are very friendly and HELPFULL, while there I needed medical attention and they went out of their way to help me . They all speak very good English
Food was excellent, Breakfast omelet lady Delia, was amazing, wish I could flip eggs like her..LOL We always had plenty to eat, if you went hungry while you were there you should stay home ! Pool bar and restaurant were great, loved the view and the breeze.
All in all, this hotel is truly lovely and exceeded my expectations in every way and we hope to be back next year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank snowmanNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenaventura G, Guest Relations Manager at Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear snowmanNovaScotia, Thanks for sharing with us your experience in our hotel, we have already extended this message to all staff that enjoys working in this beautiful Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Spa. all of us really enjoyed your words, and we hope you come back soon.

Cesar Soto Garcia
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I spent the last 2 weeks at this wonderful resort. It is in a prime location on the beach within a 5 minute walk to the Malecon, and not far to Los Muertos Beach and all of the restaurants and shopping in Old Town. This is a smaller resort, older building but well maintained. I had an ocean view room with balcony to watch the beautiful sunsets. The outstanding service is what really makes this place standout. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank Phyllis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenaventura G, Guest Relations Manager at Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Mr. Fhyllips T, thanks for sharing with us your experience in our hotel, on behalf of our entire team who enjoys working in this beautiful hotel, we really appreciate your words and hope to see you back soon.

Cesar Soto Garcia
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We enjoyed our two weeks stay, first time at this hotel. Staff are super friendly and try their hardest to please everyone. Check out the weekly schedule of activities and let the staff know that you are interested in participating. I especially enjoyed the yoga on the beach each morning at 9 am. The buffet always had enough choices to keep everyone happy and the desserts were excellent, especially if you like baked custard and cream filled cream puffs. After our laptop crashed I was very happy to find that they have two free guest computers, very fast speed as well. We called maintenance to fix a slow sink drain and change a light bulb and received fast friendly service. Our bed was firm, a king size with sheets that fit (not two twin beds pushed together). We met many guests who return each year and we plan to return again.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want. Room 1016 has an additional shower for a wheelchair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carrie_and_Ted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenaventura G, Guest Relations Manager at Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Carrie_and_Ted, thanks for taking the time to share with us your experience in our Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Spa.

On behalf of all who enjoyed working in this beautiful hotel, we really appreciate your feedback and will be waiting for your next visit, we would love when you booked your next vacation.

Sincerely,

Cesar Soto
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Just back from a week all inclusive booked via Escapes.ca

I'd visited a friend who was staying at the hotel back in 2003, so I knew it's location to downtown was excellent.

Not a great first impression however as the bell boy was very insistent on wanting to take our bags to our room despite us not wanting or needing help. So there was a 20 peso tip.

The room was musty smelling but very clean. No view but that didn't matter.

Food was excellent, Breakfast omelette lady Delia/Delilah? is fantastic and she deserves a 20 peso tip every day.

Compared to other resorts I've stayed at this one was very much geared up to a tipping culture.

One thing that p****ed me off was the towels laid on loungers before breakfast...stop it!

No entertainment as such, but that's ok if you want to go to the Malecon every night

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenaventura G, Guest Relations Manager at Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

OurManInVanc, thanks for taking the time to share with us your experience at our Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Spa.

On behalf of all who enjoyed working in this beautiful hotel, we really appreciate your comments and I assure you we are working on the details you kindly pointed out to us as "laid towels on loungers before breakfast."

Cordially yours,

Cesar Soto
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.1 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#19 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,022 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#12 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
776 reviews
1.4 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#25 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#11 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,711 reviews
0 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#8 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,539 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Co...
#32 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive

Address: Avenida Mexico 1301, Puerto Vallarta 48350, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#34 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#38 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £122 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an unequalled all-inclusive resort experience at the best location in Puerto Vallarta. Beach, sunshine, tropical setting, vibrant spaces with color and joy, we provide everything you're looking for. A breath-taking place to relax and enjoy a fun-filled getaway. Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments invites you to enjoy its all-inclusive program with its excellent cuisine, as well as numerous activities suitable for the entire family. Our 234 rooms and suites include all of the comforts and amenities you'll require for an unforgettable stay, regardless of the purpose of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buenaventura Grand Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Grand Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing