We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SERVICE AS GREAT AS ALWAYS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Ranked #25 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“SERVICE AS GREAT AS ALWAYS”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I have been at the Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa many times. The past few times I regret to say, that in spite of all good intentions, I have failed to write a review. However, as always, the holiday was wonderful and the service, the best!!!

Since my last posting, the biggest change is the “preferred guest” type of program that they have incorporated. I was grateful that when I told them that I was not interested and would keep coming as I always have, they did not continue to try to sell it to me. I met a number of people that have been to this hotel more than once or twice and a fair number of them were regular guests. We came with people that we met here a number of years ago. Being a smaller hotel, I find that the guests are also very friendly as well and I have met a number of great people from all over. This in itself speaks for the quality of both the hotel and its staff.

When you first walk into the hotel you are greeted by the familiar faces of Pedro, Faustino, Omar and Santiago welcoming you “back home”. They always have a smile on their faces and are wonderful ambassadors of the hotel.

Angel, Letay, Isadoro, and Ramon are all familiar long-time employees that also welcomed us back and greeted us with a smile and a hug. Joel, Eric, Omar and German were newer staff members that were just as fantastic as the others. Each one of these made our dining experiences wonderful. I always look forward to seeing Dalia who makes the most fantastic omelettes ever. When I walked up to her the first day I was blown away that she not only remembered my name, but also my omelette ingredients!! The main restaurant is a buffet and there are a few a la carte options that you can book daily. I found the food always fresh and tasty. The host, Manuel, is another gem. He always had a smile on his face whenever you walked in the room or whenever he saw you anywhere else in the hotel. I do not think there is a better team anywhere than these people. Keep up the fantastic job!!

The new concierge, Caesar, is in my opinion one of the best that this hotel has had since I have been going. He was always very helpful and mingled with the guests constantly. He is very approachable and there to answer any questions you may have. He also takes bookings for the a la carte restaurants in the mornings and is there to be sure everyone is enjoying it at night. Caesar, do you sleep?? This year there was also a new dining experience on Tues and Thurs nights around the pool. This was absolutely fantastic and I have to say one of the highlights of the trip. I swear that the dessert on the Tuesday night was the best I have ever had anywhere. A number of others also said the same thing. Gotta have the recipe for that one!!! I hope they keep this dinner in their future plans.

Of course, the Buenaventura would not be the Buenaventura without the outstanding service you get from Fausto, Jorge, Gustav and Edwardo around the pool. It was 34 degrees Celsius for a number of the days we were there and these guys just kept on going and going. They always made sure that you had a drink in hand. They did not care if you were drinking alcohol, club soda or just water...it was always service with a smile and more often than not, with laughter. Miguel and Daniel are also fantastic bartenders. I think these guys are great and I look forward to seeing them every time I am there.

Over the past few years Jorge has been working at the hotel as the activity director along with Alexis. These two also do not seem to sleep much. They are there for day time and night time activities. I especially loved the dance lessons and the water aerobics during the day and the karaoke, jazz and rock bands at night. Last year they added a gym that is open at 7 a.m. every day. It is a very nice addition to the hotel. Both Jorge and Alexis interact with the guests amazingly. There is always something going on so I think that if you are bored, it is your fault!!

I must also give a huge thanks to Gabrielle (Gabby) in housekeeping. When I was there last year I forgot my pictures that were taken on the pirate boat that I paid a fair bit for. When I arrived I checked with the concierge to see if they were by chance in lost and found. Of course as I expected after that amount of time, they were not. A few days later while walking in the hallway, Gabby looked at me and said, “Photos”. I could not believe that she remembered who I was and kept them for me all that time until I returned. Once again, the service is unbelievable.

The location of this hotel is also great. It is very easy to walk to the Malecon (Boardwalk) in about 10 minutes and even into old town to do some shopping or just looking around. You can walk to the marina but that takes about 60 minutes so a bus or cab might be a better option. :)
.
The only complaint that I have, and it is quite minor, is the availability of change. I like to have smaller bills on hand so I can tip the staff. I found it easier to go to the bank and get change that way.

All in all, I would totally recommend this hotel. They also have a kids club which I do not use but the kids all seem to be having fun while the parents relaxed. This hotel is great for single people, couples and families. There is something for everyone!! I look forward to going back yet again!!

Room Tip: Check your room and don't be afraid to go back down if not acceptable. We were put in a room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sacrificiomayayaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenaventura G, Manager at Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear ¡¡¡¡Sacrificiomayayaki!!!! Hello there! I am happy to hear from you and read your comments, you can not imagine how motivating it is for us, thanks, and more thanks, this gives us strength to continue.

we are all eager for your return, and to hold you, care about you, that you just enjoy and sing, dance and take your favorite beverages.

love you and hope you come back soon.

Cesar,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,146
    849
    376
    104
    73
See reviews for
805
871
90
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort St. John, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We started out a little worried cause they put my sister and i in. Room that only had one King bed, they promised a change the next day. The next day they said the next day again, and I was thinking we were getting the the shuffle. So talking very sternly to our Westjet rep, our room was changed to the two double beds we had asked for and the oceanview, which we had paid for. Like any buffet they get old after four days. They did advertise two a la cartes, but there is only one. Staff are really great, all the waiters, especially Edwardo, and all the servers, especially Erick, really work hard to please you. Great location for shopping, and beach is okay too, except for the venders. We'd go again for sure.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenaventura G, Manager at Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Linda, I'm sorry that you had at first only one bed instead of two, thanks for sharing your experience with all of us, there are details that we have to solve every day like the type of bed you noticed at first, we are pleased that after the change of room you've enjoyed everything else, will tell both Eduardo and Erick, that you mentioned them, that will make them happy.

hope you come back soon.

Cordially yours,

Cesar Soto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had fun it was à great place. Great service with ceasar. Good music with Omar the dinner by the pool was great and very romantic.service on the beach with gorge was very nice. And at the buffet with gorge it was super . These people are So friendly .we will be back for sure thank you for all . we Will nevers forget you . See you next year René Bédard
Christine Gauthier

Room Tip: Room 1447 Nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank René B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenaventura G, Manager at Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Rene (renegade), how nice to hear from you, sorry I could not answer before, receives hugs from everyone and we are already waiting for you!

Our employees know that you've shared your experience with everyone and has given them pleasure.

Cesar Soto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We had a great time, but we were very ticked off that we got the high pressure sales pitch for preferred customer privileges . That put a damper on our trip that is quite unnecessary . Other than that we enjoyed our stay.We met a lot of Canadians .Rod ,Nadine,and Simon from Sask. here for the second time really filled us in on Mexican vacationing. We had a lot of fun playing water polo.The staff is excellent, food is great with sit down order from a menu restaurant to the smorgasbord buffet . The hotel is very clean . We will be back again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony over looking the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenaventura G, Manager at Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for choosing Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa for your recent stay in Puerto Vallarta.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, it motivates us to continue delivering the best services to our guests.

cordially,

Cesar Soto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Nice place, very family friendly. We ordered 4 boxed lunches. We had to pay before they would take the order. At check out they claim we only paid for three. Why did we get 4 if we only paid for three? Go fugure....Also they have a older concierge lady that was very rude. Ceasar the concierge was absolutely fabulous. Great guy. The chefs special dinner on Tuesday night was the best. This place is a nice place but could use some updating. The guys who worked in the Fruta Y flores restaurant went over and above to make us happy. Also the guys running around the pool to make sure everyone had what they needed or wanted were very good workers. Always had a smile. No time shares at this hotel.. which was great.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenaventura G, Manager at Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear John I, Thank you for choosing Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa for your recent stay in Puerto Vallarta.

thanks for the comments you make of our staff is motivating for all of us and drives us to be better every day, we hope you come back soon.

Cordially,
Cesar Soto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Lets start at the beginning. I read the reviews just as you are doing now. I read bad ones and good ones. The bad had to do with noise watered down alcohol bad service the food. So lets address these first. Noise was at a minimum except the concert one night which I must say was great. Yes you get the occasional loud people coming down the hall but its not the end of the world. Remember you are on vacation and so are the others there if they can cut loose and have fun you should too. If you really want peace and quiet maybe you should think about a secluded trip to a deserted island but then you wouldn't be able to complain about the food and service and alcohol. Next is watered down alcohol, The drinks are what they are and if you think it's watered down drink more you are sure to stay hydrated that way (see complainers there is a bright side to everything). Bad service? There was no bad service from walking through the door to leaving to go home the service was exceptional. Omar (the bass guitarist in the band that played)took our bags as we arrived before our room was ready and many hours before the stated check in time and he put them in locked storage. The front desk checked us in and we had full resort privileges immediately. We went to the beach and went for a swim (the hotel has a room set aside for changing if you arrive early or are departing later than check out).The food was great. We were there for 6 days and some things were available daily but there were new things to try daily. We chose to eat at the buffet as we wanted to eat at our leisure. Remember to tip these people that give you service they smile all day deal with grumpiness and continue to smile. Also please remember you are not the only people there and if it takes a few minutes to get you what you may have asked for they are doing it and doing it as fast as they possibly can.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenaventura G, Guest Relations Manager at Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Patrick H, Greetings from the beautiful Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa, I thank you for the time you took to share your experience at this hotel and I appreciate your comments that you do and it gives me great pride your perception of our service. We would like all our guests enjoy everything as you do it. We always work hard to be so, although we know that not everyone can satisfy 100%.

cordially yours,
Cesar Soto
Gerente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Just got home from my stay at the Buenaventura ... Must I say I was great...Went to Puerta Vallerta for the first time from April 12-16 and this hotel and location made it so much fun.. Service was above none and my wife and I wanted for nothing wen we were there.. We ate lunch ( a la carte ) everyday .. No reservation needed for lunch. Dinner was great a la carte as well.. Reservation required but had no issue making one. Both you will enjoy the a la carte location on the beach with a great view. I'm a healthy eater and the cooked my food without oil upon request w Pam . Basically had my order down by the second day. I'm not a big drinker so I didn't use that part of the plan. The only negative thing I must say is that when the house keeper cleans your room a separate person comes later to restock the fridge with drinks . That kinda bothered me but besides that it was perfect. Front desk was prompt and even let us check in and check out late . No complaints here ; my wife loved the couples massage as well.. 100 American dollars for 80 mins each, can't beat it!! Diff goin again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris63200009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenaventura G, Guest Relations Manager at Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Google Translation
Saludos Cordiales Chris63200009, Muchas gracias por compartir su experiencia con todos, nosotros apreciamos mucho sus palabras y le aseguro que haremos todo lo posible para mejorar,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.1 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#21 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,823 reviews
1.4 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#24 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
528 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#37 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#27 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,600 reviews
2.1 mi away
Krystal Puerto Vallarta
Krystal Puerto Vallarta
#61 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
1,506 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Co...
#30 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive

Property: Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Address: Avenida Mexico 1301, Puerto Vallarta 48350, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#34 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#38 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an unequalled all-inclusive resort experience at the best location in Puerto Vallarta. Beach, sunshine, tropical setting, vibrant spaces with color and joy, we provide everything you're looking for. A breath-taking place to relax and enjoy a fun-filled getaway. Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments invites you to enjoy its all-inclusive program with its excellent cuisine, as well as numerous activities suitable for the entire family. Our 234 rooms and suites include all of the comforts and amenities you'll require for an unforgettable stay, regardless of the purpose of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buenaventura Grand Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Grand Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing