We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Ranked #19 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I just spent a week at this hotel and I have to agree with a lot of the reviews I had read previous to booking my all inclusive mini vacation at the Hacienda. Most of the staff are friendly and helpful. But so are alot of Mexican people. I have been visiting various places in their beautiful country for 25 years and they have always been great hosts.
I have seen my share of world and have stayed in places ranging from 0 Star to 5 Star.
The Hacienda is in a decent location. Just a 5 minute walk to their beach club and very close to a super market. A 24 hour convenience store is also a short distance.
I really want to give the Hacienda a good review because the staff were so good, but I think they were over shadowed by the other realities of the hotel. It is and old resort and the staff do a great job with keeping it clean of course but the place is seriously lacking in simple comforts. My room was on the first floor, poolside. I would suggest asking for one anywhere BUT that location.
The Hacienda is small and only has one bar in operation currently. It is also poolside and can be obnoxiously loud until it closes a 1 am. The bar itself has only two types of beer, light and dark Tecate. The liquor is of very low quality. Everything is served in plastic cups. I found the seats and tables to be uncomfortable. The urinal in the bathroom was broken the whole week of my stay.
The pool itself is big enough but seems to have an inadequate filtration system.It is cleaned daily
but the water is murky. There are more than enough loungers.
My room was clean and basic with an old TV and a hard uncomfortable bed. There was an ample supply of soap and towels in the bathroom and plenty of hangers in the large closet.
The furniture on my balcony was wrought iron, small and again, uncomfortable. Air conditioner worked well The woman who cleaned my room daily, Maria, was very pleasant.
The main restaurant in the Hacienda is large enough and well presented. The buffet food was seriously lacking in variety over the course of my stay and was bland and always cold. With the exception of breakfast when I ate fresh, made to order omelets.
The Beach Club was an easy 5 minute walk away and offered snack and beverages until 6 pm.
There were definitely not enough beach loungers on busy sunny days. The usual vendors were many and always polite.
The Hacienda Resort and Spa has great bones but needs an upgrade. Simple things like comfortable furnishings and fixtures in the restaurant to keep the food hot. Maybe an expansion of their menu. More selection and higher quality spirits and liquor in the bar.
I still had a great mini vacation in Puerto Vallarta because the people I met and spent time with were great. Vallarta offers great restaurants, nightlife and outdoor activities. But having to leave my all inclusive resort to find tasty hot food and quality cold beer defeats the purpose.
The cost of my week for the Hacienda was not cheap. I don't feel like it was good value for the money. I have stayed in less expensive places in Mexico that were far superior. Trust me, I didn't expect 5 Star comforts from this property given it's age. They really need to try to get the little things right because all those details add up an unenjoyably experience.
Value is important and in my opinion and this resort does not offer it.
Great staff. Mediocre everything else.

Room Tip: I suggest staying away from poolside rooms. They are loud due to the close proximity to the late lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank joecanadaVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,004)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

709 - 715 of 2,004 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

The hotel facilities are rated 3 star and it probably is accurately rated. If you choose this hotel/resort because it's affordable, then don't expect it to be a five star. It's a bit old, a bit run down, a bit small, a bit distant from the beach, a bit limited on food selection and supply BUT this hotel has the most wonderful staff who will do whatever they can to make your stay enjoyable. We arrived late in the evening, and I have to admit that the room did not instil confidence. It felt like a motel room. But in the light of the day, the hotel was abuzz, everyone friendly and warm. The room did seem dingy even on our return later in the day, but you are there to enjoy the sun, poolside lounge chairs, and the beach club just down the street. The hotel is a short bus ride from town and a walk from a 24-hour WalMart. There is a great grocery store right next door.

If you want an affordable, cheerful and secure getaway to Puerto Vallarta, I'd heartily recommend this hotel. If you are looking for the services and amenities of a large resort, this isn't it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 22HappyTraveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I had our travel agent find us a hotel all inclusive, this hotel was what we wanted :) the staff was so helpful, we wanted to be away from all the touristy places and the staff were very helpful in giving directions etc. Our maid Maria was awesome, our room was always so clean, yes, the sheets were a bit worn but they were always clean :) on our 2nd day at the hotel we were at the buffet and there was a older man complaining about always having the same thing every day, we were there for 2 wks and I did not see the same food every day, the cooks made an awesome meal every day and the waiters were so helpful and courteous. If we go back to PV I know we will stay there again!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank dafine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We went here February 2013, having travelled extensively, and having been to Vallarta several times, I knew that this was not a resort but more of a hotel. Upon arriving The room they gave me was right near the buffet, if our curtains were open than people could see inside,( not my style). We asked for a different room, and we had to pay extra for a balcony, but at least it was private. The room was clean and quaint! The hotel seemed run down. Although it really grew on me as the week passed. There was one buffet restaurant, and the food was pretty good. Though it seemed like the same stuff a lot. They had A la Carte near lobby which we didn't try because we preferred to eat out elsewhere a couple of nights. There was a grill open 24 hours which I liked in case I got hungry in night or just needed a drink. The beach was a few blocks away with a shuttle service and an area for the hotel guests. There were many vendors always around. So not very quiet.They had washrooms there and a beach bar which had snacks. It was near the marina and shopping a block away. We ate out a few times down in the malecon, to get more variety. The best restaurant we went to was Café Olla in old Vallarta. We spent a fair amount of time in the pool area when we wanted to avoid the vendors which was relaxing. The staff at this hotel was great and very helpful if we needed anything. I enjoyed this place because it was so quaint. We had couples massage at the spa which was really relaxing and they gave us free exfoliation body scrubs the next day. We also went on some excursions, whale watching which was amazing in the Banderas Bay, and we did the Pirateship dinner which was fun. I recommend this hotel if you are looking to get out and see and do things other than lying on the beach all of your holiday. I rate it as a 3.5 star hotel!!

Room Tip: higher floors have more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saublebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Upon arriving, I thought this hotel a little old and rustic. However, they're very meticulous with the gardening and cleaning of the pool area. Meals are good. This property grows on you :) Room 121, which I was in was the best for location. Close to the pool and bar. The massage I had was very relaxing and a reasonable price. Although 2 miles away from down town, the walks there were refreshing. 2 blocks away from the beach but easy to get to. A big grocery store right around the corner. Sariano.

Room Tip: Room 121 :) In the sun most of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BethDengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I will start off by saying the manager there does her best but not much to work with the all inclusive option is a joke rooms are old linen worn and discolored phone in room didn't work I could go on and on this is not I repeat not a resort it is at best a motel no elevators etc I will say this is the first all inclusive we have ever been at where you had to ask at breakfast for a strip of bacon I kid you not thanks to air Canada vacations for moving us to another hotel this one was a resort not a super 8 and thanks to Laura the reception mgr and our waiter young Ivan who had the chef prepare a nice fish dinner for my wife these people made our short stay there bearable

Room Tip: after 3 attempts we didn't see any
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bradford C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

5min from the Airport, 15min from the city center. This place has great service, great food and very very confortable beds. I would recommend it to everybody I know. This place has so much charm, it makes the trip even better.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ffto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.1 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#26 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,616 reviews
3.3 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#25 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,797 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#10 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#9 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
759 reviews
1.2 mi away
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
#52 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
321 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#24 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive

Address: Boulevard Francisco Medina Ascencio | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48310, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#35 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £75 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the unique charm of a real Mexican Hacienda surronded by beautiful gardens, traditional decor and perfect facilities for an unforgetable vacation. Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm represents a poignant aspect of Mexican culture and tradition and is strategically located at the center of the Puerto Vallarta Hotel Zone. We are located just 10 min. from the International Airport , the Bus Station, Convention Center and Downtown area. We are the perfect choice whether you want to relax and enjoy our facilities and beach club or enjoy everything Puerto Vallarta has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Hacienda Puerto Vallarta
Hacienda Hotel And Spa
Hacienda Hotel Spa Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing