We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would never stay anywhere else in PVR!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Ranked #20 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Reviewed 18 February 2014

If you don't need 'high end' fixtures, and enjoy lots of character in traditional Mexican style decor, this is a perfect spot to be. We cannot speak high enough on the staff: very pleasant, inviting, accommodating, and constantly looking for ways to wait on you [always with a smile]. Don't think I ever saw anyone unpleasant, ever! If you enjoy visiting with other guest over lunch/diner/pool bar/beach bar/etc, this is the spot. Everyone friendly and have made new ongoing friends every time. Variety of ages from a handful of 20's, 30's, 40's and up [and a few with small children too]. Did not have the noisy, obnoxious 'spring breakers' - yippee. Rooms simple but very clean; room service even shapes towels into animals - was a beautiful surprise. Breakfast buffet had options from danishes, custom omelets, to local traditional options. Lunch gave light to heavy options, from salads, to hamburgers & fries, to local options. Supper again had many options - all meals had fresh fruit. If you wanted food outside meal time, the bar hut and beach hut always had more to offer too - no one ever goes hungry. And of course beverages always available. The only complaint we have, is that we didn't say long enough [and obviously not their fault]. We will be back [some couples we visited with have been coming every year for close to a decade]. KUDOS all the way around.

Room Tip: Didn't us fitness center or Spa, so cannot give high or low rating. Would recommend anyone havi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Krista_Bill_Cvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,003)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

692 - 698 of 2,003 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

This place grew on me! When we first arrived on Feb. 2nd it was dark and about 10 pm so we couldn't really see too much and it was deserted: But in the light of the morning everything looked much better. We got room 227 which was a Superior 2 level room and it had à wall safe! Some reviews say there are no room safes but there are in Superior rooms. You have to ask for thé lock mechanism at the front desk but they do have them. Our room overlooked the hammocks in the garden area and was a nice spot. It was cleaned very well each day which we were quite happy about. The beds are very HARD so be prepare to adjust, we asked for blankets to be placed under the sheets and that helped considerably and it was done right away after asking for it.

The place was an older crowd mostly, between 45-80 but that was just fine with our family because it made things nice and quiet and relaxed. There wasn't a bunch of 20 something's yelling and falling over drunk, been there done that and don't want to be around it anymore! We brought our girls, 12 and 17 and they enjoyed it just fine, there were a few kids there also. Very relaxed laid back atmosphere.

Food was average, nothing too great but always something to enjoy. I'm not a picky eater so I was just fine. Drinks were average, nothing special but I knew it wasn't a 5 star going in so enjoyed what they had. Small resort and that was another thing I liked, if you met someone you would see them later at dinner and be able to put a name to the face.

Staff were very helpful and courteous. The front desk girls were the only ones that could use a little class in customer service but they were not that bad. Our favorite waiter was Cuitlahuac Gonzales or otherwise known as "Quick". He was AWESOME!! HE had such a great attitude and just treated you as something special. He found out it was my birthday on the 8th so he got a special cake for me and some of the other staff sang to me, it was quite special since it was my 50th.

The entertainment person Carlo was good but his other partner Poncho was better! Poncho had à big smile everytime you saw him and he really tried to make a connection with you. They did a good job with what they have to work with.

People have said this place needs upgrading, which it does but then the price would go up also. So it's kind of a catch 22 in that respect.

We stayed 10 days at Hacienda and had à very nice relaxing enjoyable time. I would recommend this place if your looking to chill, if your looking for constant entertainment and constant pampering, this place is not for you! I would stay here again!!!

Ps they DO have Bacon in the mornings, you just have to ask for it....

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank smaoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This hotel is not on the ocean and we were going to change hotels because of this. Eladio explained everything to me, about the 2 min. shuttle trip to the Beach Club and told me to ask if there was anything he could do for us. Always a smile on his face, courteous and helpful. He made us change our minds about leaving and made out stay very enjoyable. The food isn't great, not allot of selection. BUT...I have never been to a hotel where there are so many friendly people! It's small so you get to know quite a few people. Great music by the pool during the day....80's hits etc. No head banging music which was great. We will be back thanks to Eladio and I will recommend this place to my friends. Thanks for great vacation!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Good place to stay. It is an older building - lots of character in traditional Mexican style, but some rooms have problems, such as leaking taps, loose balcony frames with gaps, etc. This is the only complaint we have, really, but then we are not too fussy and you get what you pay for. Besides, the service and the food compensated for whatever small problems we had with the room. We were pleasantly surprised by the variety of food in the buffet, and loved trying all the different dishes. Always fresh and tasty. We liked the fact that food is not wasted either - leftover dishes, especially meat ones, were often made into new ones for the next meal. Evening entertaining and activities during the day were really a bonus, as we came for the beach which is a 5 minute walk away (and there is a shuttle, too). Some nights were more fun than the others, especially the ones with musical and dance performances, and we liked that they ended early, usually around 10. The vibe is pretty chill, good mix of local folks and Canadians (haven't met any tourists there who weren't!). Finally, the staff were very friendly, polite, professional and made all the difference. Thank you for your hospitality!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Anastasia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

If you keep in mind that this hotel is a 2 star, you will be satisfied with the facilities. The room was clean. The bed was very hard, but when we commented on this at the front desk, they brought mattress toppers for us and that made all the difference. The staff are wonderful here and did their best to make our stay happy. The beach is a very short walk away and there are drinks and a limited choice of snacks. The vendors on the beach are constantly there and it is a bit difficult to relax without being bothered by them. The worst or best, depending on your point of view, part of our stay was that our room faced on to the pool area and the evening entertainment started at about 8:30 and finished between 10 and 10:30 each evening. It was usually loud. If you are into that then you will enjoy it! There is also music constantly during the day around the pool.

Room Tip: If you want lively entertainment in the evening ask for a room overlooking the pool. If you want qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LBSRichmond_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Hacienda from Jan. 22/14 to Feb. 5/14. We had requested a ground floor suite near the pool at the time of booking as my wife has had a knee replacement. When we arrived we were assigned room 267, all though this is only one flight of stairs it was also on the south side of the hotel. We were shocked when we opened the door, the furniture was old and in very poor state of repair. I returned to the reception desk and asked for a different room. We were told that was all they had and would try and move us the next day which they did do. Our next room was 102, which was ground floor near the pool, this room was much nicer and was updated in the past few years. There are no Bar fridges or safes in any of the rooms. They do offer a safety deposit box at the reception desk. We purchased a styrofoam cooler at the grocery store near by to keep can beer cold.

Food was of good quality and tasty for the most part, as with all All-inclusive it is repetitive.

There is only one bar on the resort itself. All liquor is domestic, no premium liquor is available unless you go to the store and purchase it. The beer is draft and of poor quality. They do have a beach bar, but the beach is 5 minutes away off the resort.

The beach area is relatively small, seats 36, no security is provided, beach vendors constantly harass you from morning to night.

The staff are very friendly and work hard to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Tips are appreciated! And I think you get better service! Our maid excellent!

On the weekends they sell off their vacant rooms to Mexican high school & University student groups, therefore a lot of partying goes on! Some people complained about the noise! But it didn't bother us.

Overall we had a nice relaxing stay! We went for the Sun, Weather and to relax! PV provided the weather and we enjoyed it!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Courteous, helpful, polite and professional staff, good selection of food. Liked the hot chocolate in the morning, spooned into neat earthenware mugs.
and a short walk will take you to the beach club, where tasty burgers and hotdogs can be had. Rooms was large, clean and colonial style with high ceitlings. Recommend tipping hard working staff generously. (in my opinion this hotel exceeds a 3* rating)

Room Tip: Avoid rooms very close to the pool bar, as it can get rowdy in the evening/night and you may have tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HonPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.1 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#26 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,616 reviews
3.3 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#25 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,798 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#10 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#9 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
759 reviews
1.2 mi away
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
#52 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
321 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#24 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive

Address: Boulevard Francisco Medina Ascencio | Zona Hotelera Norte, Puerto Vallarta 48310, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#35 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £76 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the unique charm of a real Mexican Hacienda surronded by beautiful gardens, traditional decor and perfect facilities for an unforgetable vacation. Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm represents a poignant aspect of Mexican culture and tradition and is strategically located at the center of the Puerto Vallarta Hotel Zone. We are located just 10 min. from the International Airport , the Bus Station, Convention Center and Downtown area. We are the perfect choice whether you want to relax and enjoy our facilities and beach club or enjoy everything Puerto Vallarta has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Hacienda Puerto Vallarta
Hacienda Hotel And Spa
Hacienda Hotel Spa Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing