We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Very quiet and laid back.”
Review of Brisas Del Mar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Vallarta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brisas Del Mar
Ranked #112 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Dallas
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location. Very quiet and laid back.”
Reviewed 6 July 2009

Rented an individually owned condo in the condo portion of Brisas Del Mar. Each condo has different amenities and ours had been completely renovated. We had access to the pool deck and terrace of the hotel which has an incredible view of the bay and the city.

The condos and hotel are several flights of stairs to the beach and shops and restaurants. This was not too difficult and there are landings to break up the climb up and down.

The hotel definately looks like a no frills place when you drive up for the first time. If you are looking for five star luxury, than this might not be for you.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank JeffDal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    7
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
2
6
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2009

This was one of the only properties available for New Year's that I could find near the zona romantica/old town and playa de los muertos, which has a very gay friendly environment. The Mexican locals were accepting and welcoming; the straight tourists tended to understand they were in a gay-friendly zone. I stayed for 5 nights. Although Brisas Del Mar cost twice the price of a regular night's stay due to the holiday, it was reasonable for what it offered--a pool, patio, incomparable views of the ocean, a working kitchen and the location. A full breakfast buffet was available for purchase at 60 pesos, about $5, made by an very friendly woman. The room was clean, but needed some refurbishing (especially the bathroom) but it was OK. The comments others made about the stairs are true--there are a bunch in order to get to the beach, but it wasn't a problem for me, and the view from the hotel was worth the climb.

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — bathroom needs makeover
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gilead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oaxaca, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2008

This hotel and condos are on a steep hill above one of the best beaches in Puerto Vallarta. If you are an every day beach person and do not mind climbing a lot of steps, this is an okay place. The building is very dated and needs repair but the rooms are clean and staff friendly. Do not pay more than $50 a night for the value.
But, beware, if you go out of season particularly after the rainy season, the building and outdoor areas are covered in dark mold and the roof bar and pool area are not open.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank springstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Vallarta hotels

Texas
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2008

Brisas del Mar is a small, personal hotel perched on a hill overlooking the bay. It is just a 1/2 block off one of the nicest parts of Playa Los Muertes near some of the best beach restaurants (La Palapa, El Dorado). You are very close to Olas Altas a main drag in the Zona Romantica. I think it is a good value and location for PV. That's how I judge a hotel. It doesn't make sense to me for reviewers to rate a 3-star versus a 5-star standard.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The pool deck is sunny and enormous. There is a family-run restaurant in operation on the deck. They serve a simple, filling brunch buffet for 60 pesos. They also serve cocktails including Margaritas. Many condo owners and long-term guests who live in the building hang out here and they are very nice to short-term guests.

Our room was cheery, clean and fine. We had a wonderful view of the Bay from the kitchen window and our own balcony. The furnishings were simple, rustic Mexican furniture. The kitchenette was clean and sported colorful wall tile. The bed was very hard which is typical for this type of hotel in Mexico. We were fine with a very firm bed, but others might not be. The back of the hotel is just off of the main highway which is also how the taxi will bring you (tell the taxi "Hacia Arriba" so he knows the reception lobby is on the upward, high side). There is one building behind Brisas del Mar shielding the noise from the highway. We did not find noise a concern. At night, there is very little traffic.

If you want to walk to the beach or the rest of Zona Romantica, you will need to walk down a series of stairs and cobblestone ramps. Some would consider this part of its charm. The hotel is on a ridge above the beach and the Zona Romantica. This is why the hotel has great views of the Bay and City. Taxis can take down those with physical limitations for about $3, The South end of Playa Los Muertes and the Zona Romantica have a concentrated alternative community. If this bothers some, they should stay further North, but this would be there loss. I would not stay anywhere else in PV.

  • Liked — The view
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcoPolo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2007

Brisas is a small very relaxed, clean and reasonably priced hotel with very friendly and helpful management and some permanant residents. It is perched over the Los Muertos Beach area of Puerto Vallarta. Rooms beginning with 2, 3 and 4 have terrific water views. All rooms have kitchens and decks. Rooms begining with 1 are on the pool deck level, have no water view and tend to have foot traffic in front of the poolside windows. Things to know about before booking...it's an old hotel with some drawbacks and problems. My friends were in room 104 and had toilet runnover from the room above running down their ceiling for 2 days. The rooms that end with the number 4 and above have bedrooms that are close (about 200ft) to a major road with truck and bus traffic . The external walkway lights are very bright at night and light up the bedrooms. (Ask for an extra blanket to fashion your own light-blocking curtains).The hotel is on a very steep hill and currently the only way to shops and the beach is a very long staircase (about the equivalent of 6-7 stories) ..but a rudimentary elevator system is being installed.

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Very steep, long walk to shops and beach
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank columbuscirclenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2007

I booked this hotel on line and having never seen or heard of it before. I can honestly say, I was most pleasantly surprised at the wonderful experience I had. The property is spotless, the staff are amazing and make you feel welcome, 24/7...always greeting you with a smile and Hola! The Manager is a wonderful guy who obviously knows what he's doing and understands customer service. Ceiling fans, airconditioning, refrigerator and stove, small appliances (blender, coffee maker) it was truly a home away from home. Its location is close and convenient to downtown and the beach (minutes walk) and the view is unbelievable. Totally unobstructed view of Banderas Bay. I am definitely going back to this property.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank VancouverTodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2006

This hotel has been much improved over the last year. New management with a flair. The suites on the top two floors are renovated with the managers planning on more bathroom renos soon. The second floor is well under way. The pool deck has lots more furniture and plantings. There is an elevator planned for easier access from the beach. We loved our month there in one of the top floor suites. WE have already booked for long term next year. The restaurant was open this year for breakfast and a happy hour in the evenings A good place to unwind this past winter.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CarolE923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercurio
Hotel Mercurio
#56 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
454 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
#28 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropicana Hotel
Tropicana Hotel
#58 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#63 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Yazmin
Hotel Yazmin
#64 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
91 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plazamar
Plazamar
#71 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisas Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisas Del Mar

Property: Brisas Del Mar
Address: Privada Abedul 10 | Colonia Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48399, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#56 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Brisas Del Mar Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Brisas Del Mar Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing