We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One week during X-Mas 2012”
Review of San Marino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Marino Hotel
Ranked #97 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We were referred by friends and had read trip advisor about the poor reviews. We also knew that food was average but we intended going out for dinner every night anyway. Breakfast and lunch were OK as we like Mexican food and it was for one week!

We chose the Hotel for its location: it is very well located.

We had a junior suite which had an excellent view on the beach and on the new pier. Our room made was excellent and it was clean.

We went to the SPA which we rate 5/5! Quite an interesting Zen experience.

Reception personnel, we rate 2/5: they have a vague idea of customer service. By the way, at Christmas evening we had to take the stairs up to the 8th floor: it is called "natural Stairmaster exercise"! We found that experience unacceptable...

The pool area needed a deep scrubbing that lacked for our entire duration.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSMmanager, E-CONCIERGE at San Marino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013
Google Translation

Estimado Dan:

De parte del Staff de San Marino, queremos agradecerle los comentarios que nos ha hecho llegar, los cuales los estaremos tomando en cuenta, para poder ofrecerle un mejor servicio, de igual manera darle las gracias por su preferencia, que su experiencia vivida haya sido extraordinaria.
Los esperamos de regreso con los brazos abiertos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (753)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 753 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2013

This is going to be our 8th year in a row going to Puerto Vallarta and staying at the San Marino Hotel. I would not even think of staying at another hotel. The staff is what makes this place top notch!!! They will do anything for you!! The service is like a 5 star resort. They are warm friendly and cheerful all the time and can't do enough for you. It starts with Luis and Angel and the front desk. Fantastic people, they try to accommodate your every request in a timely fashion. The rooms are clean, older but still nice. Sheets and towels are white and clean every day. Beds are hard but it is Mexico and for some reason you have wonderful sleeps!!! Then there is the staff in the dining and bar areas. Wow, starting with Santos, now this is one special human being. Such a caring warm man. The servers and bartenders, Emmanuel, Alex, Felic, Octavio, Jorge, Diego, and others go beyond what is required to make you feel at home. They are funny, wonderful, helpful guys. It is the staff that make the San Marino the place that it is. The location is great, the food gets better every year, the rooms are clean, but it is the staff that keep us coming back, they are 5 star staff, love them all!!!! Can hardly wait for February to go back!!!!

Room Tip: we like the rooms facing the coffee shop Dee's love to watch the hustle and bustle in the evenin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fatangel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSMmanager, E-CONCIERGE at San Marino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

On behalf of the Staff of San Marino, we thank the comments have sent us, which we will be taking into account, in order to better serve you, likewise thank you for choosing us, that your experience has been extraordinary .

See you back with open arms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

As the main rule of the real estate says: Location, Location, Location. You can apply this rule to travelling too. We just came from a one week All Inclusive vacation in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico and this was the first time when we spent our All Inclusive vacation in a place where you can walk to everything. Yes, we were sorry that we bought all inclusive and not just flight and hotel because in this way we could've enjoyed the tens or even hundreds (not exagerating) of restaurants which are in the hotel area. The hotel itself is an OK one but for the price which we paid it was more than OK. Price versus quality (what you get for your buck) I can give it a 9 out of 10. The rooms are dated but CLEAN so no complains there. The staff is friendly and again a mark of 9 out of 10 and I will extend my good wishes to them for the good work they do. The grounds are decent and the swimming pools kept clean - I haven't touched the water in the swimming pool because I was at the ocean but I looked at the pools and they were clean. The beach in front of the hotel is good but become very crowded during the weekend when all the locals come to enjoy the sun and tthe water. The ocean water in front of the hotel is not what I expected 5 out of 10 (but this is not the fault of anybody - just of mother nature); there are fishing boats moored there and that give you the filling that you are in a fishing port and also the pier legs (the new pier itself is a wander especially at night with all the colours) give you the feeling of swimming under a bridge - not a good feel. But I do have a suggestion: for swimming you can walk two minutes on the beach toward the blue chair beach and have a swimm there the place is fantastic for playing in the water. The food at the hotel is good (7.5 out of 10) but a little bit limited not a huge selection but you get what you paid for. The food is mostly mexican type which we love so was by our liking (we considered that it was good). Drinks were not different then any other from our other All Inclusive trips with the remark that the dark beer was excellent. They serve beer from bottles not draft beer which makes a huge difference in quality and taste of the beer. With the location just be prepared because the hotel it is located in the Zona Romantica and if you are not an open mind person than this is not your place to be so better stay home and leave the others to enjoy it (you can google the area and decide after you read the comments there). Do I go back to San Marino? Definitely yes, but not as All Inclusive because I want to taste all those foods which are served in the restaurants around the hotel. If you like exploring then this is the right place for extremely long walks on the cobled streets of the Zona Romantica or the Malecon area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Travelerspain75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSMmanager, E-CONCIERGE at San Marino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013
Google Translation

Hola,

Deseo que haya tenido un Excelente Inicio de Año.


De parte del Staff de San Marino, queremos agradecerle los comentarios que nos ha hecho llegar, los cuales los estaremos tomando en cuenta, para poder ofrecerle un mejor servicio, de igual manera darle las gracias por su preferencia, que su experiencia vivida haya sido extraordinaria.
Los esperamos de regreso con los brazos abiertos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

I will assume if you have read my previous reviews of the San Marino, you will already know that I am a big fan! For those who haven't let me tell you why! The staff ...well they are 5 star people, from Luis at the front desk and Angel that greets us with a big smile as we come and go each day, they make us feel more than welcome everytime we have stayed here. I know the food was a let down for many years, pretty bad, BUT, now they have Jorge From Spain, a young and inspired new chef...the food has greatly improved, yummy Chile relleno's, stuffed chicken breast, rice pilafs, seafood dishes...fish , done many ways ..delicious! Still some of the old standby's, but hey it"s Mexico, gotta have those mystery pork pieces for the locals, over all the food is greatly improved. Thank You Jorge!! The wait staff, Diego, Emmanuel, Alex, Felix, Octavio, plus many more, kitchen staff, Santos, Eva...awesome ..10 years weve been staying at the San Marino, looking forward to 10 more...Thanks to all the staff once again, we luv you amigos!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pngvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSMmanager, E-CONCIERGE at San Marino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Hi,

Thank you for enjoying your days in our hotel, hope that we have you soon with us.

Happy New Year !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We have stayed there twice and we love it. Rooms are clean and spacious. We always try to book room 603 or 428. Both have a balcony with a view of Los Muertos beach and the Bay of Banderas. 603 is a suite and more expensive, but 428 has the same balcony and view. Believe it or not, the food with the all inclusive is really good. And it inlcuded our screw driver by the pool every morning. Bar opens at 11AM. I had a massage, Jim had a manicure at the spa. This hotel is not fancy, but for the money, it's one of the best deals in town.

Room Tip: Tell Jorge that Patricia sent you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatriciaDelila304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSMmanager, E-CONCIERGE at San Marino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2012

Dear Patricia

On behalf of the Staff of San Marino, we thank the comments has sent us, which we will be taking into account, in order to better serve you, likewise thank you for choosing us, that his experience has been extraordinary .
See you back with open arms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

The hotel is old but clean, rooms are large, bathrooms quite basic, mattress hard as rock... Food is real mexican, I loved it (quite spicey at times though); very limited menu, but they have meat, veggies, rice plus desert, and allways a good soup and salad.
Location is great, right in the middle of everything, lots of restaurants (never seen in my life such a high density of bars, restaurants as there is in the next proximity to this hotel). We enjoyed walking down the streets, there is so much to see. Close to the boardwalk too. Loved the location.
I'd recomend it for singles, couples going to have fun.
Oh: I almost forgot: the marina in front of the hotel looks gorgeous, and its almost done, so forget about the noise because of the construction.

Room Tip: probably on the ocean side would be less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanaTrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSMmanager, E-CONCIERGE at San Marino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2012
Google Translation

Estimado DanaTrs

De parte del Staff de San Marino, queremos agradecerle los comentarios que nos ha hecho llegar, los cuales los estaremos tomando en cuenta, para poder ofrecerle un mejor servicio, de igual manera darle las gracias por su preferencia, que su experiencia vivida haya sido extraordinaria.
Los esperamos de regreso con los brazos abiertos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

From the minute I arrived, I was greeted with a big smile and "Hola" from Luis at the front desk. I'm a regular I guess; 10 consecutive years. I find this hotel/resort to be friendly and like family, The staff genuinely want me to have a good time and will help me in any way they can. The Hotel is located on a beautiful stretch of beach and close to the pier, You are litterally in the middle of "old town", cobblestone streets and stucco buildings, no wonder they call this the "romantic zone"; shops and restaurants on every street. Everything is within an enjoyable walking distance,
The San Marino is a wonderful Hotel, the rooms are spacious, clean and many have beautiful views of the Ocean (book a Junior Suite). or the hillside/ocean (book an upper level Superior Suite).
I always enjoy my self at the San Marino in Puerto Vallarta, and will continue to make it a yearly excursion where my Mexican family and good time await.

Room Tip: Junior Suite are front facing the Ocean. They are the best suites in the hotel. Some Junior suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig_Hagerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSMmanager, E-CONCIERGE at San Marino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2012
Google Translation

Estimado Craig

De parte del Staff de San Marino, queremos agradecerle los comentarios que nos ha hecho llegar, los cuales los estaremos tomando en cuenta, para poder ofrecerle un mejor servicio, de igual manera darle las gracias por su preferencia, que su experiencia vivida haya sido extraordinaria.
Los esperamos de regreso con los brazos abiertos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Tropicana Hotel
Tropicana Hotel
#58 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
710 reviews
2.0 mi away
Costa Club Punta Arena
Costa Club Punta Arena
#72 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
525 reviews
4.5 mi away
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina
#54 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Park Royal Puerto Vallarta
Park Royal Puerto Vallarta
#75 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
946 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#20 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,955 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#25 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Marino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Marino Hotel

Address: Rodolfo Gomez 111 | Col. Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#54 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £71 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — San Marino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Puerto Vallarta, one of the most beautiful and romantic cities on the Pacific Coast of Mexico. The hotel is nestled on the beautiful beach of Playa los Muertos, with a wonderful atmosphere and tradition surrounded by hand craft shops, discotheques, and just a short walk from town. San Marino Hotel features 165 light and airy guestrooms including 25 spacious Junior Suites with all the amenities you need to relax and enjoy in a peaceful ambience.Come to San Marino Hotel where you will be greeted by our friendly staff and enjoy sunshine days and a vacation experience to treasure forever! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your San Marino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Marino Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing