We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right in the heart of the city” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Marino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Marino Hotel
Ranked #80 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Right in the heart of the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

I have been coming to this property for several years and just love it.
It so happens that I remember guests from year to year which is just like coming home for the holidays.
The location of this property is the best if you want night life, and great restaurants. All sorts of bars are just out the back door, from great gay bars with pounding music and hot men, to little tavernas where you can go and have a relaxing time, to straight bars dotting the main strip.
My suggestion when booking is to pay more for a junior suite. The rooms are much larger, facing the water and pretty renovated with a great view of the pier. If you cannot book prior to going, call the hotel and pay the difference when you get there ... you won't regret it.rt.
The food is pretty good, and so are the drinks. My only problem is on weekends ... there seems to be a hotel full of locals, and with all their family members headed down for breakfast can be very loud and hard to get a table. I have nothing against locals, but they seem to be a bit more aggresive, and with their children running around makes it hard to have a conversation, or just relax.
The 2 pools are pretty nice, One for kids, and the other for adults.
The water .... to cold and dirty for me, but people watching at blue chairs is a must. The smell of tanning oil and attitude fills the sea air ... skimpy bathng suite, muscle maries, and twinks dot the scean.
Evenings can be filled with shows at the Blue Chairs, or checking out strippers at WET, bathhouse action at Adonis, and cocktails at la Maniana (probably misspelt) and dancing just around the corner at Paco, or the bar across the street. Finish everything off with tacos at 3AM at a taco stand.
My final suggestion ... BEWARE OF TAXI S (we had our luggage stolen) ... always make sure you see them put the luggage in the trunk and close the door before you get in. The taxi station is not the safest place to leave your luggage or bag, so always keep your eyes on them AND DON'T LET THEM TOUCH YOUR STUFF!!! . Take a taxi instead of the shuttle bus since you can check in sooner and get settled.

Room Tip: Get a junior suite ... more expensive, but totally worth it Ocean view, and pier view is beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank manis4u2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    216
    200
    115
    73
See reviews for
176
231
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

i stay on this hotel on 2012 for one week it was a good experience the service was good the food is ok the good thing is that you also get the drinks included but they need to have more variation on the drinks but other than that they were good the pools get to over crowded they should just have 2 for the kids because the kids would go in all the pools so you cant really relax. The rooms were good my room had an excellent view i had view to the beach and to the mountain also i had a store and and pharmacy right in front

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AGH92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

This has to be the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. The food was atrocious, and the rooms were terrible. The shower and sink areas were dilapidated and needed to be updated and thoroughly cleaned. I liked the parrot, and they do have a very nice pool area and a good area to sunbathe, but that is all. The bartender wasn't very friendly at all. The beach area behind the hotel is a public area. It is crowded with too much garbage lying around.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

The Hotel has a excelent location, in the heart of Old Vallarta, wonderful sea views, clearn rooms, perhaps, too popular, I mean full of numerous families, sometimes crowed, specially at weekends, In its restaurants the waiters do what they can to attend so many people.

Room Tip: Best of all, beside the price, is that it is close to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjuarezq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

I stayed at the San marino as a single traveler from May 04 to May 11. This is the second time i have stayed here, the first time was 2 years ago.
The first thing I will say is that the food has Improved from the last time, it was still a very basic menu with not alot of flare. This may have to do with going during a slower season for the foreign travelers. I ate all that I needed and it suited the purpose just fine.
The Bar selection was very limited, but the service made up for that. I also went to the OXXO store right across the street and purchsed a cooler, ice, and some beer for my room, so I was set for the week.
The pools were good, there is not any shade around the Adult pool at the front of the Hotel after about noon, so if you plan on staying at that pool, bring lots of sunscreen. The water was just warm enough to be nice, but still refreshing.
The Beach area is Great. There was lots of shaded loungers on the beach where the action was, and there is also a sandy area on the hotel side of the walk way that has a few shaded areas and you do not get bothered by the beach vendors, but you still have a good view of the action.
The rooms are very basic, but have all the amenities that you need to sleep, shower, and store your belongings safely. I did rent a safe in the room just for my ID and stuff. The maids keep the rooms very clean. I upgraded to a Superior room, that got me a Great view of the street activity and the beautiful hill side, that looked wonderful at night with all the lights, it also had a limited view of rhe ocean. You will need to upgrade to a Junior suite to get a good ocean view, you can also go with the standard room, but they have very little privacy being as your window and entrance to your room faces the walk way that everyone walks past. (Upgrade)
The staff are amazing, they really do make an effort to please you, very friendly and most speak english as well.
The Hotel does fill up on the weekends with Mexican tourists, but they made it fun, what a crazy bunch. haha
The location of the San Marino is the best part, anything you need is right out the door, resturants, nightlife, shopping, and romantic walks on the walkway out to the new pier RIGHT in front of the hotel that is lit up at night so nice. While on the pier, you can look back at the beach front down the entire stretch, and see all the flickering lights and tiki torches of the beach front resturants, it was Great.
The San marino is considered a 2 - 2.5 star hotel, so remember that when booking. Very limited activity during the day, and everything (resturants/bar) are closed by 10:00 pm. Most people go out for the evenings anyway beceause there is so much to do all within a couple of blocks of the hotel.
The streets are Very safe, patrolled by alot of Tourist Police and local police as well. Just follow your normal safety rules as you would at home.
I will reutrn to the San marino.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Superior or Junior Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beachcrazy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandpoint, id
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed with a few girlfriends, the beds were so hard you could hardly sleep. Safe in the room was not great and the reception clerk never said that you had to keep your receipt to get your deposit back. $10 is $10, and giving the key back wasn't good enough for deposit return. Not cool. So I figured that I would just keep the key so after about 20 minutes of hassle and searching for a receipt that had been thrown out he finally gave the deposit back. Food was horrible. Pool was not nice. The only thing good about the San Marino hotel is the location. Stay at Los arcos, or anywhere else. Thanks. The girls from Idaho.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jilipepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciudad Juarez, Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Three other friends and I traveled to PV on June 2012, stayed there for three days and we were satisfied with the service we received. Staff was nice, our rooms were clean, beds comfortable enough, food was ok, we had open bar for the three days and all around there are restaurants, convenience stores, pharmacy... As for location we found it just fine, 10 min or so away from the pier.
All in all it was a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesdeuux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Tropicana Hotel
Tropicana Hotel
#59 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.0 mi away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#57 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#29 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
#23 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eloisa Hotel
Eloisa Hotel
#107 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#21 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Marino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Marino Hotel

Property: San Marino Hotel
Address: Rodolfo Gomez 111 | Col. Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — San Marino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Puerto Vallarta, one of the most beautiful and romantic cities on the Pacific Coast of Mexico. The hotel is nestled on the beautiful beach of Playa los Muertos, with a wonderful atmosphere and tradition surrounded by hand craft shops, discotheques, and just a short walk from town. San Marino Hotel features 165 light and airy guestrooms including 25 spacious Junior Suites with all the amenities you need to relax and enjoy in a peaceful ambience.Come to San Marino Hotel where you will be greeted by our friendly staff and enjoy sunshine days and a vacation experience to treasure forever! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your San Marino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Marino Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing