We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Spa is wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #26 of 122 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We did not stay at this hotel, however we had two wonderful massages at the spa. Vickie the manager is really helpful and the service was remarkable. We both had the deep tissue massage, and it was great. The masseuses that worked on me was great at kneading out the knots and getting the circulation working. The peacefulness, quiet music, and no talking was a wonderful experience. The price compared to other places was by far the best value. The warm heating pad on the back about halfway thru is divine, no other words to describe it. The nice tea at the end is a nice touch too. There was no pushiness to get out, you could just relax. Probably the best experience of our vacation.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,888)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,271 - 1,277 of 2,888 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

I been coming to this hotel for the past 20 years, they have done alot of beautiful changes.
They added a spa and decorations,...very classy.
The food and service was excellent.
I will go back anytime ...the best margaritas and pina coladas :)

Mexico at its best !!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We have been traveling to PV for 15 years. This year we stayed at 3 different places. First time staying at los arcos. We loved it. Small quaint room, but we spent most of our time at pool, beach, walking around old town. The waiter Mario Alberto Santana is the best. He went above and beyond to help us with everything. Very friendly young man. A great asset to the property. We look forward to seeing him again soon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mimih20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Looking at the pictures, we thought we found a gem. This gem has hallways almost too narrow to roll a suitcase. No elevators. Rooms are tiny and the king bed was a double. Wifi didn't work. Windows didn't open. Pool looked cloudy. We left before staying.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joodycaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Lucia was ver helpful with our booking for February..2014. Price was excellent. In this reservation Lucia provided us with professionalism and assured we received good prices.. We stayed in October 2013, and have been staying since 1999. Service always exceeds our expectations. If your looking for a nice relaxing time this hotel is closed walking distance to all the locations. Rooms are clean staff assist you.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rafaelgto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed at Playa Los Archos in old town 15-dec-2013 to 23-dec-2013 in Room 340. Room was a nice ocean facing front corner unit facing away from the courtyard with doorwalls on front and street side of room. Loved the ocean waves and no A/C noise. Room was decorated nice, but basic. Maid service was very good, although unpredictable(sometimes 9am, other days 2pm)

Booked thru orbitz and got a great price $78 usd/night with a flight from chicago. Met friends traveling from SFO and because one was a senior decided to upgrade to the 'all inclusive' for extra $25usd/day-pp. Unfortunately Orbitz couldn't process a booking of 3 people, so we had to add the 2 extra people by arranging directly thru the hotel. The cost pp was then $45usd/day, $5 off the standard price of $50.

The dollar doesn't go far these days in mx. we got 12 pesos/dollar and most menu items started at 80p. So overall $45 was a good deal. Our lunch of lobster & prawns at an off-premise restaurant was over $1000p. Typical cocktails started at 100p. A drink in a coconut at yallapa was $150p

We also booked a standard room and upgraded at checkin to oceanview for +$20usd/day. Glad we did.

The hotel itself was built in the 70s and is a bit worn. But they were making improvements to dining room and lobby when we arrived. It's a courtyard hotel with the rooms arranged in a U shape around the pool complex. The place is mainly frequented by budget family travelers. Maybe 1/3 mexicanos, 1/3 american, 1/3 europeans. So the pool was always filled with kids having fun but making noise. It has a nice beach, on the boardwalk, and very close to the pier so lots of activity - parasail, boats, fishing, trinket sellers, and the ubiquitous 'Adventure' salesguys.

The restaurant has as busy menu business and has 3 theme nights a week with live entertainment (duo). For the all inclusive folks there's a main buffet of mexican flavored american dishes. Chicken, Pork, Fish, and a grill buffet with burgers, dogs and french frys. The buffet was a lot like college/camp/ship food. But it's all you want! The drinks were free, but not top shelf. Keg beer (light -ie color or dark), and lots of frozen pina coladas, and margaritas.

The wait staff was excellent. I think they pay a bit better because the all inclusive includes tips.
it was nice not having to worry about the bill for each meal. We did tip our restaurant team at the end but it was not expected.

TV and internet were problems. TV fuzzy and few channels. Internet - problems with the login process made it unavailable. Front desk resolved after an hr with a reboot to proxy server, but it reoccured during the week. connections were very poor on the ipads, chromebook worked great. Performance was fine once connected.

overall it was a comfortable place to stay. We might stay there again if the opportunity arises.

Room Tip: most rooms open to the courtyard with the pool noise. Get a streetside room if it's going to bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank littldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I was in room 144 for 9 nights. I had an amazing view and suite, Rosa in housekeeping was a sweetheart and took great care of the suite. The room was clean and I appreciate the traditional Mexican decor. The service was great. I had left my cellphone in the lobby and I immediately got a call in my room asking if it was mine. Thank u Eva, Darinka and Edgar Very honest staff, Magda gomez the concierge was wonderful and was a huge part of why I will return. The location can't be beat, you step out of the hotel into amazing restaurants and Mexican culture.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#22 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
608 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#25 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
834 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#19 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#12 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
810 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
#32 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
323 reviews
2.1 mi away
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
#36 of 122 in Puerto Vallarta
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Olas Altas 380 | Col. Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#32 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £56 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa is a splendid colonial Boutique Style Hotel that invites you to enjoy the vacatioon of your dreams.The quality of its facilities, hospitality and tradition of excellence in service will make your stay a trully pleasurable experience. Located in front of the best beach of Vallarta "Playa del Sol" in the heart of the exciting Romantic Zone, is one of the best tourist areas of Vallarta. Here you can find all types of residences, prestigios restaurants, cafes, boutiques, galleries and the best nightlife. Only a few steps from the new Malecon, the Cathedral and the New Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Puerto Vallarta
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort And Spa
Playa Los Arcos Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing