We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place on the beach and in old town and easy walk to bars and restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #28 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place on the beach and in old town and easy walk to bars and restaurants”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Very clean and quiet nice location firm mattresses friendly staff. May was a little too hot . I think March or April would be a better time.Location is within walking distance to bars and restaurants and the Malecon or boardwalk and riverwalk and is on the beach. They will probably try to put you in a room facing into the courtyard so make sure that you get a room with a view.The food is good and fresh but fequently overcooked and gets tiresome when you eat it 3 times a day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcus m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,065
    776
    353
    158
    121
See reviews for
768
826
127
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a great place to stay in a great location in walking distance to everything in Zona Romatica. My wife and I really enjoyed staying here. The staff is very friendly and the location is great: right on the beach and walking distance to everything. This is not a fancy new resort that feels like it was transported directly from the US, but if you want to stay at a nice place, with people from Mexico, the US, etc., that is close to restaurants, bars, and shops, this is as good as I've found. While all the front desk speaks English, as do most who work in the nearby restaurants, it nevertheless has a Mexican feel and you don't have to walk far to practice your Spanish.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenosha, WI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at Playa Los Arcos from February 28 - March 8, 2014. Let me start by saying that this is the 4th time we have stayed at this hotel. We began traveling to Puerto Vallarta back in late 80's, and my boyfriend at the time who is now my husband wanted to stay somewhere with a real flavor of Mexico, He told me when researching hotels (I worked in travel at the time) that we could stay at a high rise hotel anywhere, but here we need to find something that makes us feel like we are in Mexico. I found this hotel out of a giant hotel book in our office, and decided it represented everything we were looking for - quaint boutique style hotel, very comfortable surroundings and right on the beach. This hotel is in the absolutely perfect location - everything you could want is within walking distance, or a fairly short cab ride away. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and for the most part have a pretty decent view at a very reasonable cost. We've done both the all inclusive stay here as well as the european plan and for us, we prefer the european plan. The cost for the all inclusive is quite good, and you are fed quite plentifully and the food is really very good, however I like to go out and explore new places to eat each evening, and doing all inclusive you really can't do that. I would whole heartedly recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Puerto Vallarta. It has everything you could want at a very reasonable cost and the beach is right outside the hotel to enjoy, not to mention there is a beautiful pool which is so relaxing that if the beach isn't your thing you still have a wonderful place to swim. There is an adults only pool and hot tub as well which you can enjoy while having a cocktail and looking out at the beach and the ocean. The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful with whatever you need. Please give this hotel a try, I know you won't be disappointed and like my husband, my daughter ( she has stayed here with us twice now) and I you will look to come back here every time you travel to Puerto Vallarta.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room overlooking the pool or oean, They may be a little more expensive, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erinzma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel after doing quite a bit of research on the area. From what we found a lot of people were staying in the Hotel Zone but taking frequent cabs to the Romantic zone because of all the options for food, nightlife and shopping options. Everything is walkable from this hotel there was not really any place we wanted to go that it took ore than 15 minutes to walk to (once you figured out the seemingly unmarked streets) That was great!

A secondary reason for picking the hotel was it was authentic Mexican. Not an "Americanized" hotel. We always prefer to stay places more authentic if possible to get a better cultural experience. The rooms were older but charming, had a nice view and were clean. But if your looking for a luxury experience this is not for you. Not really a romantic experience either but it was great for our expectations.
We bought the all inclusive option thinking we could get breakfast and lunch most days and save our money for some of the amazing restaurants in the area. It was somewhere around $200 additional dollars for the option. The food I am sad to say was awful and for the most part intolerable. I know that sounds harsh and snobby but i can convince myself that almost anything is pretty good. The omelette station was a savior as beside the baked goods it was really the only thing that had a flavor you didn't question. The wait staff was 50/50 as far as attentive and helpful different days we had different experience and it had nothing to do with Tipping. It seemed the all inclusive wrist band was a service deterrent. In the evening we asked for a glass of red wine at the bar, it was served out of a plastic jug on the rail. Not sure what kind, just red and an instant turn off. When we asked if we could buy a glass the bartender went and found a new empty bottle and started to pour another mystery glass without asking. We stopped him and pointed to a bottle on the shelf (a $15 bottle in the US) he laughed and said you'd have to by the whole bottle for 1000 pes. ($77 US). It was apparent that we were bothering them with our request for a glass of wine that we wanted to pay for, just not something that should happen in a hospitality service.

The pool at the hotel seemed ok but was jam packed everyday, mostly with children and families having fun. We opted for the beach right in back of the hotel. They give you towel keys with your room and you can get chairs and umbrellas with that, which was good. The vendors in that area started to resemble zombies constantly walking the beach and asking you to buy endless amounts of junk. Nice to be on the beach but you cant relax. I had one wake me up and ask if i wanted a temporary Tattoo. Another told us if we want to relax go back in the hotel room and watch TV.

If your looking for tours the cheapest thing to do without going to a time share presentation is to talk to Pedro of Pedro tours right behind the hotel on the beach (Little old guy in a red hat). He quoted us 20 cheaper that the others that approached us before we even started to negotiate

So overall pros:
Location is perfect
price is reasonable
rooms are clean
beach and amenities provided

Cons:
Terrible food (not sure of food off-the-menu as we didnt order from it, all inclusive is a buffet)
cant relax on the beach
pool was filled
50/50 on staff friendliness we had great and bad experiences

I cant decide f i would stay here again or not, it's really a mixed bag of emotions.

Room Tip: at minimum get a superior ocean view room to be clear of the pool noise or the alley. they have grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gregory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altoona, Iowa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We booked this resort for the location and the great price we got on Travelocity. We usually do adults only resorts or condos in Old Town, but had read through the reviews and found that this resort had an adults only pool and that during off seasons there were not a lot of children there. We also booked the 2nd week after Easter as we do know that the week before and the week after are the Mexican Holiday, so a lot more kids at that time. Unfortunately we found out after we got there that the 2nd week after Easter was also big holidays in Mexico, we just never seen it as we always do condos or adults only. So with that being said the resort was completely full of kids! I know my own fault for risking the non-adults only resort. Also we found out the resort was running a special for kids to stay and eat free with adults in April, so I think that had a big impact also!

As for the resort we got in very early, actually arrived at the resort by 11:30 am, we knew there would be no rooms ready and we were completely fine with that! It took us quite awhile to get checked in and our luggage dropped off as the lobby was completely full of large families checking in for a day pass. The gentleman at the front desk was very nice and got us settled with our check in and took our luggage. We went for lunch and to walk around, got back after 3:00 and they had our rooms ready! Both of the rooms we got had balconies on the 3rd floor, but the rooms themselves are extremely tiny and very dark. We did end up upgrading one of our rooms to 401, the corner room, that is a very nice room with a nice view. After we got settled we went to the adults pool, just to figure out that it is not really adults only. There were tons of kids in the pool, we saw security come around once and tell them to get in the other pool, but as soon as they walked away they were right back in the adults pool. It was a game to all the kids to see if they could get away with it. So, no relaxing in a nice quiet pool, at least 10-15 kids in it at all times. So, we went and hung out at the beach. The beach in this area is one of the better parts of the beach in Old Town, and you can actually walk out quite a ways in the ocean and still have sand. The wait staff on the beach was also very good! A couple of us did the all inclusive because we got an awesome deal on line and thought it would be worth it for drinks, basically $15pp per day. The breakfast buffet alone is a little over $15, so it was worth it. Unfortunately they do not let you know ahead of time that for drinks you only get the bottom of the line liquor, they do have more top shelf, but it is not included in your all inclusive. They do give you a list when you check in on what liquors you are alloted with your AI plan. I am a vodka drinker, and the only vodka was Karat, had never heard of it, and would probably never recommend it. The others that did not do the AI they were paying 690 pesos per drink, so kind of pricey if you are going to spend a day on the beach and have drinks. We only ate at the buffet a few times, as we stay in Old Town to enjoy the local restaurants. However the one breakfast buffet was very good, except it was very full of kids and very long lines. The lunch buffet we got there just as they opened so that worked out nice and no lines at all. The food was also good, standard buffet type food, but plenty of choices to please everyone. They did have a snack buffet right by the beach, and it was very good! You could go get snacks all afternoon, regular items like nachos, fries, hamburgers, and some yummy ham and cheese sandwiches that were my favorite with very soft bread.

All in all we made the best of our trip and spent a lot of time on the beach and just wandering the streets of Old Town, which is what we go for anyway. Would we stay at this resort again, probably not. This is more of a locals and family resort and basically the kids take over everywhere, the pools, the buffets, the elevators (everytime we got on there were kids playing on them, and had punched every button to stop on every floor). We knew we would deal with kids, just did not realize hundreds of them and in the adults only pool. The staff was all very wonderful, we enjoyed everyone we met that worked there, and we tipped often as they all deserved it. The maids did an awesome job of keeping the rooms cleaned. The location is absolutely perfect to wander all over Old Town and the Malecon. They do have an adults only sister resort across the street, however the pool is on the roof and not a lot of people to hang out with, and no wait staff for drinks.

If you have a family that you want to take at a very reasonable price to PV, then this is definitely the resort for you. However if you are going to PV to relax and be away from the kids then I would recommend trying a different resort, there is no relaxation at this one.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jamerican88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granite Bay, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I booked a 5 night trip through Travelocity for my 14 yo daughter and I. We arrived at 11 am and were told all the rooms were full and we would have to wait until check-in time, unless we wanted to go right into a room at the Casa Dona Susana, which is one of their sister properties 1 block inland. I was suspicious and asked to see the room. We got a great room with a large balcony at Susana and anyone staying at any of the 3 properties gets a wristband which entitles you to use any of the facilities. That worked out so well for us. Playa has the kid's pool and lots of activities, including flamenco shows, but it seems a little louder. The Casa Susana is adults-only and their rooftop pool was a lovely oasis; don't be suspicious if they offer to switch you! The Playa and its sisters are so perfectly located in the Zona Romantico with tons of fabulous restaurants. Yes, the property is a little older. After reading all the reviews I was actually a little nervous. No worries! Yes, the bathrooms are tiny and the furniture a little older. Yes, there were some cracks in the tile and my drain didn't work great. It was spotlessly clean, the counter staff was always helpful and I had wonderful free wi-fi. I think if you are used to Sheratons in the U.S. this might seem a little dowdy, but I've stayed in some pretty funky places in Europe and this place was charming.

Room Tip: I recommend that you ask to see the room; that seems to be an accepted practice there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cwatsoncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
223 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We would never stay any place else other than Playa Los Arcos! We LOVE this hotel! When we arrived we were greeted by many of our friends we've made from our frequent trips who work at Playa with.... "Welcome home!" We got to choose our room as we had booked ahead of time. Of course we chose our same room which we love and stay in every time we go. We like the superior ocean front rooms where we can hear the ocean all night long. Playa is very accommodating in everything you might need. If you have a question they will answer you right away. If you need something brought up to your room, it will be there shortly. We don't do "all inclusive" at Playa because there are so many restaurants right out the main lobby door. Tons of restaurants at every price point right up Basillo Badillo. Playa is right on Los Muertos. Beach. And you have the use of their two other hotels Los Arcos Suites and Casa Dona Susana which are both around the corner. We especially like the rooftop pool area over at Casa Dona Susana. The best of both worlds. If you decide to book with Playa make sure to ask for Margarita. Great service and she will listen and help you to pick out the room you want. Book early!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 777Deana777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#24 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#23 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
1.4 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#22 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#21 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
2.8 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#27 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,427 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Co...
#29 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Olas Altas 380 | Col. Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#32 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa is a splendid colonial Boutique Style Hotel that invites you to enjoy the vacatioon of your dreams.The quality of its facilities, hospitality and tradition of excellence in service will make your stay a trully pleasurable experience. Located in front of the best beach of Vallarta "Playa del Sol" in the heart of the exciting Romantic Zone, is one of the best tourist areas of Vallarta. Here you can find all types of residences, prestigios restaurants, cafes, boutiques, galleries and the best nightlife. Only a few steps from the new Malecon, the Cathedral and the New Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort And Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Puerto Vallarta
Playa Los Arcos Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing