We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay at the Westin Marina”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #29 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay at the Westin Marina”
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We enjoyed our recent seven night stay at the Westin Marina. We paid a very low rate though Expedia. The hotel has four beautiful pools and quite a large beach area. This was a very family friendly hotel. There were plenty of pool toys and floaties for rent, a trampoline and play ground. We had wonderful food and drinks from the pool bar with excellent service. Arifices Steak and Seafood restaurant was closed for the rainy season and we found La Palamar to have a limited menu, so we went out for most of our dinners, there are many fabulous restaurants in town. The morning breakfast buffet had many options but it was quite expensive. The hotel grounds are beautiful and well maintained. We do have a few complaints. Although our room was cleaned daily, trash and dirty dishes were left behind on more than one occasion and towels were not always restocked. We booked a Kids Stay and Eat Free package through Expedia which the hotel did not honor. They did however tell me that if I could find the email from Expedia with the specific wording about the children's meals, they would refund us for their food. Free internet in the business center would be nice. Despite these issues and considering the low rate we paid, we enjoyed our stay very much and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mxX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    750
    641
    245
    105
    66
See reviews for
423
738
71
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wi
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We stayed at the Westin our final night in PV, and got a great rate online. We had been at a small resort near Punta de Mita all week, and were looking forward to a different experience to compare. Check in went fairly smoothly, and the fountains were working and the atmosphere was very pleasant. Unfortunately, it started to rain earlier than usual that evening, so we didn't get to enjoy the pool and beach as much as we would have liked. It was very nice from what we could tell. The vendors at the beach weren't as high pressure as in some areas, and the fitness facility is very nice. The bed and bath were very comfortable, as usual with a Westin. The room was fairly large and had a great view from its balcony and from the open air hallway. We could hear ducks in the hallway! But they flew away when we looked for them. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. There was a charge for Internet, but since it was our last night we figured we could live without it. No charge for parking, which was a nice surprise.

The hotel is in the Marina area, which is a bit off from el Centro or the Zona Romantica, but you can get there by bus. It is about a $5 cab ride to the airport. There were many dining options, as well, in a short walk. We were very interested in one at the far end of the dock called Mariscos--it was packed when we walked by in the early evening. But the next morning we were hoping it would be open for breakfast, but it was not.

The only negative from our stay was that the TV or radio in the room next door was so loud we could hear it clearly in our room. The walls didn't seem that thin, but the doors between adjoining rooms did not seem insulated. We called to see about moving if the noise didn't quiet down. I am not sure how it got resolved, but within a half hour or so it was much quieter.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wi_light_sleepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

this is a older hotel but still nice we upgraded to the royal beach whitch is why we stayed at the westin you get breakfast and cocktals and light snacks at night this is perfect if your on the go you can grab some thing on your way to zip line snorkeling or before your dinner cruises the pool is great but keep the kids in the kid pool please the drinks and food at the pool are really good . the room was nice and very clean. the location is great short walk to the marina and short cab ride down town the oxxo across the street is great for cheep water and snacks. and a very big thanks to Angel at the royal beach club he is a great guy and will do anything to make your stay better

Room Tip: upgrade to the royal beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyandshauna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cristina_castillo, Director of Sales at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 19 July 2011
Dear guest,
We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, our objective is to create memorable experiences. We thank you very much for your preference and we hope to have the opportunity to have you back. Our very best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Driving up to the property I was eager to see the entrance fountain and be greeted with hospitality, NOPE NOT AT THE WESTIN! (The "fountain" was dry and rusted supposedly it was being repaired yet I never saw anyone work on it. Additionally, NONE of the fountains on the property were functioning at all) We were not greeted with a bellman and carried our own luggage to the front desk. The clerk was very inexperienced and not very knowledgeable which pro-longed our check in about 25 minuets. We were the only guests around! When I began to get irritated my BF tipped him $20 and asked if we could please speed this process up. He called a bellman and that still took a very long while. He handed us the keys to our "double room", which was NOT what we booked, it was even clear on the itinerary i printed from home, and i instantly protested and he said "Well ok I suppose ill give you a complementary upgrade to a king size bed". My BF reminded him that we took care of him (tip$) in hopes that he would take care of us, and the clerk totally ignored us!
The property grounds were average, although clean, nothing extraordinary. It was a complete ghost town! There was a large amount of construction which made the swimming pools difficult to enjoy. The beach was very dirty and had trash everywhere. The vendors were constant and even after i politely declined twice they were still pestering us. It was clear we wanted to be left alone and they still would interrupt our conversations. Bar drinks were very weak even when tipped them extra to pour my BFs drink with top shelf tequila, I still noticed them pouring their house brand. When i inquired, they assured me that I was mistaken. The restaurant was okay, but very very pricey! We ate dinner there one night and I left my Gucci sunglasses and magazine on the table when i got back to the room I called right away and they told me that they had found my magazine but never saw any sunglasses. Thieves! I shouldve figured!

Overall, the attitudes of the entire staff was what disappointed me the most. I felt that they were very unprofessional and often snobby! Ill NEVER return to this resort nor will I opt to stay at a Westin property. This experience has completely turned me off to visiting PV ever again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LAArlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cristina_castillo, Director of Sales at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 12 July 2011
First of all I woud like apologize for your experience during your stay in our hotel. I understand how you feel and we appreciate very much the time you took to give us this important feedback. We had some issues with our pipes and our associates have been working in the heart of the house. We will do an action plan in regards every point you have mentioned and believe me that we wil do something about it in order to avoid this type of situations. We really appreciate your business and your adivise has a lot of value to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We stayed at the Westin Marina from 6/25 - 7/2 in a Royal Beach Club room on the 12th floor. We got a fantastic deal through Orbitz so my expectations weren't too high. And reading the reviews here are on Trip Advisor were all over the place, so we were pleasantly surprised. Myself, my husband and our 12 year old son traveled together. The room was comfortable, but I wouldn't say it was exactly family friendly. The sleeping area is separated from the bath / shower area with a shutter type window that didn't close correctly and the shower has no door, so that was a little awkward. Mostly tried to shower when my son and husband were down by the pool or somewhere else. The beds were really comfortable though and that is a plus in Mexico!!!! The view was nice from the balcony, if the other buildings in the way don't bother you. There is a minibar in the room, but you need a key for it. Not sure of the prices.

We are pretty low maintenance so we didn't ask much of the staff, but everyone we encountered was very friendly. A special shout out to Angel in the RBC who was very nice. If you are able to add on the RBC for a low price, do it. It's convenient to have an option for a quick bite for breakfast or drinks / snacks in the afternoon.

The pool area was nice, low season so plenty of loungers available. Drink / food service was available if you wanted it. We took a bus to Walmart and bought a styrofoam cooler for soft drinks and beer. I wasn't impressed with the beach area - but knew this ahead of time, so I didn't really spend any time on the beach. You are approached immediately to buy things from vendors, so if that bothers you - be forwarned. This has nothing to do with the resort though - all Mexican beaches are public and this is allowed. They are not allowed to come onto the hotel property / pool area though.

Plenty of restaurant choices about a 10 minute walk away - a couple worth mentioning would be Portobello's (my favorite - try the fusilli pasta), DZ's Route 66 diner (good breakfast).

Plenty of choices for tour operators in the marina too, but we booked a city / jungle tour through Charlie's sailfishing (office in the marina) at home before we left. Stopped in there to pay when we arrived and they were very informative about the area and we felt comfortable dealing with them. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend booking excursions through them.

If we return to PV, we probably wouldn't stay in the Marina again or downtown necessarily - I would probably head towards the Mislamoya area - the beaches are so much prettier and swimmable.

But overall, we were happy with our stay. The grounds were clean, pool was nice, a/c worked good in the room and we had good maid service early each day (I left a small tip between $3 and $5 daily, this may have helped.)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBRZEZNIAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cristina_castillo, Director of Sales at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 12 July 2011
Thnk you very much for your comments, we appreciate very much you have chosen our hotel to experience Puerto Vallarta for the first time. I would like to inform you that at this moment we are doing some room renovations and some of the rooms will not have the beautiful window between the bedroom and bathroom for families. This is a great feedback and happy to share with you that at this moment we are taking care, project should be finalized by September. ou very best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

I can not say enough about how wonderful the people at the Westin are! We had the best time! Our room was amazing with great ocean view! The room is very modern and wonderful. They knew it was my bday and sent up complimentary Champlain and cheesecake! They answered all our questions! The greater was so kind and welcoming! Santiago was bell man and he was great! Gaberilla was the also very helpful! Not to mention the hotel was breath taking! Only bad things were beach area was rough and to eat there was expensive!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savnnahdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cristina_castillo, Director of Sales at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 12 July 2011
We are so happy to learn that you had an amezing experience in our hotel, our objective is to ispire our guests to feel at home and renovated. We will take a look at our pricing in our restaurants in order to make it more attractive to our guests. Thank you very much for choosing The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta and we hope to have you back soon. Our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Arrived on a Wednesday, late afternoon, for a week's stay. Front door and desk personnel were friendly and helpful. Blown away by Deluxe Ocean View room view from balcony. The palms, pools and Banderas Bay are as beautiful as they look on the hotel website. In mid-June the hotel wasn't full but there was a convention and several beach weddings, so it didn't feel empty either. One evening wedding even had fireworks! The pools' water temperature was tepid, which meant kids and adults could spend hours in the pools. The beach area is small and divided by a breakwater. One side allowed boats, the other is just for swimming. The swimming side was clean and the kids LOVED the beach. The breakwater meant waves didn't get too big and we felt safe letting kids in the water. There were a few vendors who left you alone if you said no, or helped you pick out something if you were interested. The Marina and downtown vendors were much more aggressive, and time-share sharks at the airport were insane! Westin pool service was attentive, drinks delicious (but expensive), and food was good too. Got good, reasonably priced food at Beer and Tacos across the street, just before the Marina entrance. Not just beer and tacos--great breakfasts too. As good as Mr. Cream and less crowded. Victor's at the Marina is definitely worth a visit. We enjoyed our Dolphin Encounter in Nuevo Vallarta, and took a taxi to Viejo Vallarta one evening. Visited the cathedral then wandered to the Malecon, which was partially boarded in preparation for Pan American Games next year. Still plenty of space to walk, bustling with vendors, street performers and locals. Had dinner at a beach joint while the kids played in the sand. Westin hotel location suited us and felt like an oasis. Tipped housekeeping and got good service between 12:30-4:00--while we were away at the pool or exploring. Our grandkids had a ball, which earns this place a thumbs up.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoggySeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cristina_castillo, Director of Sales at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 12 July 2011
We are so pleased to learn that you and your family enjoyed your escape to Puerto Vallarta, we really appreciate you have chosen The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, it was a great honor to have you here and be part of this memorable experience with your family. We thank you very much for your preference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
4.0 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#25 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#36 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
4.0 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#23 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.5 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#9 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,101 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#26 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Property: The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
Address: Paseo de la Marina Sur No. 205 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort And Spa Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Puerto Vallarta
Westin Regina Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Westin
Westin Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing