We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Suited our needs” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #27 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Suited our needs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Our hotel stay last week was pleasant. It is low season so we were upgraded and had a beautiful ocean view room. It sucked to get hit with rain due to the tropical storm, but hotel staff were trying their best to keep the grounds/pool clean due to debris from trees. The beach was wonderful! I also left 2 items in the room after checking out, and they were returned to me when I went back to look for them. Would def stay here again!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriela B, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Guest:

We would like to thank your feedback regarding your last stay at The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta.

We appreciate all your comments, especially knowing that we could give back the forgotten objects.

We look forward to host you in the near future,

Cordially,

Eduardo Ballesteros
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    736
    622
    235
    103
    66
See reviews for
409
723
69
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

This property straddles the 4/5 star line. First, the service is really great, almost across the board. From the restaurant staff to the front desk staff to the bellhops and doormen, almost every single staff person was exceptionally friendly, attentive, and spoke English fluently. I had only one (small) less-than-perfect experience, which was a late-night front-desk staff who kept us waiting while she finished a personal phone call. But even that was very brief, as the rest of the service was really great. The staff showed great training and was very quick about everything. Front desk staff also followed up to make sure various departments (housekeeping, IT, etc) took care of our requests in a timely fashion.

The Westin is not in central PV, it's by the Marina, so be aware of that. There is starting to be more development around the Marina, including some good restaurants and coffee shops. Depending on your interests, you could stay by the Marina with a few excursions to DT PV without problems.

Hotel room: we had an upgraded room on the Starwood floor, it had a wonderful view as well as a hot tub. We requested that the staff clean out the hot tub each day so that we could use it in the evening. Great to have our own hot tub!! Water pressure excellent, housekeeping excellent, and flexible as well. We had to request that our room be made up in the late afternoon, and they were prompt and timely about it as well as having good attitude. Every day they did a thorough job cleaning our room, we were pretty slobby. The room had a Westin look, with the Westin-quality furniture, fixtures, and decor. The only less-good thing that I noticed was that some of the construction details on the shower were not up to international 5-star standard - but that may be a country-construction-quality issue because it was true of all 3 hotels we stayed at on this particular trip. Wifi was free and strong in the lobby and public areas, but pay-wifi in the rooms. Signal strength was good, but the software was limited to 3 IP addresses per room per agreement. They have different packages with various prices, we went for the all-day $15-USD equivalent. I note this because the marketing info makes it seem like the limit is for 3 devices at a time, when really the limit is for 3 devices total during the package you pick. Both days we called the IT department, only figuring out after the second day that the limitation was not the number of devices on at any time.

Only had breakfast at the restaurant, but the buffet had a reasonable selection and was fairly well prepared. Apart from the standards they also had occasional nice Mexican cuisine specials like roasted pork trotters - we were happy about that. Everything prettily presented and beautifully kept up by the staff, so always looked appetizing as well.

Would definitely stay here again, and highly recommend to those travelers who are okay with the location (Marina Vallarta). They were doing renovations on the function rooms, so I would expect that any conventions will really enjoy the space when they are done.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TMLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriela B, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your loyalty, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed our facilities and warm service of our staff.

We value some of the points you recommend us with your comments; such as internet access and location.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We love having the opportunity to serve you again in this home.

Cordially,

Eduardo Ballesteros
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

I am SHOCKED this hotel has the rating that it does. It was DISGUSTING and not your typical Westin. First and foremost, it was dirty! There were more bugs, dirt and leaves inside the pool than out. Cigarettes butts were ALL over the pool area. There was a dead frog by the pool, which stayed there the ENTIRE 5 days we were there. The rooms were awful. There was dirt and pubic hair ON our toilet paper (yes, I have pictures of everything to prove this). Wait staff was terrible - a couple of the waiters actually checked the tips I gave them before leaving the table. I hated this hotel and could not wait to leave. Even my 4-year-old son commented on how dirty it was! Now that is bad! Stay away!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriela B, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear guest:

Thank you very much for your feedback from your visit to our hotel.

It was very disappointing to learn that according to your comments our quality standards were below their normal operating level.

We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences; I assure you that necessary measures have been taken so this does not occur again to any of our guests.

We hope to having the opportunity to host you in the near future and serve you as deserve.

Cordially,

Eduardo Ballesteros
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel with a private, very small beach.
The rooms are very nice but with lots of humidity that makes even the pillows stink.
The staff is very friendly except from a lady at the front desk who was very rude.
The food was not good at all, especiallyfor this price. The drinks were pretty good though.
I think that I will try another hotel if I go back to Puerto Vallarta.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yiannis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriela B, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your feedback from your visit to our hotel. We had a meeting with the Front desk department as well as Houskeeping department to avoid such experiences to our future customers.

We love having the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Cordially,

Eduardo Ballesteros
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwardsville, Illinois
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

I should have reviewed the Westin Resort after our stay last February. Now that I'm getting ready to make next year's reservation, it's time to do that review.

We stayed for seven nights the beginning of February 2013. We had a small issue with our room, and we mentioned it to the front desk. The Guest Service Manager Fridel Von Son resolved the issue by upgrading us to a Junior suite. This spacious room included a Jacuzzi on the balcony.

We enjoyed both the beach and the pool at the hotel. Although we were visiting in high season, we never had trouble finding a pool chair in a pleasant shady area.

The hotel is just a few steps away from all the restaurants and shops at the Marina. The bus stops just across the street from the hotel, and we took it into town every day. Because of this convenience, one can enjoy the peace and quiet of the hotel, and still be just a few minutes away from everything the city has to offer.

The hotel was never crowded during our stay, even when a small convention opened midweek.

The service throughout the hotel is excellent. We especially enjoyed the bar closest to the beach. We look forward to staying at the Westin again next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriela B, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear guest:
Thank you for your preference at The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta.

We are so happy to know that you have enjoyed a special and relaxing stay with us and best part of this is you decide to return next year with us.

We look forward to welcome you again,

Cordially,
Eduardo Ballesteros
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
Level Contributor
232 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed at the Westin Puerto Vallarta August 31-Sept, 2013. This is our third stay at this particular hotel. I’m afraid this review is going to be a little more critical than the flawless reviews I’ve given this hotel in the past. Lets start with the good...

As has always been the case, the real strength of this hotel lies in it’s staff. Everyone is exceptionally friendly, and for the most part, it appears to be a genuine friendliness...not just one designed to subtly (or not) solicit for a tip. Pedro is still at the front, greeting guests with the standard and warm “Welcome Home”. Front desk staff are friendly and efficient. Breakfast buffet staff were also very welcoming, as was the poolside service.

The rooms remain in good condition. I’m not sure why I continue to read that the hotel is showing signs of wear and tear. Yes...there are some areas high on public ceilings that could use some touch-up paint. Otherwise, we just don’t see why people say that.

The grounds continue to be lush and well maintained. And the pool areas continue to be our favorite place to spend the days relaxing.

Please see my previous reviews of this hotel for much greater detail of the positives.

What’s different about this review than my past are the negatives. For this trip, I’m afraid these were significant.

Jack-hammers/construction noise. From about 8AM until around 6 or 7, there was a steady symphony of jack-hammers, tile saws, hammering, and other steady, loud noise that could be heard all over the grounds. Oddly, our room was 1111 (eleventh floor), and the sound echoed straight up in to the room. We had to wear ear plugs to read. Attached is a video of the grounds. We didn’t realize that it picked up the sounds of the construction. There’s one spot mid-way through where it stops and picks up, so you can tell how significant it is. Unfortunately, my phone did not pick up just how loud it was from where we stood.

Also kind of funny, we met a couple mid-way through our trip who had just arrived for their honeymoon. They complained at the front desk about the noise, and stated that the hotel should have disclosed this on their website when they made the reservation. The response? “Senior, we are going to stop the construction for you during your stay”. Oddly enough, a Mercedes Benz and other conventions came to the hotel the same day they were told that. True...the construction stopped. Guess what? As soon as the conferences ended, it started right back up again. Somehow, I don’t think the hotel stopped construction for their honeymooning guests. Perhaps Mercedes has a little more “pull”?

Though this next issue did not impact us directly, it raises great concern. We met three woman (mother and two daughters) vacationing. Nice people...we spent several days with them both at the pools and dining out. I do not drink alcohol. My partner does. He had two margaritas each day. Each time, they were quite potent! (He was “feeling good” after just one). Anyway, shortly after we met these women and returned to our room, apparently they also had a drink. However, one lost consciousness (another couple literally had to hold one over his shoulder and carry her back to her room), and the other reported feeling extremely light-headed and “weird”. Obviously, someone put something in their drinks! Thank goodness a decent couple was present and got them back to their room (they had met at check-in and were coincidentally in the next room). I fear there would have been a very bad outcome for these two young ladies had these two not been present! Watch your drinks!!


So, for us, other than the noise, we had no real problems to speak of. We continue our feeling that the breakfast buffet is a bit over-priced, but certainly has a wide variety of food choices and is not bad. Lunch/dinner at the restaurant is a waste...just not very good at all. Go walk over to the Marina for dining. (Porto Bella is excellent Italian. Victor’s is a decent, cash-only Mexican place).

Would we return again? Probably. If we were two females, we might think twice about using the pool bar, for sure! Should the hotel have warned those making or holding reservations of construction going on? Absolutely. That would have been the honest thing to do. While we like staying here, we would have rather they closed the hotel for their construction and forced us to stay elsewhere, than to accept our reservation (and money) to hear all the construction commotion going on.

Overall, the hotel remains a solid 3.5 star hotel (improve the lunch/dinner in the restaurant, and it becomes a solid 4 star). (Give the whole hotel a complete refurbish AND upgrade food quality, it becomes 4.5 stars). I don’t see it ever being five stars...it’s just not on par with St. Regis, Four Seasons, or even Ritz Carlton. It is a standard Westin resort.

Pros: Great staff (careful about the bar ones though!), lush grounds, nice setting, decent rooms

Cons: Bartenders may be “spiking” drinks, construction noise on-going, some minor paint touch-ups needed (maybe give the pool a good power-wash also)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LQGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriela B, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear guest:

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your visit to The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and experienced the advantages we have because of location.

We love having the opportunity to serve you again next year.

Cordially,

Eduardo Ballesteros
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Private beach, great pools, outstanding view from our room(if you get it),great service(we got the free breakfast with our room and its a full breakfast, no continental one). The only down side was no free wifi in the room, but they had it free in the lounge, so no big deal. Make sure you take the bus to downtown and not the taxis(so expensive) also when you arrive at the airport, walk outside, about a half block and take the taxi from the other companies, the ones in the airport terminal charge $20 compared to the ones around the corner $6. This is one of my top 3 hotels to stay at and I will definitely stay there again when I go back. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Make sure you book the room with an ocean view you wont be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manac69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriela B, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your preference at The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta.

We are pleased to read your feedback and confirm that you really know about our location, and options of transportation the guest has when visit this beautiful paradise; hope this information be helpful and be an alternative to some of our guest.

We wish to receive you back soon in Puerto Vallarta.

Cordially,
Eduardo Ballesteros
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#34 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,372 reviews
4.0 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#24 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
2.9 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#20 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#29 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,371 reviews
0.5 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#7 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,984 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#25 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Property: The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
Address: Paseo de la Marina Sur No. 205 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp and Booking.com so you can book your The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort And Spa Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Puerto Vallarta
Westin Regina Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Westin
Westin Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing