We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
Nearby Hotels
US$331
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$356
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$320
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$269
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)
US$305
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$514
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$258
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Casa Velas(Puerto Vallarta)
US$500
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$487
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,007)
Filter reviews
2,007 results
Traveller rating
848
701
266
113
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
848
701
266
113
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal beach clubheavenly bedmarina areael palmarclub reginabreakfast buffetthe club loungeshort walk to the marinafull ocean viewswim up bartime sharebeautiful propertytennis courtsclose to the airportmain restaurantconvenience storejacuzzi on the balcony
Filter
Updating list...
837 - 842 of 2,007 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I give this hotel high ratings. However, it had some drawbacks. On the positive side, our room had an ocean view, was comfortable, and bright with a cute little balcony good for watching sunsets and sailboats against the dramatic sky. Room temperature control was great-unusual for many hotels, where the air conditioner roars like a jet engine. The staff was terrific—English excellent, responsive, very helpful with needed odds and ends and travel advice. This was true from front desk to waiters to bell hops. For example, hotel has a deal with the taxi companies so outbound fares don’t need to be bargained. Clearly the hotel management has imbued the staff with an ethic of making guests comfortable and happy.
The exercise room is astonishingly well-equipped for a hotel. There are three separate, adjoining rooms. It included the most complete set of machines, treadmills, free weights, mats and other accessories I’ve ever seen in a hotel. It adjoins a spa for massages and the like which looks nice but which we didn’t try.
We didn’t notice any of the signs of wear other reviewers mentioned—quite to the contrary!
I include the following criticisms more in the hope that Starwood/Westin/hotel management will take notice than to warn people. None of these are deal-breakers; we would definitely come back to this hotel. That said:
The bathroom is bizarrely designed so that a person showering has a panoramic view of anybody using the toilet. And there is no front door or curtain to the shower, so the bathroom floor gets soaked. We wondered what school of design the interior designer graduated from or whether some clueless executive mandated these “features”. The smoke detector strobes on and off all night, so we found eye masks a necessity. Drawer space is unnecessarily scarce as there’s plenty of room for a 3-high dresser vs. the smallish 2-high we had. No microwave; just a coffee maker.
The pool is beautifully designed but too shallow for actual swimming and pervaded by inescapable music. So forget it if you want to swim for exercise or lounge and read something a little more demanding than a mystery novel. Couldn’t the hotel at least have one area without bubble-gum music/Musak? Sometimes at 10pm the hotel decides to try to attract a different demographic with loud techno that’s neither to everyone's taste nor actually successful in drawing that demographic. This caused us to button up; that evening we couldn’t enjoy the evening breeze in our room.
The beach itself in front of the hotel is nice with plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas. The beach itself is narrow and the roped off swimming area is short.
This Westin has "fully-priced" its hotel meals to US luxury hotel levels--expect to drop $40 for two at breakfast. Lunch and dinner priced on the same philosophy. Internet in the room is very costly. The free lobby wifi can’t really be used in the lobby—you have to go to the lobby bar which is loud and dominated by an enormous TV screen tuned to all-sports channels. Since most people are turned off by the in-room wifi prices, bring your own coffee while you wait for your favorite websites to load.
Overall we felt this hotel was just short of a 5. Too many of the above drawbacks could be easily remedied with a bit of attention.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view on a top floor to get the best outlook and the least noise.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriela B, Gerente at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear guest:

Thank you very much for your feedback, this information will help us to improve our opportunity areas by making an action plan based on your comments, we hope you enjoy the rest of your stay in our hotel.

Our very best regards

Eduardo Ballesteros,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I have been to Puerto Vallarta many times, and typically prefer the smaller hotels downtown, as you get to know everyone really well and it's a quick trip to anywhere in the resort, the malecon, markets, etc. I wanted to try something different this time so we booked at the Westin in the Marina area based on the reviews I read on this site. It was absolutely gorgeous! At first I was a little intimidated by the size and beauty, (a little fancy for me) but I learned to love it pretty fast! The food was yummy - you just need to learn in the first day or two what it is that you're looking for on the buffets, and how to ask for what you don't find (like bacon). The service was excellent - especially Raul and Roberto at the bar/restaurant near the beach. (Eat at this restaurant at sunset - gorgeous!) The beach was clean and the vendors were very friendly - we even booked boat tours right with the beach guys. The grounds are very pretty and the pools are warm (well, not cold)! There was NEVER a problem getting a lounge chair around one of the pools and for $10 you could rent a floaty for the day. Also there is no towel card to keep track of and you could request more than one towel per person at any time.The poolside service was also great - we never went thirsty and the pool menu had more to offer than the other resorts I've been to (great fish tacos & chicken fingers!). Our room was on the 10th floor with a jacuzzi on the balcony - definitely a great upgrade! Everything was very clean. The only thing I can say I didn't love was the little shutter windows between the bathroom and bedroom area - not sure if every room is like that - but it's not private enough for me. But there was great water pressure, always hot water and never a shortage of towels. The bellmen were great and had a cab ready as soon as we needed one to go into town, and it was also a beautiful walk from the hotel to the marina area. There are many great little restaurants along the marina - I need to go back just to try more of them out! Thank you to every staff member at the Westin who made it such a great stay from check in to 'late' check out (which was $40 for an additional 3 hours). We met some great new people who we will definitely stay in touch with!

Room Tip: We were in room 1018 - great views, jacuzzi on the balcony, close to the elevators.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALopez99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriela B, Gerente at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear guest:

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your visit to The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and experienced the advantages we have because of location.

We hope to having the opportunity to serve you again.

Cordially

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Having read the mixed reviews I was a bit nervous about what to expect. We were not at all disappointed. We stayed on the 7th floor ocean view ( we requested an upgrade after booking which cost us an additional $20 usd a day). The property is beautiful. We did not notice any evidence of wear and thought the property was well taken care of. Our room was nice with modern features you expect to see at a westin property. The pool area is a beautiful with a separate area for families with young children. We ate lunch poolside and found the food good. Not stellar but better than what one might expect poolside. The pool and lobby bars have a happy hour from 2 pm-3 pm and then from 6 pm-8pm. Drinks are two for one during the happy hour period. Most guests were older retirees or families with young children. If you're looking for quiet relaxation by the pool this is the place for you. If you're looking for a party atmosphere this is definitely not the place. The hotel is a short walk from the marina where there are plenty of good restaurants, ice cream shops, cafés, etc. highly recommend Pepe's tacos. There is also an excellent Argentinian restaurant. We ate breakfast most mornings at victor's. They have a breakfast special for about $5 a person which includes juice or coffee and breakfast entree. The hotel is a short drive from the airport$20 taxi from the airport and about $10 for the return trip. The gym is nice with way above average hotel gym equipment. The only fitness classes offered is yoga two days a week ( Wednesday and Friday as of this post). Classes are $7 usd a class. The class is held overlooking the ocean. A great class with a beautiful view. The beach is small and not that appealing for walking. Overall a very nice property and well located.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Cupcakefeb1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriela B, Gerente at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest:

I would like to thank and appreciate all your comments about your satisfactory stay with us; in particular that you have enjoyed some of our rooms with an excellent view of the Banderas Bay.

We look forward to make your next stay with us and will be happy to provide you a revitalizing and refreshing vacation at The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta.

Cordially,

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

I am currently staying at this hotel and it needs an urgent and masive update and refurbishment. We decided to stay here because usually the Westins have a standard quality. This hotel doesnt. Its very old and it looks ugly, the beach is not nice. The staff is very nice and the rates are not high.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mir_fjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriela B, Gerente at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your preference at The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta.

We also thank your feedback, because constructive support from our guests is extremely important to us when trying to improve our quality and take measures in those areas which so require.

We will be happy to receive you back soon!

Cordially,

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

I am currently staying at this hotel and it needs an urgent and masive update and refurbishment. We decided to stay here because usually the Westins have a standard quality. This hotel doesnt. Its very old and it looks ugly, the beach is not nice. The staff is very nice and the rates are not high.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mir_fjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriela B, Gerente at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your preference at The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta.

We also thank your feedback, because constructive support from our guests is extremely important to us when trying to improve our quality and take measures in those areas which so require.

We will be happy to receive you back soon!

Cordially,

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews