We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not fully equipped”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #30 of 124 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice but not fully equipped”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We just got back from a nice 5 day break at the Westin. The hotel is "Modern Mexican" in style so has a charm and charisma about it.
The entrance lobby is welcoming and airy and the reception desks and concierge are well manned. Our checkin was very quick and the room was ready for us upon arrival meaning we could dump the bags in the room and head straight to the pool, unpacking can happen later!
We have stayed at this hotel previously and were put off by some of the negative comments written about it on TA.
We opted for the breakfast included option which was excellent and ate around the pool most lunchtimes. The prices were cheaper than what i had expected so that was a nice surprise.
We ate in the hotel a couple of nights and out at the marina the others. The marina is close enough to walk and very safe with great views of the boats and plenty of dining choices. We were fortunate enough to see a crocodile on the last night.
Travelling with young kids we didn't need to head downtown at all.
The pools are big enough and the kids pool has plenty of shaded areas so you can get in with babies and not be too exposed to the sun.
The other (bigger) pool was pretty quiet and it was possible to get some laps done (if that is your thing) early morning around 9am when no one else was around.
The waiting staff were ok and Manuel who ran the activities kept us entertained with bingo, volleyball etc.
Another thing to add is that there is an OXXO mini mart opposite the hotel so you can top up on water, cokes, sweets, creams, chips etc and bring them to the hotel, in fact quite a few people had coolers with soft drinks and beers around the pool and on the beach.
We would definitely return to the Westin however one thing that the management need to sort out is the lack of baby cots. We had to wait until the 3rd night before they gave us one which is appalling! They said this was due to an unexpected high number of families arriving - what do they expect when its high season over Easter???
All in all and despite the cot issues we had a great time and hope too get back soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Famni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriela B, Gerente at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest:

I would like to thank and appreciate all your comments about your satisfactory stay with us; in particular that you have enjoyed some of our services, pools and activities with Manuel.

We apologize by the lack of cribs but we take note of this very important point to look for a better solution for our guest.for the crib

We look forward to make your next stay with us and will be happy to provide you a revitalizing and refreshing vacation at The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta.

Sincerely,

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    777
    660
    246
    106
    71
See reviews for
439
759
75
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Westin in April 2014 and found the resort to be a great choice. The staff was very friendly and the amenities offered by the resort were excellent. We upgraded our room to Royal Beach Club and it was worth it. Great ocean views, breakfast and evening snacks at the club meant that we did not have to leave our resort often. There are some restaurants around in the Marina area where you could walk. The only downside was that it is half an hour bus ride away from Centro.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Aarij B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriela B, Gerente at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear guest:

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your visit to The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and experienced the advantages we have because of location near to the Marina boardwalk.

We love having the opportunity to serve you again.

Cordially

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed at the Westin Resort and Spa in Puerto Vallarta in February 2014. It is a very nice clean resort. When we were there it was rather quiet and not many children. We did the all inclusive which was awesome. We had an ocean view room that was wonderful. On the downside, there wasn't a big choice for meals but we never went hungry. Lots of shops and places to eat across the road in the marina area. We took the city bus to the malecon and spent a day there. The resort pool was wonderful & the beach area and service was excellent. The beach itself was not the best but the pool made up for it. We had great waiters and resort staff each and every day! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nellybell57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriela B, Gerente at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear guest:

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your visit to The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and experienced the advantages we have because of our location.

We love having the opportunity to serve you in the near future.

Cordially

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Love this property. Have gone once a year for a "boy's trip" for about 10 years now. "Strayed" one year and regretted the length of the trip. This property will always have a special place in my heart!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriela B, Gerente at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear guest:

Thank you very much for your loyalty to The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, we are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are very proud of our staff, they focus in providing personalized services and creat memorable stays to our guests.

We hope to see you soon in your new home in Puerto Vallarta

My best regards

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Our 4 night stay in mid-April was an unexpected delight at the Westin. Room 1115 was fantastic—great view, big room, firm bed and ample size balcony. We’ve visited the Puerto Vallarta area many times, but this was our first visit to the Marina area. Beach at the Westin is okay, not long, but has beautiful views of the city, bay and incoming/outgoing cruise ships. We chose the AI option – WOW, everything was covered: in-room wifi, mini-bar & coffee, all drinks and food (which includes ALL the restaurants, including beachside Arrecifes). Room was cleaned daily by 11 am, bath amenities were generous (tips go a long way!)

The pool area is huge (2 pools – which seemed heated?), with more upscale loungers than most places we’ve stayed (wood frame with full cushions—cleaned each morning by hand). Really liked the pool umbrellas– swing type, so shade/sun was never an issue. No chair saving necessary here. We stayed the week before Semana Santa and upon arrival the hotel was relatively empty, but within two days, at capacity. Impressive that the staff continued to pull more loungers out, not only around the pool deck, by onto the grassy areas so there would be enough room for everyone. Pool floaties were available (adult and child type), drink service at the pools, and two beach type restaurants for lunch (good menu). Even though the hotel was full, we didn’t notice.

The entire hotel staff was extremely helpful whenever necessary. Plus the bonus of having the front desk print boarding passes for us. The fitness center is exceptional with full range of equipment in a large space (They could use some fans) and open 24 hrs.

We were concerned about the negative reviews prior to arriving, detailing the “costs”, but reading between the lines, either proper research wasn’t done on what staying in a large int’l brand hotel truly can cost or some posters just haven’t gotten out much. Ignore the complainers!

This Westin is well-run, immaculately manicured, squeaky clean, and close to the airport (without the noise). The Westin is a great choice and priced right! We enjoyed our stay immensely.

Room Tip: Pay for the view and choose AI
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LakeMist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriela B, Gerente at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest:

We are pleased to receive your feedback and more than happy to know that facilities of the hotel were to your liking.

Hope to continue with your preference and receive you very soon and thus enjoy some new remodelations that are scheduled this year.

Cordially,

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake Village, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Can't say enough about our April 12 to April 19 at the Westin. Every one we came in contact with went out of their way for us. The service everywhere was terrific.. Each day my granddaughter received a towel sculpture on her bed. Thank you Carmen. Pedro welcomed us as we pulled up. The Manager ( forgot his name ) was so accommodating. Nellie who does the ceramics. All the beach bar waiters. Adrianna at the pergola ....thank you all for being so kind and welcoming. This is our fourth time and we will be going back next year.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank bookjjworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriela B, Gerente at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Client:

We would like to thank you for your recent visit to our property and similarly, the share with us your experience at The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta.

We are very proud of our staff, they focus in providing personalized services and creat memorable stays to our guests; we will share your comment to Adriana, Pedro, Nelly and Carmen, they are great and do a wonderful job.

Look forward to welcoming back soon and we can provide the service you deserve.

Sincerely,

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The Westin has magnificent grounds and facilities though the architecture is showing its age. The rooms even though they are 90's in style are fresh, clean with new decor and comfortable beds and big bathrooms.

The pool area is magnificent as are the bars, restaurants and facilities in the common areas. The resort itself looks a little old but not tired. they have modernized the facilities as best they can. The service is of a high standard. The location is convenient to the marina and about a 15 minute Taxi ride to the old city. Overall a tranquil location. The Ocean view rooms have a magnificent view and outlook. the rooms are large, open and have an airy feel.

My highlight was the use of the medical facilities. I unfortunately I came down with travelers ailments and required the use of the doctor twice. This service was prompt, attentive and It made me feel secure and safe. The hotel manager called promptly to seek my condition and offer service as and when I required. The resident hotel Doctor dispatched a nurse to my room to oversee my recovery and It made me feel comfortable and secure.

Overall a great hotel with great service. You just need to look through the older style architecture.

Room Tip: Get a high floor Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriela B, Gerente at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Client,

First of all we would like to thank you for your recent visit to The Westin Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta.

We are more than happy to read your comments about your satisfactory stay with us; in particular the service provided by our staff and internal medical service, please be assured that your comments have been passed to them.

Once again, thank you for all your comments and hope to receive you soon on this beautiful Paradise!

Sincerely,

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
4.0 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#23 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
536 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#38 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,640 reviews
2.9 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#25 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#26 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
2,632 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Co...
#29 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3,673 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#8 of 124 in Puerto Vallarta
3,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Property: The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
Address: Paseo de la Marina Sur No. 205 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#18 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#18 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort And Spa Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Puerto Vallarta
Westin Regina Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Westin
Westin Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing