We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place for a sunny break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This is a typical resort style hotel. Lots of lovely open spaces and pools . The red roof, peach stucco high rise of balconied rooms, front the beach and the sun pours down. Very large breakfast room open til 11;30 with lots of choice and all beautifully prepared and displayed on two large buffet stations. Regular american/british breakfast foods, mexican favourites and made to order omelettes, lots of fresh fruits and pastries. No need to worry about the 'water' here. Pleasant rooms nicely decorated. Busy staff keeping up with the maintenance. The place is a bit older but very well taken care of. Location is great. Near to airport, across the road form the Marina where there are lots of restaurants, and the golf course, of course! 20 min taxi ride into town but for a short visit no need to venture far.Beautiful scenic spot with mountains all round, and the sun sets over the ocean. Great escape!

Room Tip: It's worth getting a room facing south east in the 'other 'tower. . The main tower does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank palmpirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,823 - 1,829 of 3,301 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

This resort is located on the marina side of PV- just a short jaunt from the airport. It’s a five minute walk to the marina itself, lined with a variety of restaurants, shops, and beautiful yachts. Two days was plenty of time to explore this side of town, but I wouldn’t recommend much longer than that unless you’re staying at an all-inclusive where you don’t plan on leaving much anyway.

The rooms, pool, spa, and grounds of the CasaMagna are stunning (more beautiful than the pictures on their website show). What really made our stay here so spectacular was the spa. We scored an amazing deal that included two daily massages, but even if you had to pay for it, it would totally be worth it. (Ask for Blanca, she was amazing!)

I also loved their sea turtle release program. Once in a lifetime experience! And the nightly sunsets we watched from the pool bar were out of this world (sipping on non-alcoholic fruity umbrella drinks of course).

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to have a pretty decent view. We got put in one in the very far back corner and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Desiree S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottCasaMagnaPVR, Manager at Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear guest,

I am very happy to know what a great experience you had during your past vacations at our property. It is great to know you had the chance to live the experience of releasing a baby turtle, which we agree this is a lifetime experience.

Thank you as well for your kind words regarding the Spa, we will happily congratulate Blanca for the exceptional work she is doing with our guests.

We hope to have you as our guest again. If you have further feedback you wish to share or need any additional assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at mhrs.pvrmx.dor@marriotthotels.com

Kind regards,

Teresa Paredes
Director of Room Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We recently stayed there 5 nights and can't say enough good things about the entire property. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. The pool was amazing. The rooms were great, very quiet, comfortable beds. Overall a fantastic experience. The food was great. The deli was quite expensive, but I guess that's to be expected. Everything was in great shape. The meeting rooms for our conference were very nice as well. We didn't use the wi-fi in the room as there was a charge for it, but the free wi fi in the public areas was very fast and easy to log in each time. The beach is great. The turtle release each evening was super cool. A short walk to the marina and shops/restaurants. This was our first trip to Puerto Vallarta and we were thoroughly impressed. By far our favorite Mexican destination.

Room Tip: The ATM outside the property towards the entrance to the marina gives pesos which worked great for u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brad s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottCasaMagnaPVR, Manager at Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for considering Puerto Vallarta as your favorite Mexican destination, this is great for us to hear, especially when guests are coming for the first time.

I am also very glad to know you really enjoyed our facilities and service, but also that you had the opportunity to experience our Turtle Release program which for us is a very special and important activity that we love to share with our guests.

We really hope to see you once again here to keep enjoying Puerto Vallarta and our hotel, in the meantime if you have any additional feedback or need further assistance, please do not hesitate in contacting us again.

Kind regards,

Teresa Paredes
Director of Room Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights this past week. We had an ocean and pool view room which was very nice. The staff at the Marriott were wonderful (thank you Stephanie and Rosa at the front desk and Mauricio at the beach restaurant).

What we liked -
The staff
The room
The infinity pool
The massages on the beach by Mariana Elizabeth and her husband ($45.00 an hour) These are easily the best massages we've had in a long time

What we thought needed a little improvement
- The phone system - we had people from home looking to speak with us, as well as friends in town, and neither could get in touch with us as the Marriott operators said we weren't guests at the hotel
-Our phone in our room - asked to have it repaired as messages were unable to be left for us, and it never was
-Food at the hotel - was just ok - not bad, but not great

Worth mentioning - this was the only area of town that we had negative experiences with the cab drivers after being in PV for over a week.

Don't assume that because the Valet from the hotel tells the driver where you are going, that the cab driver actually knows where your destination is...they say yes, but they may drop you off and tell you it's just up ahead (and it may not be).

Another cab driver we had from this hotel also said he didn't have any change - so be sure to take plenty of pesos with you - otherwise he will graciously take the 150 peso tip

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MamaMac787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottCasaMagnaPVR, Manager at Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for spending time writing this review regarding your latest stay at our Hotel, I am very happy to hear that you had a great time with us.

I will make sure your congratulations are shared with Stephanie Rosy and Mauricio for the great job they did while helping you. We always feel very proud when our staff is mentioned in any of the comments.

Please also accept my apologies for the inconvenience you had with your telephone and the phone calls you were not able to receive; I have requested our IT Department to verify all the room phones are working properly and also I have asked our Phone Operator Manager to participate in further training with the staff to avoid this type of situations from happening again.

Regarding the unpleasant experience with the taxis, we are very sorry to hear about it and we will reach out our contact at the Taxi Driver’s union to let them now about this kind of situations.

We will be so happy to receive you here again, please let me know if there is any additional feedback or assistance we can provide you and I will be happy to look after your request. Feel free to contact me at mhrs.pvrmx.dor@marriotthotels.com I kindly ask you to please refer to this comment when contacting me.

Kind regards,

Teresa Paredes
Director of Room Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This is the second time in two years that we have stayed at this property and if possible it is better than the first time. We made last minute arrangements for transfers and they were there to meet us which I wasn't sure was going to happen. Because we were repeat customers and "Gold" we were escorted directly to our upgraded room and checked in there with the bell staff. Everything was as expected, Internet, Pool, Food and a genuinely nice staff

Room Tip: Since it is and "L" shaped hotel virtually all the rooms have a view. The higher the bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djs1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed here for just one night on the backend of a trip to the Four Seasons in Punta Mita. We arrived around 3pm in Friday afternoon and were quickly taken to our room but the bell staff for immediate check in as I am a Marriott Platinum member. We were upgraded to a nice ocean front suite from an ocean view room. Room was very spacious with living, dining, large bathroom, nice bedroom area with signature bed and large balcony with tables, chairs, lounges and jacuzzi! Very nice upgrade indeed.

It was the lower seasons so lounge chairs at the pool and beach were easy to come by both that afternoon and the next Saturday morning in late October.

Breakfast was included in our rate and it was very good as usual with plenty of variety. Very good breakfast in my opinion.

Service around the pool was excellent as usual and it was a nice relaxing day spent here. Called the front desk the next morning and was able to secure a 4pm checkout as part of my platinum benefits as we had a later flight back to Edmonton. Thanks for another great stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stinger55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottCasaMagnaPVR, Manager at Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear guest,

I want to thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your short but pleasant stay with us. It is really gratifying to hear that the service of our staff as well as the facilities of the hotel were excellent for you.

We will be looking forward to seeing you here again, hoping your next visit is longer, meanwhile please do not hesitate to contact me at mhrs.pvrmx.dor@marriotthotels.com , I will be happy to assist you with any additional information or further feedback.

Kind regards,

Teresa Paredes
Director of Room Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The resort is very nice. All the staff was extremely polite and friendly. You are right on the beach with amazing views from everywhere in the resort. I've stayed at many Marriotts and this is not the best, but close. The gym was big, clean with its own pool. The food at the 2 restaurants we tried was very good. The drinks were ok. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROCKY8992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
7.5 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#13 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,919 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#8 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,601 reviews
4.3 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#25 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#30 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,885 reviews
0.3 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,732 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#24 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa

Address: Paseo La Marina Norte 435 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico (Formerly Casa Magna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa)
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £106 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 433
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casamagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort And Spa
Casamagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Marriott Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing