We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,753)
Filter reviews
3,753 results
Traveller rating
2,435
962
216
76
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,435
962
216
76
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscasa magnalas casitaschampions sports barvictor aguilarmikado restaurantmarina areabreakfast buffetswim up barocean viewchief conciergeshort walk to the marinapool conciergegreat poolclose to the airportbell staffminutes from the airportcab ride
Filter
Updating list...
388 - 393 of 3,753 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2017

On our cruise to the Panama Canal we stopped at Puerto Vallarta and decided to get a day pass for the Marriott. We spent a wonderful day. The Marriott is not far from the cruise port, just a quick taxi ride away. The day pass was extremely reasonable, about $35 for the day which included $30 to spend at the resort. The pool area was large and very beautiful, and there is also a pretty white sand beach if you want more adventure. We enjoyed drinks by the pool; the bar staff was great. Lunch at their outdoor restaurant was delicious too, and again most of this was covered by our $60 joint credit. If we return to Puerto Vallarta for a longer visit, we definitely will stay at this Marriott.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank gingerlee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, General Manager at Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear gingerlee13,

What a pleasure to be your host even if it is for a day, we're very glad you got to enjoy our pool and beach area accompanied by our delicious food and drinks. We really hope you can stay longer in our amazing city, I'm sure you would love it!
We'll welcome you with a big smile on our faces!

My best wishes,

David Gauna
General Manager
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

What a wonderful place to call "home", especially when it's snowing...back home!

The resort has so many positives. It is beautifully appointed with a massive lobby, breathtaking views of the large pool, Banderas Bay and the city. Add to that, it is a short walk to the Marina with dining and shopping and a mere 10 minute ride from the airport. We did venture into town, walked the Malecon, visited Isla Cuale and shopped in the square, but we really liked that the Casa Magna is removed from some of that hustle and bustle. It is a little quieter environment with plenty to do nearby and that was perfect for us!

The on-site dining choices are varied and very good. We enjoyed Las Casitas, beachfront, for lunches and dinners. La Estancia for breakfast is a site to behold...but be sure to try it for dinner, too! They serve wonderful Mexican dishes, among our favorites the shrimp enchiladas and the chicken flautas. And, yes, the guacamole is everything you hope for. The servers and chefs were very accommodating in tweeking a menu item to our personal taste. The service is exceptional and for a resort of this caliber, the menu prices are modest.

The staff at the resort is truly it's shining star. Every single staff member goes above and beyond with their friendliness, their kindness and their willingness to assist. Special thanks to Simon Coulson, Chief Concierge, for his continued assistance with planning, both before and after arriving. His staff was always available to answer questions regarding the small stuff, too! Like "when does the mall open, can you change my dollars to pesos, how do I get to the Marina?" I would also like to recognize our very sweet and hard working housekeeper, Veronica. Our room was immaculate each day with special flower and towel animal touches. She even had a message written in English to share with us and thank us on the day we left.

From the moment you arrive at the Casa Magna, you will be treated as a special guest. We are already planning a return visit.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank waverunner03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, General Manager at Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Dear waverunner03,

Wow, such wonderful comments!! We are so glad you enjoyed your vacation that much and so honored to have been your choice and to be near your heart now that you've experienced it.
Just like you say, you'll always be treated as a special guest, because you are, you are family to us!
We can't thank you enough your preference, your kind words and your shout out to Simon and the rest of our staff, that's what keeps us going!
Remember this is your home away from home and that we are family, you'll always be pampered here like you deserve.
I'm really looking forward to welcoming you again!

Sincerely,

David Gauna
General Manager
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

We had the pleasure of staying at the Marriott Casa Magna Puerto Vallarta from 10/31-11/4 and we have found our new home away from while in PV! The location is fantastic as it is in the Marina area and although it is a quick walk to Starbucks, the hotel offers complimentary coffee in their restaurant in the mornings. Let me tell you, their coffee is fantastic (some of the best I have ever had) and better than the coffee at Starbucks, so no need to leave the property for your cup of joe!

Each and every staff member that we encountered was wonderful, friendly and genuine. It all started with our warm welcome from the doorman/valet Guillermo who set the tone for our vacation. He greeted us and made us feel like we were VIPs and carried this attitude each time we saw him. Special kudos go to Chief Concierge Simon Coulson as he and his team guided us on which restaurants were best suited for what we were looking for. All of their recommendations were spot on and we appreciated how they promptly assisted us with reservations. For example, we were in PV during the World Series and watched one game at Champions, the on-site sports bar which was great with a huge multi-screen TV. The next night we wanted to watch the final game but somewhere off-site and a little more fancy and the concierge sent us to La Mandalena which was the perfect recommendation! It is an upscale restaurant but with a massive TV screen so we were able to watch the game in style while enjoying gourmet food and drink! If you are wanting a memorable dining experience, definitely have Simon and his team book you a reservation at the famous Cafe des Artistes for haute cuisine; you will not be disappointed. We also want to commend the Pool Concierge Warren. Each day Warren had his hands full at the pool, between managing the cabanas and checking on everyone, however he always made a point to stop by and chat with us to make sure we had everything we needed.

The resort is large, but not overwhelming huge so it is easy to navigate. The views from the rooms (try to get a pool/beach view) were just lovely. Highly recommend the Marriott PV!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank spaeatsleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, General Manager at Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear spaeatsleep,

What a lovely review! Thank you very, very much for your fantastic comments, we are so glad you enjoyed your vacations here with us! Remember this is your home in Puerto Vallarta and you are family to us, we will always be thrilled to have you over whenever you feel like having a piece of paradise in your life.
Thanks for the shout out to Simon and Warren, they will love to hear what you have to say about them!
We are looking forward to meeting again!

Sincerely,

David Gauna
General Manager
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort& Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

We were very happy with our stay. The service was really exceptional. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. The grounds were well kept, clean rooms, and the pool is beautiful over looking the ocean. Yummy drinks, pretty good food - all reasonably priced. Loved the ice cream in the lobby. The convenience within the Marina and distance to the airport was also a huge plus. I'd highly recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brooke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, General Manager at Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear Brooke A,

Thank you so much for staying with us, we appreciate your preference a lot and we absolutely love to read your happy comments that mean you had a wonderful stay!
We would love to have you again with us very soon!

My best wishes,

David Gauna
General Manager
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

What a great place to be and enjoy a fantastic time with the family. I visited the place on a part business part vacation stay in October. We all loved the pool and the hotel amenities. The conference I attended was excellent and so professional. The rooms are super clean and the food was fantastic. The staff was so great and friendly and spoke very good English. The animal conservation unit at the hotel and the sea turtle return program was out of this world and taught us about conservation and planet protection. The stay was worth every penny.

Room Tip: the best views are the ocean view rooms, but our room had a garden view and it was excellent, too
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JohnnyS1136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, General Manager at Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear Johnny S,

Thank you so much for your fantastic comments, we appreciate them a lot! And we're thrilled to read you had such a marvelous time with us, it's a good thing you let yourself be pampered, because that's what we do to family!
Remember this is your home in Puerto Vallarta and we will always be super excited to welcome you again.

I really hope that's soon!

David Gauna
General Manager
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews