We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and Quality All in One”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #32 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 31 May 2012

My husband and I just got back from our one week stay at the Barcelo Resort in Puerto Vallarta. This was our first all-inclusive resort stay and I have to say it was quite nice. The Barcelo is located about a 20 minute drive from downtown Puerto Vallarta. We liked the fact that it was outside of the main hotel zone and the hustle and bustle of downtown. The hotel is in a quiet location with beautiful views of the jungle and the bay. The grounds are very well kept and the rooms are spacious and clean. We particularly enjoyed the patio off of the room. The staff were fabulous. The concierge woman who helped us with setting up trips and dinner reservations was extremely helpful. We also had two frequent servers during dinners, Raul and Luis, who were equally as good. The buffet food was average and the three restaurants were pretty good. The food wasn't amazing but it wasn't bad either. The drinks were all quite good. Just make sure to ask for exactly what you want. The tours with Vallarta Adventures were easy to schedule through the hotel and were very enjoyable. The evening shows were the only thing that needed some work. All in all we had a great time. I would recommend this hotel for couples, families and friends. It was a great way to spend a week relaxing, having fun and not worrying about any of the details.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sabrina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,771)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,015 - 2,021 of 4,771 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

I'm used to traveling in the US and I was completely blown away by the value that was provided by this resort. The rooms were phenomenal, much better than anything I have stayed at in the US for a similar price, even if compared to a non-all inclusive resort state side.

Staff was extremely friendly all the way around from the check in people to the wait staff at the many bars/restaurants.

Food at the buffet restaurant was as good a quality that could be expected from a buffet. Snack bar had a taco bar which is usually where we ended up for lunch. We only stayed a few nights (wedding event) and did not have an opportunity to try out the fine dining. We also didn't pack a second set of "nice" clothes so we couldn't if we wanted to. If you want to eat well, make sure you pack an extra set of slacks and shoes that aren't flip flops.

The only con's were very picky and minor; bars closed at 1:00am and were a little understaffed and the elevators were a little too small to accommodate the size of the hotel

They don't mention it, but the zoo is located directly adjacent and is WELL worth visiting, a 15 minute walk through a very quaint village. For an extra $40 you can actual pet the tigers, don't see that in the US!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SanDiegoShawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

My husband and I just came back from our stay at Barcelo and we loved everything about it.
Very good service, amazing staff, great views. There was not one thing to complain about. We will be going back!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jriggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We have been to many resorts across the Dreams, Iberostar and Barcelo chains. You will not regret selecting this destination. The rooms are amazing and the food in the restaurants was fantastic. The only complaint is that the management needs to get a handle on the "towel game". At one point during our stay, half of the chairs had been "reserved" by 1 am. The management needs to get a handle on this. Otherwise, a great property.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunBurntCanadians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Just returned from Barcelo Puerto Vallarta. The place was a bit smaller than we are used to (compared to Moon Palace) but it was very well run. The buffet food got old very quickly, but the 'dining' restaurants were wonderful. We upgraded to the Premium package. Worth every penny! You can dine ala 'Carte unlimited. It also includes wireless internet in your room and free room service. Better beach towel exchange. 10% off in all the shops. PLUS use of the premium room which has a FULLY stocked bar to mix your own. There is always some snack food in there too. The premium room also has 4 computers to use including a printer. You get what you pay for, and this was a worthwhile upgrade. The quieter pool has a hot tub and a little island with a couple of fairly large iguanas living on it. They provided entertainment for us :) We were never in need of anything. As soon as you sit down by the pool they come offer you drinks. The beach is a bit small, but the location is very private and well worth that sacrifice for us. There was also bottled water readily available. In short, the place seems like a little bit of a step down, but if you upgrade to the premium room you will not feel that way.

Room Tip: With a family of 4 we got a 2 bed / 2 bath family suite. SO NICE!!!! The price was still very reaso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank spendthriftsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

3 generations of our family came to stay at this beautiful resort in mid-May. We fully enjoyed the accommodations that included painting, swimming, beach activities, spa services and although we did not use these; the tennis courts, gym and game room. We saw a "Tropicana" show that was very entertaining and we were provided with a free city and tequila tour as well as all of our food and drinks (including 3 restaurants, a buffet, a bar, and a snack bar + a taco stand and swim-up bar). We took transportation to do 12 zip lines which was beautiful and included a ride on a donkey back up to the bus. We also visited a local zoo which was small but had beautiful animals that you could hand feed. The food was excellent, the drinks were strong, and the service was exceptional. Every single time we passed anyone working on the grounds they smiled and greeted us. Our favorite was Josephina, the woman who runs the pottery painting stand. She was very friendly, and made anything we painted look way more beautiful than we ever could have. The taco stand was probably our favorite eatery, where they serve posole (pork on a spit with pineapple and onion), carne asada, chicken and fresh tortillas, then you help yourself with whatever salsas, picos, and lime wedges at the little salsa bar. We cannot wait to go back! We would live there if we could! Time to learn more Spanish!!

Room Tip: The junior family suite was the best value, and pick one with a pool/ocean view (there are many)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I took my 80 year old parents for a six night stay at the Barcelo. This was our second stay the first was three years ago. We like the spacious rooms and enjoyed the pools. The food was average but found the specialty restraurants to have a better assortment and more flavorfull food. The staff is extremely friendly and we had a server go extremely out of her way to please us. Her name is Mayra Suarez. She worked our entire stay and helped to satisfy our every need including a wheel chair for my dad. The bus boys would see you coming and walk to meet you and help in every way they could. I found the most helpful in the lobby were Pamela Ramirex, Miguel Ocampo and Jesus Felipe. Just an all around wonderful staff. So if your into service you will get it there. They could of had a few more activities or better speaker system depending on where you were sitting at the pool you might hear or you might not on what activity they were doing. We never left the resort the entire time so not quite enough things to do. My parents have a hard time getting around so are limited on what they can do but love to watch the activities. I would not recommend just staying at the resort the entire time but the hotel is out along ways from town. If your into relaxing this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
5.1 mi away
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites ...
#12 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
851 reviews
2.3 mi away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#13 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
2,000 reviews
8.3 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#11 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
2,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#10 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
3,461 reviews
9.3 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
3,820 reviews
7.2 mi away
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & Romantic Getaway
Villa Premiere Boutique Hotel & ...
#7 of 121 in Puerto Vallarta
2,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Puerto Vallarta

Address: Carretera a Barra de Navidad Km. 11.5 | Zona Hotelera Sur, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#20 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#23 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £124 - £388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barceló Puerto Vallarta***** (formerly Barceló La Jolla de Mismaloya) in Puerto Vallarta, is an elegant, all-inclusive Mexican-style resort. It offers 316 completely renovated and comfortable suites with excellent service, leisure, history, beautiful scenery, exuberant flora and privacy.Relax after a hard day’s work in the hotel spa, catch some rays at one of the hotel pools or take time out to practice your favourite water sport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Mismaloya
Barcelo La Jolla De Mismaloya Puerto Vallarta
La Jolla Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta La Jolla De Mismaloya
Barcelo De Mismaloya
Barcelo Mismaloya Puerto Vallarta
Barcelo La Jolla Mismaloya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing