We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Family Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #34 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
vancouver
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Awesome Family Trip”
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Wonderful stay at Barcelo Puerto Vallarta.
We were a family of 4, stayed in a family suite, very spacious and private. We were on the 7th floor and had a great ocean view room.
Staff very pleasant and attentive, housekeeping awesome!!
Buffet was good, many options.
A la Cart meals very good as well.
Loved the small beach, clean and refreshing.
Nice pools.
Really enjoyed our one week stay!

Room Tip: 7th floor family suite 2712, awesome!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vancouverfuntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,840
    1,297
    504
    342
    267
See reviews for
1,490
1,566
51
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (932)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Just returned from a week at the Barcelo Puerto Vallarta with my wife
Have to say this was one of the best holiday holels we have stayed at. The room was a stardard suite that was huge for the both of us, Living area bedroom area and balcony. Huge shower and nice bathroom. Super king size bed was very comfortable and room kept spotless each day by maid service. Facilities are great, 3 pools with loads of sun loungers and shade. hammocks and couple of nice spa pools. 4 different restaurants and we tried them all. Food was excellent and always something nice to choose from menu. Staff could not have been friendlier or nice. Alway saying hello and smiling. Loads of staff asking if a drink was required or wanted and the bar staff work overtime making sure everyone has what they want with a smile. Beach and the sourrounding bay is smashing and nice for a change to the pool.
Entertainment fun and at night the shows were very good flooiwed by music and dancing . The all inclusive makes this hotel as no additional costs for mini bar or any drinks and food. Guests mainly mexican or from USA so us Kiwis a novelty. Would highly recommend to anyone for a week in the sun

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike N Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

This hotel is about 45 minutes to an hour from the airport depending on traffic and road construction. When I arrived my group was greeted by Humberto with nice cool drinks, Daniel at the front desk was very nice...Claudia was a witch from the very start!!! The hotel is nice, they just need to make a few minor cosmetic updates. My room was nice and spacious (due to Daniels room upgrade)! 2bd 2 bath, very clean and comfortable. Shower in 2nd bath did not work and safe broke on my 2nd day there. The safe was replaced, but shower was never looked at. Need less to say we were happy we had 2 bathrooms. The snack bar is the place to be when you're hungry. The buffet was great for breakfast, but get there early because the cleanliness of the buffet is not addressed on a regular. Please don't bring USD, convert your money to Pesos at your bank or use a credit card, if not they will try to cheat you!!! I will most def go back to PVR Mexico, but will stay at a resort closer to the airport and downtown to avoid cab fares. Ziplining and pirate booze cruise at the marina were great!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keen_keen49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PachecoR, General Manager at Barcelo Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Dear Guest:

Above all I would like to thank you very much for your comments posted regarding your recent stay in our hotel.

I am very sorry about the impression you took from our front desk girls staff and I apologize for that, because for Barceló Puerto Vallarta the main goal is to fulfill the expectations of every single guest we have the pleasure to serve.

Regarding to the issues you mentioned, I would like to inform you that they will be corrected because your comments undoubtedly make us better every day and the standard that Barceló Hotels & Resorts offers are too high.

We trust to have you here again and give us the opportunity to show the true service of Barceló Puerto Vallarta with which we are building our reputation.

We do appreciate your comments and once again we apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Best Regards,

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager
Barceló Puerto Vallarta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We just came back from Puerto Vallarta enjoying a week at the Barcelo Puerto Vallarta. I proposed to my girlfriend on our second day at the Barcelo I had been in contact with the hotel before we left and had set up a romantic dinner on the beach. When I came down in the morning to talk with the staff member that I had been emailing to make sure that everything was set up for the special night I found out that she was not working. The staff working at the front desk knew nothing of my plans but they worked real hard to make sure that everything was set up that night. When we arrived they had us on the second floor in tower 1 which I asked to be moved to a room higher up which was not a problem they upgraded us to 7 floor suites. We had a great room with a great ocean view as well a great view of the pool area. We never had an issue with the noise from the bar. The rooms are very clean the staff very helpful but most don't speak very good English but that was not a big deal at all. The pools are just the perfect temp and we never had an issue getting a spot at any pool. The food is good always lots to go around. We had our special dinner on the beach and the food was perfect we had a waiter looking after us at all times and even took photos for us with out even being asked. We where able to release baby turtles that night which made it even better. The only thing if your going here to party this is not the place for you but if you like to relax and have a few drinks this is the place to go. The road in to the resort is not the best and it takes about 20 minutes to get to town which was not an issue. We did go to the Zoo which is about 5 minutes by taxi and is great we had a great time there. The Zoo is only $10 US to get in with food for the animals but another $75 if you want to play with the baby tigers which is not worth it. We had dinner out twice and the Le Kliff is a great place to go the view is something else and the food is great. We kept hearing about Tony's but never got to go. We would go back to the Barcelo again and would recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 6th floor or higher if possible the palm trees block your view if you stay any low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

I think this is my 9th all-inclusive vacation. Just returned from a one week stay at Barcelo Puerto Vallarta with my spouse and two friends. All of us had a nice time. It was very relaxing and none of us starved... so Mission Accomplished.

Resort: Since it's the beginning of the low season the hotel was probably less than 50% full. It is a small, clean resort. One indoor theatre for entertainment, one buffet area, one "pub", two indoor restaurants areas, one outdoor restaurant, one swim up bar, etc.... There is no disco if you're into that. This resort is great for couples, families, or friends who just want to hang out.

Shows: Very typical. We only went to a couple.

Food: Okay to good... My favourite part was the fresh fruit, cappuccino's, pastries and desserts. The staff are all very good, except for one who we nicknamed Pokey... as in s l o w.... and the drink service at the pool was a little slow... but we are on vacation so not really in a big hurry anyways.... The buffet setup for the breakfast omelettes would be better if there wasn't other food placed in front of the grill where people have to cut in front of you to get at it while you wait for your omelette... minor inconvenience... but just something for Barcelo to note.

Room: Both of our rooms were upgraded from a 1 bed/1bath to a 2 bedroom/2 bath room - THANK YOU! We happily stayed in building Two which is quieter and closer to the beach access. Building one houses the Cantina which has live music. It can probably be heard throughout the resort but it only plays until 11:30-midnight. If you turn on the air conditioning to low you really don't hear much. The only thing that didn't work in our room was one of the clock radios so we just used the other one... (we only needed one). The shower has great water pressure and hot, hot water!

Pools: Nice, warm, not too deep, and just a few kids.

Internet: Free internet can be found on the beach near the beach entrance by building Two. Worked great with my iPod touch.

Beach: The beach is very small but the scenery of the bay is fantastic! The water is warm and the sand is somewhat course but certainly walkable with bare feet. The Beach vendors are the biggest downfall of this beach. The hotel does provide "No Gracias" signs which we made use of the last few days of our stay. You feel kinda like an [--] using them but if you want to be left alone... unfortunately this is the best way. Even with the signs, you still have to contend with the vendors parked just outside the roped area staring at you.... which is less than 50 feet away.... I recommend sitting around the pool if it gets to be too much for you.

Snorkelling: Great snorkelling can be found a short 5 minute boat ride away for only $10 from one of the beach vendors! You only need an hour. I suggest going with Sergio.

Massage: Had four 1-hour massages over 7 days!!! Tried all three of the massage huts. My preference was the "hut" on the point (furthest from the resort). The massage was excellent here and so was the massage at the middle hut however, the location of the hut on the point is by far the best and most comfortable out of all three. Each massage cost $20 US dollars plus tip.

The Zoo: Is a 10 minute or so walk from the resort. Cost $10 US dollars... plus $5 for a bag of mixed food to feed the animals. We all enjoyed the Zoo.... lions, tigers, and bears - oh MY! I might suggest that you don't feed the crazy caged baboon with the pink butt. He is unpredictable and actually grabbed at one of us. Other than that... it was fun.

Downtown PV: Easy 30 minute busy ride into town (7 peso's) or $13 US dollar taxi ride to Centro PV. There is some road construction but not that big of a deal... maybe a 5 minute delay here and there... While downtown we dined at Mariscos Tino's - Coconut shrimp was AWESOME (and very filling)!!! When in town, go to Starbucks and try the Cajeta Frap -- YUMMY!!!!

If buying vanilla, be sure and read the ingredients and make sure vanilla is actually the first ingredient!

All in all... this was a good experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Almondize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We just returned from our second visit to this property about a year apart. This is a great location for relaxing, they do have everything you need to chill out right at the resort, and there are plenty of options for activities from the resort. For us (traveling with 2 children ages 6 and 3) this is important, we don't want too much friction or stimulation - just get us to the pool and feed us! This trip was a little less successful that our last visit, but the hiccups did little to detract from our overall experience, and the staff was accommodating, friendly, and helpful.

Room Tip: The junior ocean view suites in tower 1 are great. Music from outside the hotel can be a little nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nschaumberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We just returned from a week's stay at the Barcelo with friends and family and had an amazing time. Great accomodations, food, weather, staff, and beach. Had read the reviews about the hotel before booking ,as well as after, and we are in agreement with the majority that Barcelo is a wonderful resort in PVR. No complaints!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to Premium accomodations, as it is definitely worth it...free WiFi, premium beverages, perso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki110175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
8.6 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#35 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
5.9 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#25 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
7.2 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#22 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,486 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#31 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
9.3 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Puerto Vallarta

Property: Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
Address: Zona Hotelera Sur Km. 11.5, Puerto Vallarta 48294, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#20 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#29 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barceló Puerto Vallarta***** (formerly Barceló La Jolla de Mismaloya) in Puerto Vallarta, is an elegant, all-inclusive Mexican-style resort. It offers 316 completely renovated and comfortable suites with excellent service, leisure, history, beautiful scenery, exuberant flora and privacy.Relax after a hard day’s work in the hotel spa, catch some rays at one of the hotel pools or take time out to practice your favourite water sport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Barcelo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Mismaloya
Barcelo La Jolla De Mismaloya Puerto Vallarta
La Jolla Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta La Jolla De Mismaloya
Barcelo De Mismaloya
Barcelo Mismaloya Puerto Vallarta
Barcelo La Jolla Mismaloya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing