We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #35 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sidney, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Location Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This all-inclusive hotel is not in the hotel zone..actually, (almost) on its own beach, Mismaloya...and perfect for a quieter AI type of of vacation. It is also very popular with Mexican clientelle. The rooms are superb (clean, comfortable, good linens/towels, bathrooms, etc.) but are getting "tired" in decor and the fine-tuning/replacement of door/window latches. Yes, they work well, but are well used...no security problems as far as we could see...likewise anywhere on the property. The buffet restaurant had good and varied selections and the 3 a la carte restaurants were well above average. For an all-inclusive resort, a rating of 4 out of 5 is about right. For an up scale, "regular", resort hotel comparison (Four Seasons would be a 5) this resort would be a 3.5. The staff were very well trained and (seemed) happy. Visit the Zoo, close-by...its very good and unexpected in scope and the generally large and wild enclosures for the animals.
Cheers, Richard.

Room Tip: The northerly tower (#2) and floors 5 and up seemed best, especially closer to the beach. The upgrad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viceroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,810
    1,281
    502
    341
    265
See reviews for
1,466
1,551
49
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (923)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just returned from a 6 night stay. Family suite that we upgraded to Premium Club. Well worth the price of the upgrade. My adult aged kids enjoyed the premium liquors in the Club Room and we all had fun in the Games Room. The upgrade included a free city tour and a visit to Don Chendo tequila distillery which was fabulous. We found the food in the buffet to be very good and particularly liked Mexican night. Breakfasts were wonderful. Lots of fruit, pastries eggs, Mexican specialties. We had dinner one night at Tony's Hideaway, which is within walking distance, or a short cab ride. So yummy. For the most part I spent my days very happily at poolside with a drink and a book. I cannot say enough positives about the staff. A very hard working group. They went above and beyond to make sure our experience was pleasant. And like others we tipped generously for wonderful service. In particular thanks go to "Ricky Ricardo" at Los Arcos restaurant, the very busy and always friendly bartender at the swim up bar, and Umberto our favorite bellhop. The activities staff and entertainers were great too. Very humid, yet the energy level remained high. The Mexican themed show was awesome. Mariachi band and fabulous dancers. We have been to PV several times, generally staying closer to town. We decided to try Barcelo in order to experience the more tropical feel and we really enjoyed it. But it is a fair distance from downtown PV. Also had a couple of thunderstorms, which we actually enjoyed. Only lasted a brief time and did not interfere with our activities. My only negatives are related to the beach. As others have said, it is small due to erosion. The sand is rough. Must wear flip flops. We had some sand flea bites despite bug repellant, but nothing serious. One "vendor" selling drugs out of his backpack dogged my kids a bit. But all in all a fabulous time. I don't understand the previous reviewer's complaints about the front gate. We called it "good security". Thanks Barcelo!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indaluwhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PachecoR, Gerente at Barcelo Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I acknowledge receipt your comment post on June 15th, 2014.

In Barceló Puerto Vallarta we work with feelings, sensations, experiences for you to have good memories of your trip to México and specialty of Puerto Vallarta and Barceló.

We thank you very much for your kind comments this motivate us to continue improving to leave a positive mark on each and every one of our customers.

We hope you give us the pleasure of choosing us as your host to offer new and amazing experiences again.

All our best,

Rodolfo Pacheco
Gerente General / General Manager
Barceló Puerto Vallarta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Perfect vacation!! Rooms are close to the beach and pool! Food is very good! Relaxing and if you want to do something go to the beach and the locals will provide anything from fishing to zip-lining. Met lots of nice families...from Chicago, Denver, and Canada.

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to the premium! Unlimited Everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mjsg1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PachecoR, Gerente at Barcelo Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I acknowledge receipt your comment post on June 15th, 2014.

We thank you very much for your kind comments and also thank you for choosing Barceló Puerto Vallarta as your home far away from home.

We hope you give us the pleasure of choosing us as your host to offer new and amazing experiences again.

All our best,

Rodolfo Pacheco
Gerente General / General Manager
Barceló Puerto Vallarta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
203 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Barcelo is a very large all inclusive resort with a lot of amenities. The rooms and views are beautiful. However, I will focus on why I DO NOT recommend a stay here.

First and foremost, you cannot have ANY guests at the resort unless they pay $50 for a day pass. I mean they cannot even get in the gate. They cannot meet you in the lobby. They cannot even come in a cab that is dropping you off. That's right. If you have guests staying across the street, but the cab wants to drop you off first, they will not open the gate for the cab.

Our group had 7 rooms here. Everyone thought it was pretty but I don't think any would stay again. Even as a paying GUEST, getting in the gate was often difficult and could take up to 10 minutes. They use a printed list and if the person manning the gate doesn't read well, it may be a while before he finds your name.

If you are a young couple that doesn't know anyone nearby, this might be ok as long as you don't want to do anything else but go to this resort. PV is an $18 cab ride away - and $18 back.

Finally, no one in our group was younger than 32 so none of us liked the constant BOOM BOOM music that played at the pool starting around 9 every morning. There is a person who makes continual announcements that we did not understand, but were annoyed by.

If you are American and don't need all inclusive - go to the Westin Niki Beach. If you want all inclusive, I recommend the Fiesta Americana or other similar property in town. Staying here was exhausting.

Also, if you don't buy Premium, the liquor selection is terrible.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice. You want a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beccakristfelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PachecoR, Gerente at Barcelo Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I acknowledge receipt your comment posted on June 12th, 2013.

We appreciate the valuable time you are taking to share with us your comments. I take this opportunity to send you a sincere apology to not have met your expectations during your stay because for Barceló Puerto Vallarta the main goal is to fulfill the expectations of every single guest we have the pleasure to serve, as we want they back home totally satisfied and with the desire to visit us again.

Your feelings about the services you receive will be corrected immediately because your comments undoubtedly make us better every day and the standard that Barceló Hotels & Resorts offers are too high.

We know that taste is broken into genres, it is a shame we could not accommodate your tastes to enjoy a memorable holiday.

We trust to have you here again and give us the opportunity to show the true service of Barceló Puerto Vallarta with which we are building our reputation.

We do appreciate your comments this motivate us to continue improving to leave a positive mark on each and every one of our customers and once again we apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Best Regards,

Rodolfo Pacheco
Gerente General / General Manager
Barceló Puerto Vallarta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deadwood, South Dakota
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I go to all-inclusive resorts because that's what my family desires. This one is a good one. The standard rooms are suites - a living room and a bedroom. All the rooms are ocean-view, even if they're billed as pool-view. The pools are lovely, and include shallow areas for kids as well as deep areas and waterfalls and jacuzzis. The food is good. The staff are all pleasant and seem to be enjoying themselves. The beach is small but lovely and surrounded by jungle-covered mountains. The activities include kayaks and snorkeling gear. The resort is a good way out of town, a little isolated, but there's a local bus that runs every 15 minutes. It rained every day but usually for a short time in the evening and clouds gave a pleasant break from the hot sun. A lovely week of relaxation and sun.

Room Tip: You don't have to pay to upgrade to ocean-view (even if offered) because all the rooms are ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mmmm924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PachecoR, Gerente at Barcelo Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I acknowledge receipt your comment post on June 11th, 2014.

We thank you very much for your kind comments and also thank you for choosing Barceló Puerto Vallarta as your home far away from home, this motivate us to continue improving to leave a positive mark on each and every one of our customers.

Our main goal is to give to all our guest the service which we build our reputation and return home with the desire to visit us again and recommend us to their friends and family, this is the best promotion and marketing program that we can have, because we work with feelings, sensations, experiences for you to have good memories of your trip to México and specialty of Barceló.

We hope you give us the pleasure of choosing us as your host to offer new and amazing experiences again.

All our best,

Rodolfo Pacheco
Gerente General / General Manager
Barceló Puerto Vallarta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Great time had by all! Upgrade to premium and you will not be disappointed! Good food, friendly staff and a great time had by all! The only disappointment was the beach. Do not expect white sand and blue water. The sand is vey hard and the water is dark. Great for snorkeling. Overall, would return to the hotel again but was very disappointed with the beach.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PachecoR, Gerente at Barcelo Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I acknowledge receipt your comment post on June 10th, 2014.

We thank you very much for choosing Barceló Puerto Vallarta as your home far away from home. I would like to thank you also for your kind sincerity about your experience with us, this motivate us to continue improving to leave a positive mark on each and every one of our customers.

We really appreciate your openness and we hope you give us the pleasure of choosing us as your host to offer new and amazing experiences again.

All our best,

Rodolfo Pacheco
Gerente General / General Manager
Barceló Puerto Vallarta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elwood, Nebraska
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We are at least one couple that can honestly say we have come back 6 times because of the value, treatment, quietness, and cleanliness.
Some of the new additions were a new bridge over the kids pool that makes it easier to walk over and new windows in the buffet to keep the birds out. Now I did like the open air breakfasts in the morning and I feel that some of the old charm has been lost with the windows, but the trade off is air conditioning in the dining area and probably cleaner. Best of all, new entertainment! Over the years it was sort of stagnant but I must say that the new performances were a definite plus.
We did upgrade to Master Suite and were very satisfied. (It was a special year). If you want to spend more, its worth it BUT in the same breath, we will go for a regular room next time because they are super and we found that having free internet on vacation is a bother.
We will be back! Oh, and NEATTRAVEL had the best prices over FUNJET and APPLE and a host of others.

Room Tip: Upgrade ONLY if you need to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jlakemonter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PachecoR, Gerente at Barcelo Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I acknowledge receipt your comment post on June 5th, 2014.

We thank you very much for choosing Barceló Puerto Vallarta as your home far away from home again. I would like to thank you also for your kind sincerity about your experience with us, this motivate us to continue improving to leave a positive mark on each and every one of our customers.

In Barceló Puerto Vallarta we work with feelings, sensations, experiences for you to have good memories of your trip to México and specialty of Puerto Vallarta.

Thank you for your openness and we hope you give us the pleasure of choosing us as your host to offer new and amazing experiences again.

All our best,

Rodolfo Pacheco
Gerente General / General Manager
Barceló Puerto Vallarta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
8.6 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#34 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,441 reviews
5.9 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#26 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
7.2 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#22 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,431 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#31 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
9.3 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Puerto Vallarta

Property: Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
Address: Zona Hotelera Sur Km. 11.5, Puerto Vallarta 48294, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#20 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#29 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barceló Puerto Vallarta***** (formerly Barceló La Jolla de Mismaloya) in Puerto Vallarta, is an elegant, all-inclusive Mexican-style resort. It offers 316 completely renovated and comfortable suites with excellent service, leisure, history, beautiful scenery, exuberant flora and privacy.Relax after a hard day’s work in the hotel spa, catch some rays at one of the hotel pools or take time out to practice your favourite water sport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Barcelo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Mismaloya
Barcelo La Jolla De Mismaloya Puerto Vallarta
La Jolla Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta La Jolla De Mismaloya
Barcelo De Mismaloya
Barcelo Mismaloya Puerto Vallarta
Barcelo La Jolla Mismaloya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing