We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST SERVICE EVER!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #33 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Canmore, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BEST SERVICE EVER!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This was an awesome trip! :) I could not complain about one thing! The staff that worked there were AMAZING. I have done the all inclusive a few times and this place went over and beyond my expectations. We went end of June and it didn't rain as much as I was thinking it was going to rain. Also everyone was telling me NOT to go because it was going to be super HOT and HUMID. BUT>>>> It was PERFECT!!! :) Would go back in a heartbeat. OH and we also went into the city using City Transit for 80 cents and it was super safe. It was just us 2 girls in our early 30s.

Room Tip: All rooms have a pretty much awesome view. Higher floor is better :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blisska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PachecoR, Gerente at Barcelo Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,

I acknowledge receipt your comment post on July 26th, 2014.

We thank you very much for choosing Barceló Puerto Vallarta as your home far away from home. I would like to thank you also for your kind sincerity about your experience with us, this motivate us to continue improving to leave a positive mark on each and every one of our customers.

In Barceló Puerto Vallarta we work with feelings, sensations, experiences for you to have good memories of your trip to México and specialty of Puerto Vallarta and Barceló.

Thank you for your openness and we hope you give us the pleasure of choosing us as your host to offer new and amazing experiences again.

All our best,

Rodolfo Pacheco
Gerente General / General Manager
Barceló Puerto Vallarta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,860
    1,306
    509
    342
    267
See reviews for
1,502
1,580
51
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (938)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

First the Good: The hotel is absolutely gorgeous. Beautiful, lush grounds and pools. We had an oceanfront suite with a huge wraparound balcony and it was fantastic. All the rooms are large and there is no bad view of Bandaras Bay. The srvice from all hotel employees is friendly and efficient. Also, for what you pay, the value is good especially for families. The spa was first rate.

Now, the Not So Good: We thought the food in the specialty restaurants, steak house/seafood and Italian was medocre to crappy. We didn't go to the Spanish. The Buffet was good for breakfast, didn't go to lunch, and bordering on not so hot for dinners, except for the fresh fish. The beach is tiny and narrow. And the ride downtown is half an hour. Not so good when you want to get away for a better dinner. Also, there is no classy bar to go & have drinks before and after dinner, only a sports bar.

We've been to several Barcelo resorts in the Caribbean and have generally like them much better, especially Barcello Palace Deluxe in Punta Cana. I realize this is only a Barcelo Premium property, not a Barcelo Palace, but I think I'll stick with their Palace properties when just the two of us. This hotel seemed to be more oriented and better for families.

Room Tip: The Grand Oceanfront suites cannot be beat for just a little more money.2300 sq ft with huge balconi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrandMrsJNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PachecoR, Gerente at Barcelo Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,

I acknowledge receipt your comment post on July 26th, 2014. We thank you very much for your kind comments and also thank you for choosing Barceló Puerto Vallarta as your home far away from home that make us feel very special and motivate us to continue improving to leave a positive mark on each and every one of our customers..

Our main goal is to give to our entire guest the service which we built our reputation and return home with the desire to visit us again and recommend us to their friends and family, this is the best promotion and marketing program that we can have.

Your feelings about the services you mention will be corrected immediately because your comments undoubtedly make us better every day as the standard that Barceló Hotels & Resorts offers are too high.

In Barceló Puerto Vallarta we work with feelings, sensations, experiences for you to have good memories of your trip to México and specialty of Puerto Vallarta and Barceló.

We hope you give us the pleasure of choosing us as your host to offer new and amazing experiences again.

All our best,

Rodolfo Pacheco
Gerente General / General Manager
Barceló Puerto Vallarta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Went to this resort with my husband, we were upgraded without asking to an amazing room looking over the bay and the pool, it was huge and all white..stunning room! The resort was tucked away in its own bay, very private, very romantic! The a la cartes were fabulous and we were able to book very easily. The pool was great, always a lounger, not overly busy. There was only one buffet but it was really good food. The beach was great with the picturesque jungle behind, what a backdrop! you can rent a boat right from the beach to take you snorkelling and it is very reasonable! A great family restaurant right next door and massages on the beach! We were really spoiled! And most of all the staff was amazing, right from the minute we walked in until we left. This is my favorite resort I have ever been too, and there has been a lot of them over the years! We talk about this trip often and will definitely return at some point. Thanks!

Room Tip: I think the lay out of this resort makes all the rooms great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikkiWaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PachecoR, Gerente at Barcelo Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

I acknowledge receipt your comment post on July 24th, 2014.

We thank you very much for your kind comments and also thank you for choosing Barceló Puerto Vallarta as your home far away from home, this motivate us to continue improving to leave a positive mark on each and every one of our customers.

Our main goal is to give to all our guest the service which we build our reputation and return home with the desire to visit us again and recommend us to their friends and family, this is the best promotion and marketing program that we can have, because we work with feelings, sensations, experiences for you to have good memories of your trip to México and specialty of Barceló.

We hope you give us the pleasure of choosing us as your host to offer new and amazing experiences again.

All our best,

Rodolfo Pacheco
Gerente General / General Manager
Barceló Puerto Vallarta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jensen Beach, FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Our family of four (two kids 8,11) stayed at Barcelo PV June 26-July 1. As mentioned in other reviews this hotel is 20 - 30 minutes from PV depending on where you are going. We loved the location. Our check in process was fine, front desk personnel were very nice and accomodating. We actually changed our room within the first half hour of being there as we were right by the elevator and there were loud and drunk young people running and yelling in our hall. We later learned that there was a high school graduating class at the resort to celebrate. (18 is legal drinking age). Once our room was changed all was well. Rooms are large, plenty of room for the four of us. Pools were nice and clean. Food was so-so. We ate at one specialty restaurant and thought it wasn't much better than the buffet food so we didn't book any others. Breakfast was good. Everyone we encountered at the resort and out in town were super nice, from bell hop, to maids, to restaurant workers, taxi drivers, etc. We have stayed at two other AIs in the past and we felt Barcelo did not stand up to the quality of either of those. Not sure exactly what it was, but it was just ok for us. Yes! Definitely use bug spray when out on the beach or anywhere up in the hills/mountains! I came home with about 40 bites on my legs, so use the spray!!! See Lucy on the beach if you have a daughter who likes her hair braided. She did a great job. We took a boat from the beach out to Los Arcos. It was ok. Los Arcos was loaded with other large boats of people snorkeling and it felt very rushed. If you want to do a boat tour that is awesome go to Boca and book a day with Ricky or Michael. We spent an entire day with Michael and we fished, snorkeled, hiked to a beautiful waterfall and had lunch on the beach of Las Animas. You can take the bus right outside the hotel for 8 pesos each to Boca. We also booked a day ATV tour through Estigo Scooters in PV. Awesome, awesome day!!! Great people to work with, full of knowledge about the area!!! Great time on both of those excursions!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firefly925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

It was gone so fast. Went into the buffet restaurant at 8pm and left 9pm. Realized missing phone. Went back to ask at 9:10pm. No luck. Called the phone and it went straight to voicemail, which meant someone turned off the phone.

Food and drink were reasonable. Room was good. Room service kept forgetting to give us enough stuff like qtips and mouthwash, calling housing keeping didn't help - small thing but annoying.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We are headed back to Barcelo Puerto Vallarta for our fourth trip in September. I have never been to a resort as great as this place. The service is absolutely impeccable! Everyone here wants you to have a good time! The food is pretty good, and there is blow your mind cuisine just a short walk to town. The rooms are gorgeous, and the setting couldn't be more lovely. I have gone with one person, pretty fair, who had some bug bites on her legs. I guessing sand fleas. They were a mild inconvenience, but I would suggest anyone on the fair side giving their legs a spray before heading down to the beach. I used an herbal bug spray and didn't have a bite. The excursions are awesome, but I think this time the only one we will hit again is Yelapa. Super cool!! Other than that we have found a lot of fun things to do independently. We love, love, love this place. I would highly recommend it. The only disclaimer I would give is: Please leave your bad attitude at home. I really believe that the reason we are treated so well is because we are ready to have a good time. We really like the folks that work there, and that rubs off. They like us too. I think you only get what you expect. If you show up ready to have a good time, and be courteous and excited, you will!!!

Room Tip: Club Premium is well worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

From 11:00 am to 6:30 just one small restaurant is available with very limited choice. I waited for 30 min I did not get anything no food or water. If you are OK to eat twice a day you are welcome to barccelo Puerto vallarta

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beipervim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
8.6 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#36 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,551 reviews
5.9 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#24 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
515 reviews
7.2 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#23 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive
Melia Puerto Vallarta All Inclus...
#47 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,502 reviews
8.7 mi away
Krystal Puerto Vallarta
Krystal Puerto Vallarta
#58 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,486 reviews
14.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#1 of 3 in Flamingos
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Puerto Vallarta

Property: Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
Address: Zona Hotelera Sur Km. 11.5, Puerto Vallarta 48294, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#20 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#29 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barceló Puerto Vallarta***** (formerly Barceló La Jolla de Mismaloya) in Puerto Vallarta, is an elegant, all-inclusive Mexican-style resort. It offers 316 completely renovated and comfortable suites with excellent service, leisure, history, beautiful scenery, exuberant flora and privacy.Relax after a hard day’s work in the hotel spa, catch some rays at one of the hotel pools or take time out to practice your favourite water sport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Barcelo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Mismaloya
Barcelo La Jolla De Mismaloya Puerto Vallarta
La Jolla Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta La Jolla De Mismaloya
Barcelo De Mismaloya
Barcelo Mismaloya Puerto Vallarta
Barcelo La Jolla Mismaloya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing