We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was there for a day but want to come back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
Ranked #34 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Paradise, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Was there for a day but want to come back”
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Soo we got a day pass here from our cruise ship. It is in the preety south part of PA. We enjoyed the pool and the activities staff was fun but not too pushy. We tried the buffet and it was better than average for a mexico buffet. the bay that it is on is beautiful and the pools are fun. I would like to come back to stay for a little longer:)

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thedzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,810
    1,278
    501
    341
    265
See reviews for
1,463
1,550
49
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (921)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Albany, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

My husband and I stayed at Barcelo Puerto Vallarta the end of June for a vacation. Great Resort. I've stayed at three AI before. Rivieria Maya and Punta Cana had amazing beaches compared to Puerto Vallarata. The beach here is small and in a bay. We got in maybe once a day but it was never crowded bc ppl were at the pool mostly.
This was a very small resort but perfect size for us. There are only two buildings with rooms- and the rooms are amazing!! We asked for a King and all are "ocean-front" but if you get a room on the 7th or 8th floor you will have a much better view.
The food was good- not great. It's an all-inclusive so buffet style food is never going to be a 5start restaurant. There was plenty of options to please everyone. We ate at the Spanish restaurant- I enjoyed it but there was plenty of seafood options. I heard the Italian was great as well. The drinks were great- except for they never had mint for the mojitos. If you like beer, they have 3 options- and would recommend bringing a koozie unless you plan on drinking it in 2 minutes! If you get a frozen drink- ask for an add'l shot of bacardi or whatever it may be on top! They all work very hard and definitely took great care of the guests.
The activities were good for all ages- we did air riffle tourney, vball on beach, and the tequilla tour- which I HIGHLY recommend! It's free but you have to sign up a day or so before. They take you to two tequilla factories and free tequilla tasting. I also tried to take the waterfall tour- but we were too late to sign up and it was booked. But others told us it was great- and it's free! Jonny was awesome! He heads up the activities and took us out one night downtown. We had a blast! We paid $40 USD for a cab downtown, my husband had open bar, and i got one free drink and cover. Great deal and it was really fun and safe. We rented the jet skis on the beach and bargained with them and rented two jet skis for one hour for $100 total. It was a blast! We were going to do the fishing tours but they said they weren't catching much at this time of the year..
Random tips/info: when you get out of the airport, the first group of ppl are time share ppl trying to get you to tour there place, keep walking to find your shuttle person- and we used cheapcaribbean.com and they set us up with Olympus Tours- horrible experience. The rep at the hotel was very unprofessional and almost made us miss our return flight because our cab/shuttle wasn't ready...
The shows at night are geared towards children- but the karokee at the bar was hilarious
If you take a cab downtown it's about $13 and I heard you can take the bus for $1
Overall, this was a great experience. The price was very inexpensive and we would definitely go again. The Barcelo was a wonderful resort and the staff was great as well. We met some wonderful couples as well- Dan and Tal- hope to talk to you again!

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacobs7119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at the Barcelo hotel. The accomodations were perfect for families. Fantastic rooms, great service and good food. We enjoyed the layout of the pool as well. The beach is a little disappointing--very narrow and not swim friendly since the water was pretty rough. It was pretty though and we enjoyed the view.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonjaMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elwood, Nebraska
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We've been to other AI Resorts and do a lot of reviewing before we make a decision. We defiantly made the right one this time. Booked with FunJet and they met us with a glass of champagne and a bottle in the room. Very clean rooms and they kept them that way for 10 days. There were no objectionable odors like other hotels that we thought were "just the way the ocean smells".
Buffet food was very good, especially breakfast. We went to the Don Quixote and were disappointed with the food. Guess we're steak and potato people.
Pool and pool area was extremely clean and we were waited on by the staff for drinks and snacks. Please give them a tip as they work and try very hard to please you. Don't be an a** and expect to be the only one they please. Get up off your butt and get your own sometimes and not act like such a queen.
Ocean beach was the only disappointment.. Not much area and the water gets deep fast but a lot of people had fun. We are older so take that comment for what its worth.
Getting downtown was a breeze with the bus stopping right outside the hotel. Only $.80/person one way. We'll come back again if the price is the same.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlakemonter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

This is a wonderful resort. The rooms are superb and the location is great if you want to be away form the noise of the city. It is nestle in the jungle with a great beach. This is an all inclusive resort. It includes foods, drinks (alcoholic and non alcoholic) many water activities, pool games and nightly shows. During the day it has 1 buffet restaurant and a snack bar. At night it has 3 restaurants where you need to make a reservation. We ate at "Don Quijote" Spanish cousine. The food and service were top of the line. They also a a pool bar and a cantina with all you can eat good at night and life music every night.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texarkana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

My husband and I spent 4 night at the Barcelo and enjoyed it very much! The resort is beautiful and very clean! We thought the food was delicous- better than we had had at other all inclusives! All of the employees were very friendly and helpful. We only had time for a couple of excursions while we were there. The Rhythm of the Night show and dinner was great and the Canopy ziplines were awesome (other than the Long climbs up!) We also did the hr. massage on the beach and it was great- $50 total! The only gripe I have about the Barcelo is that internet access was not included in our all inclusive and it costs $9 for an hr and you have to use it all at one time. The beach is also small, which was ok with us and the beach vendors are a bit annoying.

Tip for air travelors- go straight to the airport doors when you get your luggage. We were mobbed by people when we got off the plane and were taken to a person we thought was representing our hotel at first. But, it was actually time share people! We wasted several of our vacation hrs dealing with these people!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hothead745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2010

Our vacation at Barcelo de Mismaloya in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico was unforgettable. It was mostly overcast when we went on our vacation, but the friendliness of the staff more than made up for it! The rooms were impeccable, the service was top notch, and the food was ok which was expected from reading the reviews. The resort was in a remote location away from the the city which worked out for us since we needed to get away from our usual busy schedule. All in all what an amazing time! We would like to thank Jaime (Font Desk), Carlos (Bell Man), Leticia (Pool Waitress), Enrique (Beach Waiter), and Edgar (Pool bartender) who went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and at home. We will definitely come back and recommend this resort along with the excursions we did with Vallarta Adventures.
On the downside, our only complaint from our trip was with US Air. Our flight there and back was from hell due to the incompetence and lack of organization of US Airlines. Note to self if you are reading this, fly with another airline and Run from US Air!!!
P.S. If you have a connecting flight in Phoenix and in the mood for a horrible service, feel free to see Tracy with US Air. She's your go to girl to make sure you have a terrible experience flying.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peachu704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Vallarta
8.6 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#35 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
2,434 reviews
7.2 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#22 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
2,464 reviews
5.9 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#26 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
9.1 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#31 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
1,790 reviews
9.3 mi away
Velas Vallarta
Velas Vallarta
#5 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Puerto Vallarta

Property: Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
Address: Zona Hotelera Sur Km. 11.5, Puerto Vallarta 48294, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#20 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#29 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barceló Puerto Vallarta***** (formerly Barceló La Jolla de Mismaloya) in Puerto Vallarta, is an elegant, all-inclusive Mexican-style resort. It offers 316 completely renovated and comfortable suites with excellent service, leisure, history, beautiful scenery, exuberant flora and privacy.Relax after a hard day’s work in the hotel spa, catch some rays at one of the hotel pools or take time out to practice your favourite water sport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Barcelo, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Mismaloya
Barcelo La Jolla De Mismaloya Puerto Vallarta
La Jolla Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta La Jolla De Mismaloya
Barcelo De Mismaloya
Barcelo Mismaloya Puerto Vallarta
Barcelo La Jolla Mismaloya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing