We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Las Palmas by the Sea
Ranked #31 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Everything about this hotel was great. The staff, the food, the locals. Everyone was friendly and made you feel welcome. The activities crew were the highlight of the trip. Sofia, Christian and Luiz are all amazing, outgoing and friendly people and made my vacation one of the best i've ever had. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jcs14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,021)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

481 - 487 of 2,022 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2013

We thought we would give another resort a try in our much loved Puerto Vallarta, I must say I was a bit sceptical because I had read some of the reviews on Tripadvisor.ca but thought that it would be ok, oh my gosh what a mistake !! as soon as we got to the resort we thought it looks nice then we were shown to our "Delux ocean view room" which we paid extra for, we were shocked at the state of the room, it was old and run down, you could not lean on the belcony due to the old peeling paint and dirt that stuck to you !! the whole room was unclean and un-cared for the mirrors in the room had not been cleaned nor had the bathroom, we really did not want to stay so we went to front desk and asked for another room which they gave us, however the next room was just the same, so I asked for the Nolitours rep to find us another Hotel as we did not want to stay, which they did however due to it being Easter weekend they could not get into our usual Hotel until the next day, we stayed as we had no choice, the food in the buffet was ok and the pool area was nice but the pumping techno music and noisy party people till late, slaming doors people arguing late into the night did not make for a peaceful night. the only nice thing about this hotel is the staff who were very nice, my suggestion is if you want a nice relaxing holiday in a nice room (and we all like a nice clean relaxing room on vacation ) is do not stay at this hotel the owners need to up date the hotel and do renovations as the location is good, sorry to say that we would never stay there again.

Room Tip: Dont bother getting a delux room as they are awful the beds are hard you can get a foam topper if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 457stringbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We have spend a few weeks in beautiful Las Palmas by the sea in February, coming home in March.
It is the most relaxing place, good food very attentive porters, waiters and front desk staff.
The rooms kept very clean and if you do not like something, just ask, they are more then happy to accomodate you.
This was not our first time, we keep coming back . because we like it very much, it is the best spot right on the ocean.You can walk to the city and the marina.
There is 24 hour security, we always felt safe there.
Their price is very reasonable as well. Peter and Maria

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This was our first time at Las Palmas. We chose this resort due to the great reviews on Tripadvisor and the price. This little resort has a lot going for it. The location was perfect - between downtown and the airport. We walked back from 'el centro' one day and it took us 45 minutes along the beach. There is shopping close by especially if you like to check out Soriana that offers a little bit of everything. The staff at Las Palmas is friendly, outgoing and personable. Manuel and David knew our drink orders at the bar by day 2. The room was clean and quaint. Las Palmas wasn't overbearing like some of the giant resorts. This is a Mexican style resort with authentic Mexican food - which was good. The beds are hard and the rooms can be a little noisy but the pros totally outweigh the cons (and they respond to noise complaints). Hopefully we'll be returning soon!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are nice - try to get one above the adult pool though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank megs0918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We went back to Las Palmas on March 9th for 2 weeks. Not may changes since 2011 and it was a great 2 weeks. Rooms do need updating, but comfortable and we had a fantastic view - oceanfront with north, south and west unobstructed views. Watched whales and dolphins swimming by! Great to see same staff - Antonio (bellhop) Edgar and Victor and Carmen at the bars, and various servers in the main restaurant - all who were excellent. Main buffet restaurant featured different dishes everyday - we had turkey, roast beef, pork roast, and chicken and of course the fish is to die for! A bit disappointed in the a la carte restaurant this time, but friends we met went on a different evening and said it was great. This is a small resort set right on the ocean - so everything (including restaurants) is Oceanside which is fantastic. It is very clean and friendly and the staff go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. We visited the Zoo (which is a bit of a hidden secret) but very enjoyable, with opportunity to pet baby lion, tigers and hold the monkeys! Quite inexpensive and you can feed most of the animals with food purchased for 50 pesos at the entrance (located by Mismaloya). Would definitely recommend this resort to anyone who is not looking for a 5 star resort, as you would be disappointed) Be sure to request oceanview room and if you require a fridge, request a studio unit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MoiKen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I have stayed at this resort February 2012,2011,2010. The value is great, but you do get what you pay for. The alcohol is not top quality, but it suffices if you drink enough and the beer is decent. Our rooms have always been cleaned in a timely matter.

The food is typical buffet food. I do like the omelette made to order at breakfast, wide variety of fruit, and yogurt with granola. At night I usually enjoy the pasta station. On Thursday's they always have the Mexican festival with entertaining dancers, as well nightly they have a little production on the stage near the bar. The Grease production is always charming. The Guac at the snackbar is amazing, you have to ask for it though as it's kept in the fridge out of sight.

They have free wifi in the lobby, you just need to ask for the password from the front desk. We love the bartender Manuel, he is accommodating and super friendly. Also in the morning their is an older gentleman server who's name I can not remember who is entertaining, always asks if you want tequila at breakfast. The al a carte once per week that you need to make a reservation, the food is really good. I recommend the mushroom soup so delicious, also love the little buns with creamcheese filling in them.

The rooms are quaint, if you get an oceanview room they are quite larger and the view is fantastic. They do have hairdryers, and you get travel size shampoo, skin lotion, tiny bars of soap. We did once stay on bottom floor next to the stage, quite noisy with dancers practicing in the morning. Also we did have a little gecko visitor crawling on the wall at night that my boyfriend thought was a huge bug or something as he couldn't see it quite right in the dark. The beds however are hard as a rock, ask for a foamy at the front desk. There are no coffee makers or mini fridges in rooms.

The staff are always pleasant and friendly. They will also try very hard to please and accommodate you, please remember to tip. Even though travel websites says tips are included with AI they really are not. The walk from hotel to malecon is about 30 mins at a leisurely pace, easier to hop on local bus at the end of the cobblestone road on the main street, costs like 6-7 pesos. There is also a liquor store at the end of the cobblestone road as well.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Oceanview, larger room with fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

The food and drinks were so-so, and the hotel is small. The activities crew made up for all of the rest. Sofie,Christian and Luis were awesome and entertained us all day!!! They made us forget those things and we has the time of our lives! I would go back just because of them!

Room Tip: We like 051 ground level however you can hear the disco at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 57sonjalevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
1.0 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#19 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
1,955 reviews
1.1 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#26 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,592 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#24 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Reso...
#34 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
2,499 reviews
0.4 mi away
Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive Family Resort
Friendly Vallarta All Inclusive ...
#20 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,193 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Co...
#28 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
3,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Palmas by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palmas by the Sea

Address: Blvd. Francisco Medina Ascencio Km 2.5, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range: £79 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Las Palmas by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the most refreshing way to vacation in Puerto Vallarta. Unwind together in our oceanfront Jacuzzi with panoramic view. Play in our two sparkling pools. Enjoy our beach club, with its wide range of activities. Indulge in a soothing massage. Treat your palate to delicious cuisine and cocktails at our restaurants and bars. Check out our nightly shows. At Las Palmas by the Sea you will enjoy your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Las Palmas by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Palmas By The Sea Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Las Palmas Puerto Vallarta
Las Palmas Sea Puerto Vallarta
Las Palmas Resort
Las Palmas Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing