We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay away from this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Las Palmas by the Sea
Ranked #43 of 126 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stay away from this hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Worst Hotel I've ever been in :
- Old place with very small beach.
- Very noisy all the time even at 4 Am.
- Worst food and drink service.
- Not clean at all.
Wasn't worse the money at all! I could find way better hotel with the same amount of money in that area. Stay away from this Hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Awab G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    534
    335
    158
    135
See reviews for
519
455
62
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We are not picky travelers. We were pleasantly surprised by the clean room and though it did not have an ocean view, it had a nice view of the Sierra Madres. The food, while never stellar in the buffet area, was just fine. The over-use of hot dogs and sliced deli ham was odd, but we chose other dishes. The fresh fruit selection was awesome. We tried to sit in the same area each day and I guess we lucked out by never, ever, in the whole week were there, having to wait in any line. Yolanda and Pedro took such good care of us. We tipped them at the end of even got a hug from Yolanda. Our one "formal" dinner included in our package deal was REALLY good. The waiter started our a little crabby but was fine by the end of the meal. We did not come to PV to spend our time sitting by a pool so if there were issues w/ towels and lounger availability, we missed it...on purpose. The activities pool was full of children and their parents listening to cheesy techno music. This we avoided as well...on purpose. Our free time, when not eating and enjoying the ocean view while chatting and sipping cocktails was spent exploring the area. We learned the bus system and used it to its fullest going by bus to El Centro many times, the Malecon, Boca de Tomatlan, then a Water Taxi to Yelapa and back and to Sayulita by bus...twice! We avoided being roped into the 'adventure tours' b/c we could do much of that on our own, as well as avoiding the offer to give us each $100 to do a timeshare tour. "No, gracias" is something we did get REALLY sick of saying. The beach vendors are incessant and honestly are the only things that seriously took away from an otherwise wonderful trip. The beach in front of the hotel was nice and we spent a lot of time pecking around for sea glass, shells, worn tiles, etc. We found quite a bit. I guess I don't understand why you would go to PV and want to spend all of your time at your hotel. We avoided both pools and the, in my opinion, lame "shows" every night and opted for off-premise options. For internet, we went a block to Office Depot. 6 pesos for 15 minutes. Another place we fell in love with was Camarones Express, a little taco hut two blocks from the hotel. We didn't have to work too hard to escape the children or getting sucked into tourist trap stuff. The beds were firm but not "hard" as some have stated. The vents in the restrooms are open to the outside. Close the bathroom door. Problem solved. Plenty of hot water. Who cares about tiny ants around the sink, you're in the tropics! Buy a case of cheap bottled water at the liquor store on the corner. If the only noise complaints I have revolve around the occasional slamming door and the parrots near the entrance squawking fairly early in the morning, then that's pretty impressive. I am seriously glad that we missed the spring breakers. I'm sure it'd be a whole different review. The children present were bad enough. Nothing against them, we're just not children people. Can't imagine being caught up in the mess that is Spring Break.

Room Tip: We stayed in 442. No ocean view, but a great view of the mountains. Early squawking parrots includ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dutchtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cold lake, alberta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We recently stayed March 29-April 5. As other reviewers stated not as fancy and other places, but nice. We didn't get up extra early to reserve a lounger by the pool but opted for the ocean. Sometimes late afternoon there was openings around the pool. That's what we came for to enjoy the beach. We never had a problem finding a seat there, and if there was no seats we sat on our towels. It never took long for a few seats to come up. Just around the rock bluff is some beautiful beach areas that our very quiet we enjoyed many times just sitting in the sand there. The food was average on the buffet. We always looked for what they were cooking so it was warm. The pasta was actually very good as were the omelets in the morning. The Al a Carte was also good although food could have been a lot warmer. Our room was clean and beds firm, but we liked them. We only had issues with fighting neighbours at 3 in the morning, but once security showed up it quieted down. The entertainment was not the greatest and found the language barrier a bit of an issue. Found the activities staff to be a little scarce or unidentifiable, didn't see a lot of activity around the pool. We brought our own Frisbees so had fun on our own on the beach. All in all we enjoyed our trip but don't think we would pick this resort again. We definitely recommend the Pirate Ship in the evening. It was a night full of laughter and fun.

Room Tip: Ocean view over the Adult Pool is definitely the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kargra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We just returned from Las Palmas (Mar22/29 2014) Air Transat all inclusive.

Agreed there should be a few more loungers available so ya don't have to get up at 6 am to secure one with a towel, but had I not I would have missed the fantastic view of morning, mountains and Mexico, so I suppose it works for the best as it is.
Our room was 417, which was an astounding evening view of cruise and pirate ships, candle lanterns and fireworks, but we seldom sat there as there always seemed to be people to meet and enjoy the sights from the Oceanside patio bar. The boom was always tidy , even the odd procedure of removing the towels around 10 am, presumably to wash and return later in the day pretty son became normal. I read about the hard beds, and granted they were firm but I heard this is good for you and why not try something different on vacation.
I was a little disappointed in the discriminatory practice of insisting men have to wear shirts with sleeves in the central outdoor buffet while the girls and birds did not, however, my transat rep (who was very nice) and approachable explained that men apparently have "things that live under their arms" that can fly out and spoil others dining experience seemed a little implausible it did make it a little inconvenient to have to carry a sleeved shirt all the time.
The food might not be the top reason to stay at this resort, but it got the job done and I left as nourished as I had arrived.
One might want to be wary of the beach vendors, especially the jet ski people who do not always document the time you leave then claim you were out twice as long, demanding double the payment and threatening to call the police if you do not pay up.
The central court has a amazing breeze all the time and the on site convenience store staff are helpful and accommodating. Las Palmas has this kinda jungle bridge like walkways between the buildings and floors which gives it a very unique feel.
Overall I found the place and the people very pleasant (except for the quebecqois, but it's kinda like that everywhere) unless you want to sit under the palms by the pool, one hardly notices them. But the rest are an eclectic mix of Mexicans Americans and Canadians blue collar folk

Room Tip: Ocean view is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank birdshillbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at many places in PV and Las Palmas was not as fancy of a place compared to others the food was average and the rooms were what was expected since it is an older hotel, beds a little hard no mini bars.. Etc. More loungers by the pool is really needed. The activities staff definitely made the time there enjoyable. Oscar was fabulous at the aqua aerobics and activities in the pool his english was great, Luis was great to they both had an energy that was contagious. They were both hardworking and attentive, but very fun and free spirited, meeting them here was a pleasure and they made up for other areas that were lacking. So great friendly staff and that is whats important to me

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cachetona10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milton, ontario
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed here from March 20-27th 2014. Second trip back and still the same warm friendly staff. Upon arriving with my sister Antonio came over and gave me a big hug and recognized me from 4 years ago. Our room had an ocean view that I upgraded to and the soft sound of the ocean was all we heard before going to sleep. Rooms are still very clean and fresh linen every second day. The buffet has still many choices and breakfast with the great variety of fruit and fresh omlettes is great. When we went to the bar David recoginized me immediately and again hugs and welcome back. Edgar still has the same smiling face and so wonderful to be remembered. We love the fact that a lot of Mexican's stay here and you get to mix with them as well. If you are looking for a clean friendly hotel without a lot of fuss etc.stay here and just enjoy. A little noisy at times but usually the Canadian's having a little too much tequila that caused this. Thanks to all I have named and many more I did not for a lovley week.

Room Tip: Choose one with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sussiMilton_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We were a little leery when we booked because we knew that the university students would be there. But we enjoyed them at the bar at night and came to know some of them. We were lucky that we never heard them at night. Yes the beds were hard but the pillows were fantastic. Ester cleaned our room beautifully, the floors were spotless. Edgar kept us entertained every night, and on his night off we went to bed early. Alejandro came to know us and called us Mumma and Papa, he would see us coming and our wine glasses were filled and waiting for us. Security was not easily identified and when we needed them, could not be found and the girl in the security office did not speak English or refused too. The pool lounges were an issue but my husband was up early and got us ours. Some more umbrellas would be nice. The area around the adult pool is small but at least 20 more lounges could be placed, need to be a little creative. The food was good, not always hot, but were told to take our plates to the grill where they could be warmed. The fish soup was delicious as was the carrot soup. The drinks and wine were good, and the food was good also at the a la carte . If the lounges weren't such as issue we would return. When we arrived we knew we needed a key for the safe and a remote so there was no problem.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with a balcony preferably over looking the adult pool and above the 2nd fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chickmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
2.4 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#29 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,431 reviews
0.9 mi away
Los Tules Resort
Los Tules Resort
#48 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#25 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villas Vallarta by Canto del Sol
Villas Vallarta by Canto del Sol
#64 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resort
Plaza Pelicanos Club Beach Resor...
#44 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,898 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort
Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Reso...
#36 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Palmas by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palmas by the Sea

Property: Las Palmas by the Sea
Address: Blvd. Francisco Medina Ascencio, Km 2.5, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Las Palmas by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the most refreshing way to vacation in Puerto Vallarta. Unwind together in our oceanfront Jacuzzi with panoramic view. Play in our two sparkling pools. Enjoy our beach club, with its wide range of activities. Indulge in a soothing massage. Treat your palate to delicious cuisine and cocktails at our restaurants and bars. Check out our nightly shows. At Las Palmas by the Sea you will enjoy your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Las Palmas by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Palmas By The Sea Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Las Palmas Puerto Vallarta
Las Palmas Sea Puerto Vallarta
Las Palmas Resort
Las Palmas Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing