We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #30 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
GreenLeadersSilver level
fairbanks
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best in PV”
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I've been staying at this hotel since it opened. The staff is one of the best. The grounds are gorgeous and they are always cleaning. The rooms in the hotel all have ocean views. It is well worth the extra to upgrade to the club level that offers a wonderful continental breakfast and appetizers and wine and champagne of an evening. The resort rooms are lovely. Two wonderful pools with swim up pool bars and the best bartenders in PV. Location can't be beat. A nice 20 minute walk to the Malecon and Old Town. Free Wi-FI. Tennis courts. From the time you arrive they make you feel special. A must place to stay. This year went down in Nov. and stayed til mid Jan. Xmas and New Year can be a little busy.

Room Tip: any corner rooms are a bit larger. All have ocean view unless on the low floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shuffleFairbanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,687
    1,099
    443
    177
    151
See reviews for
1,096
1,202
125
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (845)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We have been coming to Puerta Vallarta for years. Many eons ago used to stay at Camino Real which is now all inclusive Dreams resort a distance from town. At first was concerned the Sheraton might be toooo close to town but now find it one of its great features. Topping the list of its attractiveness though is the friendliness and concern of the staff. They remember us from year to year and cannot do enough for us.

The rooms while dated are lovely and clean and well maintained. The swimming pool is terrific, the activities great and the restaurants lovely. It is like coming home to visit the Sheraton every January. My only quibble might be the lack of good Wi Fi connections and the high price to use the business center computers. We usually walk two blocks away to the MEGA store where you can buy 5 hours for about $3.50 good for 15 days. But I guess not being able to use the computer all the time adds to the laid back charm of this wonderful place.

Room Tip: Pay extra and stay on club floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Our yearly trip to Mexico once again included the Sheraton Buganvillias Resort. We stayed over Christmas and New Years and once again received the excellent services that we expect and get at Sheraton properties across North America. Good location to walk to the Malecon and the staff certainly does their jobs when it comes to maintaining a pristine resort. Timeshares are just a matter of ignoring them and don't fall for any ot their usual tactics of pretending to be helpful and the presentation will only take 1 hour to complete and you will be under no obligation to buy. If you aren't interested just tell them and why waste a half a day of your vacation being pressured into buying. Great time and great resort as our family has grown to expect.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shunka27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We booked this through one of those programs where you don't know the name of the hotel until it's confirmed. When this hotel came up I was a little concerned as I know it is one of the older hotels in the Hotel Zone. It was a pleasant surprise to arrive at the hotel and find it so well maintained, everything spotlessly clean and a very confortable room. The staff here are very well trained and serve you in a very friendly but professional manner with the exception of some rather surly service at the main restaurant which was inconsistent with the over all experience. The views are incredible and why it was built without balconies in a real shame and something of a deal breaker for me - if I were travelling with small children the way the windows open would creep me out as well. The pool and grounds are lovely and even over the holidays the proverbial 'saving of pool chairs' wasn't too bad as we always found a spot we were happy with. There is an annoying sound system by the pool which seems to be talked into at nauseam as you can't decipher a word said because it is so bad. The location is handy to walk into town and that is a plus. Would I go back? Probably not as I was reminded that the big resort scene is not my preference but would also say we did get great value for what we paid.

Room Tip: There is an upgrade option offered at checkin for the 'club' floor which includes breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Latetripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARTENSVILLE
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

For ease of reading, I will try to put this in point form.
First, the pros:
-Location is incredible, walking distance to downtown, great views of all of Banderas Bay from your room.
-Hotel is extremely clean and well cared for, housekeeping does an amazing job.
-Beautiful pool area and grounds, well maintained and clean.
-Food choice and quality is outstanding, service in buffet restaurant is great.
-Lulu (concierge) and Paula (Air Transat rep) were great, gave us lots of tips about taxis, buses, tours etc..thanks ladies!
-Hotel manager was very accomodating; gave us a great deal on our last day there when our plane didn't leave until 2am the next morning. This was not part of our vacation package so we would have had to pay full price for another day..thanks Paula for setting it up.

Now for the cons:
- When your flight leaves at 2 AM and checkout is at 11 AM, maybe the hotel and transat could get together and include that last 12 hrs in your package as a way of saying "thanks for staying with us..here is a courtesy to you." Just a thought.
-THE TIME SHARE WRANGLERS NEED TO STOP!! We arrived at 3am; when we stepped off the elevator at 10am for breakfast we were stopped by what we thought was the concierge desk. Next thing we knew, we were roped into a timeshare presentation (sorry Paula, this is why we missed our orientation). What was supposed to be 90 minutes max turned into 5 HOURS..they wouldnt take no for an answer. Maybe ask yourself if you feel like wasting half a day of your holiday for a presentation your probably not going to buy.
-Some of the staff were not friendly and did not seem like they liked their jobs. Some were rude and not accomodating. Pool bar staff..
-Wifi was terrible although they have been working to fix this, you had to basically hang out of your window to get a signal. (not terribly important since you are on holidays right?)
-We bought an all inclusive package that included Club Level services, but not all the services we paid for were included.
IE: Butler service was included in package..did not exist any longer. (not like we needed one but we paid for it..Transat should take it out of their package details.)
ALL inclusive should mean just that. Not to be told certain drinks are not included in a very expensive ALL inclusive package.
We were led to believe we were getting an upgraded room on the club Level. (floor 23). We did get a room on floor 23, but it was not upgraded. When we asked we were told those rooms were on floor 21. What is the point of paying for club level? Be aware when you look at rooms online they do show the upgraded rooms, doesn't mean you will get that room. That being said our room was clean and sufficient.
Bar fridge was paid for to be used and restocked daily. The attendant would come in, look in the fridge...leave it open like he was coming back with drinks...and never returned..MORE THAN ONCE..???

Don't get me wrong, this is a beautiful hotel with overall great people and great service. Some of these issues are daily pains of running a big resort and you can't please all the people all the time. I am not trying to pick the place apart, but the only frustrating thing is when you pay ALOT of money to vacation, you hope you are going to get what you are paying for.

Room Tip: Top floor boasts great views and further away from noisy bar area. Ask for a master suite if availab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WARREN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buganviliasrp, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Dear guests from Martensville:

Thank you for the great feedback you have provided. This level of detail is important for us so we know exactly how we can improve for future experiences.

I appreciate the credit you have granted for our service and facilities pros and, specially, for the recognition you give to our concierge Lulu, she will be proud to hear your compliments. I'll certainly review the overall performance of the service provided by the lobby sales staff to ensure we are able to provide the best service possible moving forward.

We deeply regret your dissatisfaction with some of our services that you encountered, I appreciate the comments that you have shared and we certainly look forward to your return.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince Rupert, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We stayed one week at the hotel, other than the wifi. The hotel was great, staff were great especially Lulu who was very kind and patient, gave us a whole lot of tips. PV is very safe and would return.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view - very nice, wanted to upgrade to a balcony, if we did it would not come with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa60119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

if you are a family, this is a decent, typical sheraton. i was on a very high club floor and the room had a beautiful view of the ocean.

the club lounge is a stingy, lame, embarassment to the sheraton brand. their offerings are very poor. not enough food, the food they do have is cheap and unappetizing.

the hotel clearly has an employee fraud problem. for example, posters are placed throughout the property explaining that no cash is accepted, anywhere on the premises. of course, while eating at the pool restaurant, our waiter offered to give us a discount if we paid in cash instead of a credit card. obviously, the waiter is pocketing the cash. (typical of american-heavy tourist towns in mexico, really. just about everybody down there sees american green in their eyes and they are motivated to profit somehow from it.)

pool restaurant food was pretty decent, unremarkable.

the pool area is nice but it's a typical "family" pool, full of shrieking kids. fun for your wife and kids, not so much fun for the single traveler who has to listen to them all, instead of having some peace and quiet.

the RATE is what really stood out here. if you book directly on the MEXICAN site, and not the US Starwood site, you will find a significantly cheaper set of rates, that suddenly make this "okay" property actually quite attractive.

another benefit to this property is its location - it is further south than most of the big chain hotels, so if you want to go into town a lot, instead of hibernating at the hotel, it's convenient for that. the Westin PV is a much, much nicer property, but it's further north, toward the airport, and coming to/from the Westin takes much longer in a cab.

the WIFI is TERRIBLE. there are very few places where you get a good signal. you absolutely CANNOT get work done, while staying at this property. at best, the wifi is good enough for some very basic, very very slow, social/news surfing. if you have an actual need for legitimate internet access, do NOT stay here, although you should also know about PV, that internet access seems to suck all over town.

also the hotel security is pretty aggressive, they do not let people in and out of the lot very easily, so be warned, if you plan on inviting visitors over, etc.

they also try to make you wear a tacky white wristband while you are staying there. i refused, and carried the wristband with me, instead.

Room Tip: higher floors mean a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ilovestayinginhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buganviliasrp, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear Guest from California:

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet the expectations that previous Sheraton Hotels have provided for you. One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future. Thank you for your comments about your insatisfaction with the club lounge available service and for the your comment about the situation encountered with the pool staff – we would like to be able to correct this immediately. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel's email so I can investigate this further, as I would appreciate the chance to prevent similar events from occurring.

If you have any further questions or comments, please let me know.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.4 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#22 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,509 reviews
1.8 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#28 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,489 reviews
1.8 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#25 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#35 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Mexican Charm All Inclusive
Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel & Me...
#21 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,700 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
Hotel Casa Dona Susana
#23 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center

Property: Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Address: Boulevard Medina Ascencio 999 | Zona Hotelera las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#18 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#26 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#30 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relish the sun, the ocean, the extended landscaping, the entire exhuberant nature of the tropic from your own Deluxe ocean view room or the unique Ocean Front Shertaon Club Level. A few steps away from traditional downtown and 4 miles from Vallarta's International Airport. Appreciate a peaceful afternoon stroll on renovated Malecon and savor the friendliness of the locals; admire the city's distinctive architecture with red-tiled roofs, lush tropical gardens, cobblestone streets and the Guadalupe church.Enjoy our fine cuisine restaurants and bars, shop a variety of clothing, silver and souvenirs in the boutiques, and relax in the SPA taking an unparalleled massage in our unique cabin's next to the ocean or immersed in lush gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Buganvilias Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort And Convention Center
Sheraton Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing