We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel but terrible front beach” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #23 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good hotel but terrible front beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

The hotel has great amenities but if you stay there expect to use it only to sleep. The front beach has way too many rocks and you can't swim, I even cut my foot with one sharp rock.

Out of this the hotel has great food for breakfast, conformable rooms and a big swimming pool.

Room Tip: Beach view may be better but garden view is also fine if you are not into scenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Artemisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Fernando G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 9 January 2015
Dear guest:
We are really happy to hear that you had a wonderful time during your vacations in our resort, please let us host your next vacations in Puerto Vallarta so we can continue having memorable times together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,605
    1,049
    430
    174
    147
See reviews for
1,028
1,153
125
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (809)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Love this resort. We own a Imperial and 2 studios, crazy but we love it here. Been traveling to PVR for 36 years, been at this Sheration for over 20 years, when our daughters were young now we come with grandchildren! Best service like familia. thank you. we do not like all inclusive love our breakfast in La Vitla but enjoy dinner in town somewhere and we have our favs

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HapyTrls1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Fernando G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 9 January 2015
Dear guest:
We are really happy to hear that you had a wonderful time during your vacations in our resort, please let us host your next vacations in Puerto Vallarta so we can continue having memorable times together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I went here a few years ago and had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The view from the room seems straight out of a magazine and the staff were very friendly.

Be sure to eat from their in house restaurant at least once as they go out of their way with decor.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 101Jessy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Fernando G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 9 January 2015
Dear guest:
We are really happy to hear that you had a wonderful time during your vacations in our resort, please let us host your next vacations in Puerto Vallarta so we can continue having memorable times together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We came to Puerto Vallarta for an International Living conference on retiring overseas. The temperatures were always in the mid-nineties as were the humidity ratings.

The hotel did its best to make our stay wonderful. Our room (for an upgrade of $30 a night) was on the 21st floor and very spacious and afforded us an astonishing view of the bay below. The daily room rate ended up at about $180 a night, but this included a free continental breakfast and a fully satisfying set of appetizers in the afternoon in the Club Room on the 23rd (top) floor of the hotel. We highly recommend the service and gracious attitudes of the staff in the Club Room, especially Arnulfo who provided us with everything we wished and a smiling countenance at every moment.

The views from our room were superlative…. The bay, 100 yards away, the nighttime views of Puerto Vallarta lit up for excitement…the vendors on the beach selling highly-crafted silver jewelry for highly-approprate (if negotiated) prices.

There were no bad surprises. The dining rooms and buffet were not cheap, but they were bounteous and tasteful.

The staff was engaging and lovely.

But, don't walk down the streets of Puerto Vallarta in late June and expect to come back with unsoiled clothing.

Room Tip: Consider the upgrade to get a room on the top five floors. The views are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonathanSwiftTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Fernando G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 9 January 2015
Dear guest:
We are really happy to hear that you had a wonderful time during your vacations in our resort, please let us host your next vacations in Puerto Vallarta so we can continue having memorable times together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas / Fort Worth
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

This was our first time staying at a U.S. based hotel chain in Mexico. We normally stay at Riu resorts with their all inclusive packages. Since we are members of SPG, we thought we'd give Sheraton's new All Inclusive package a try...overall it was just okay.

The hotel interior really needs to be updated. The room was very sparse with decor. Very dated and they really need updates to the furniture, bathrooms, etc. The bed was nice though. On the flip side, the outside pool areas were great. If the resort would update the interiors, it would be a lot better.

One thing that did bother us is the constant pitching for time-shares at the resort. You think the concierge staff is being helpful and engaging you in conversation, but what they are really doing is setting you up and pitching to you to attend a time-share presentation. "It's only 90 minutes..." they say. Still, I didn't come on vacation to be lured into a marketing presentation.

The "beach" was sandy inside the roped-off resort / cabana areas, but the main beach area was literally rocks/stones. So if you're looking for a nice sandy beach to walk along in the morning or at sunset, this isn't it. Head up to Nuevo Vallarta for a much nicer beach.

The resort is close to downtown Puerto Vallarta. It's only a 20 minute walk to the main tourist area.

Overall, it was an okay resort. We'll probably stick to non-U.S. based resorts moving forward for any all inclusive packages in Mexico.

Room Tip: When you check in and get a room number like "1324" - it isn't on the 13th floor, it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank briancpenrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Fernando G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 9 January 2015
Dear guest:
We are really happy to hear that you had a wonderful time during your vacations in our resort, please let us host your next vacations in Puerto Vallarta so we can continue having memorable times together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carbondale, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

My family of five had a wonderful relaxing vacation at this hotel. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. The pool staff was great, but the butlers on the club level are what will keep us going back year after year. Arnulfo, Efrain, Ernesto, and Candelrio were extremely helpful and kind. They were like family to us by end of the two weeks. The beds were nice and comfy, and the rooms stayed pleasant despite the extreme heat. They also had the best exchange rate we came across. The drinks in the bar were good.

Room Tip: If you can, choose the club level. It's worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Fernando G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 8 January 2015
Dear guest:
We are really happy to hear that you had a wonderful time during your vacations in our resort, please let us host your next vacations in Puerto Vallarta so we can continue having memorable times together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Efrain Claudio, an excellent employee. Very attendant and very helpful. You should contrat more people like him. He was very polite. I'm definetly coming back and when I do, I want him to be the one who welcome me and all that. Sheraton was a great adventure and I loved the hotel and facilities.. Te view was great and the room was very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WenWendii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Fernando G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 8 January 2015
Dear guest:
We are really happy to hear that you had a wonderful time during your vacations in our resort, please let us host your next vacations in Puerto Vallarta so we can continue having memorable times together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.4 mi away
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great Moments All Inclusive
Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Great...
#20 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,377 reviews
1.7 mi away
Los Arcos Suites
Los Arcos Suites
#24 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
1.7 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#29 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#34 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,372 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta
The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto ...
#27 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & ...
#25 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center

Property: Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
Address: Boulevard Medina Ascencio 999 | Zona Hotelera las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#15 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#26 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#30 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relish the sun, the ocean, the extended landscaping, the entire exhuberant nature of the tropic from your own Deluxe ocean view room or the unique Ocean Front Shertaon Club Level. A few steps away from traditional downtown and 4 miles from Vallarta's International Airport. Appreciate a peaceful afternoon stroll on renovated Malecon and savor the friendliness of the locals; admire the city's distinctive architecture with red-tiled roofs, lush tropical gardens, cobblestone streets and the Guadalupe church.Enjoy our fine cuisine restaurants and bars, shop a variety of clothing, silver and souvenirs in the boutiques, and relax in the SPA taking an unparalleled massage in our unique cabin's next to the ocean or immersed in lush gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Buganvilias Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort And Convention Center
Sheraton Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing