We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One fabulous garden paradise!”
Review of Los Tules Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Los Tules Resort
Ranked #48 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
La Mesa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One fabulous garden paradise!”
Reviewed 7 February 2011

It is not the cheapest place in Puerto Vallarta, but we love it. We have been going to Los Tules for more than 20 years. We love it! My children are now bringing their children; we all consider it a home away from home--or better! There are 11 pools, tennis courts, beach, pleasant restaurant with an excellent menu, and excellent maid service. Because many of the condos are year-round ownership by Mexicans, the opportunity for cross-cultural experiences in the pools is wonderful. The shopping mall across the street has everything a tourist needs including an excellent grocery store with a good deli and bakery.

Even in the summer, Puerto Vallarta is a good place to vacation.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WatermelonLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    178
    64
    31
    43
See reviews for
195
107
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2010

Relentless timeshare "update" presentation for members. Refuse any attempt to go to this whether you are staying here or the Holiday Inn/Royal Holiday section....which is a dump. The Holiday Inn itself is OK.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuma
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2010

I have stayed here several times before as part of my Royal Holiday timeshare. The property is old style Mexican architecture and overall, is very pretty. The staff was responsive and helpful. Maintenance workers were everywhere working on the property. That said, our room needed work. You think they would check it before a guests arrival. Two of the towel bars/toilet paper holders were coming off the wall. The doors from the interior to the deck were wooden with slats that open close. More than a few of the slats were broken. In addition, the bi-fold doors themselves didn't work well and came out of the tracks, wouldn't meet up with holes in the tile to lock them, etc. The deck railing was rusted very bad, causing black paint and rust to constantly flake off on the deck.

The maid service was excellent. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Of importance, I was shocked how high prices in all of PV have become. I was last there 4 years ago and in some cases, prices were up a whopping 100%! There were few good buys or deals.

I do wish Royal Holiday Club spent as much time on property maintenance as they do on new member sales/upgrades of existing memberships. I

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marktaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Good place to stay

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ltexasgirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grove City, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

We have been to Los Tules every year for 5 weeks for the past 20 years. It is simply gorgeous with it's plush and spacious grounds. The staff is friendly, helpful and curteous. Never once in 20+ years have we been treated rudely or even indifferently. We watch in amusement every year as the rude, swaggering and demanding "guests" stomp in and want what they want when they want it, and are unvwilling to wait 5 minutes for the check in proceedure, which is easy and painless. These people seem to get off the planes guouchy! These same people check out 3 hours late, waiting for their planes, and then get upset if when they arrive, someone is still in their room waiting for their plane!

We have had the same maid every year for 20 years, have watched her children grow thru the years, and have enjoyed a good relationship with the waiters and chef at the restaurant as well. They remember us and greet us by name every season, and even have had special birthday cake waiting for me on my birthday every year.

Our units have been re-modeled at least 7 times over 20 years, and all appliances are new, clean and in working order. We own for 5 weeks and trade for extra weeks thru RCI. We've always found the grounds and pools to be pristinely clean, and well maintained. They are always updating and rotating and painting buildings as maintenance.

The thing we like best is the peacefulness and quietness of the place. It is tranquil. We have also stayed in 4 other resorts around PV. Los Tules is always calm and serene. The others-Fiesta Americana, Velas Vallarta , The Krystal and Sheridan Bouganvillas are all 24/7 loud obnoxious music blasting by the pool at day- in the bars at night. Totally drowns out the lapping waves and making it impossible to leave your doors open to enjoy the breezes. In those other resorts, we have had drunks stumble into our rooms, we have been robbed, and we have had to dodge piles of vomit and urination off balconys from obnoxious, obliterated drunks. The other places will serve people into a coma and put up with their crap for a little money. At Los Tules, they have curteous and helpful secruity that patrol all day and night, and keep the obnoxious ones in line, so as not to disturb the rest of the world. They also will not serve if someone is obviously intoxicated, they cut them off at a responsible point.

We have tried other locales for a change of scenery, but always end up dissapointed and wish we had just booked more time at Los Tules. If you are polite and patient, you will be treated the same way and they will bend over backwards to make you happy. IF you are rude and obnoxious, they won't put up with you being disruptive to other guests.

Not only do we reccommend this to friends, we've brought over 25 different friends down to stay with us over the years.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HappyGoLucky45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

We went with a group of 6 people -- all couples. We had a beachfront view condo the one that sleeps 10 people. I think we could have easily fit 12! The beds were a bit hard, but so are the other properties' beds in Mexico.

Upon our arrival, we got checked in and were then told to visit with the "concierge." Yea right. She is not a concierge ,but the timeshare siren meant to lure us in! We told her no repeatedly and said we could get around. We ended up going the wrong way in the resort to have her mock us "OH so you KNOW where you're going, huh?!" Not professional in the slightest. When a friend of ours went to pick up a missing back in the lobby, "Come stay with me. You have the rest of your life to hang out with your friends and only this week to see me..." I am not kidding. SO beware!!!

Grounds were beautiful! Lushly landscaped and made great backdrops for group pictures. We had no trouble getting around the resort and having a great time. I would recommend the resort as long as you beware of the "concierge."

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AggieLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2010

We just got back from Los Tules, I travelled with my husband and my two sons, ages 23 and 19. The grounds at the resort are lush are beautifully manicured. There is plenty of shade around the 7 pools due to the gorgeous palm trees throughout the resort. Pools and beach were never crowded, you didn't have to get up at 7am to reserve a chair like some resorts I have been to!
We had a 3 bedroom, 3 bath in bldg 17. The kitchen was sufficient with fridge, stove, oven, microwave, coffemaker and blender. Plenty of dishes, glassware, pans etc and a large container of purified water which was replaced as necessary. The dining and living area was spacious. One bedroom was tiny, one decent sized and the master was large with silders out to a great, large balcony, overlooking the pool, beautiful grounds and ocean. Beds were a bit hard, we have found that to be the case in a lot of resorts in Mexico. The maid did a great job keeping our unit clean. We had a lunch and dinner at the on site restaurant, both were pretty good and the service was great. The surf was very rough so we did not spend a lot of time on the beach, mostly sat by the pool.
There is large grocery store right across the street, food and liquor was inexpensive compared to prices in the USA.
We did not mind the beach peddlers, we just said "no gracias" and they went on their way. However, the timeshare "concierge" were rather pushy and obnoxious, they did not accept my "no gracias" as gracefully!
Overall we all enjoyed it and liked the resort, no problem with bugs. It is an older property, the tile in the master bath and sink had a few cracks, but overall it was well kept, clean, beautiful landscaped with a true Mexican feel. A very relaxing vacation. I am glad I wasn't scared off by some of the bad reviews.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trvltrtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.4 mi away
Fiesta Inn Puerto Vallarta Isla
Fiesta Inn Puerto Vallarta Isla
#65 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Suites Nadia
Hotel Suites Nadia
#69 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rosita Hotel
Rosita Hotel
#52 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Los Tules Villas del Sol
Los Tules Villas del Sol
#16 of 94 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bellamar Ocean Front Suites
Bellamar Ocean Front Suites
#104 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
1.7 mi away
Buganvilias Vacation Club
Buganvilias Vacation Club
#51 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Tules Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Tules Resort

Property: Los Tules Resort
Address: Blvd. Fco. Medina Ascencio s/n | Zona Hotelera C.P., Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Los Tules Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Tules Park Royal is located within Los Tules right in the hotel zone in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico. An oceanfront condominium-style resort located 2 miles from the airport and 3 mile from downtown Vallarta. Los Tules is nestled on a twenty-acre plantation of coconut palms fronting a half-mile of beautiful sandy Bandera's Bay beach. Stroll along the brick-tile footpaths, through lush tropical gardens to your private colonial Mediterranean style condo. All rooms are designed to be used as separate units with individual entrances but can be combined into a full condominium with interconnecting doors, should the same party book more than one room. You can also enjoy our 7 swimming pools, 4 children pools, poolside restaurant-bar, 5 lighted Tennis courts and if you like golf, Puerto Vallarta's most challenging golf courses are just minutes away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Los Tules Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Tules Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Los Tules
Los Tules Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing