We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A let down”
Review of Hotel Mercurio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mercurio
Ranked #56 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A let down”
Reviewed 8 November 2011

The Mercurio goes a long way in the service it offers to its customers. The hotel itself could do with a serious refit, which was evident even before we stepped inside. The rooms are drab and badly finished. My friend had to be moved from his room as the first one he had, had serious damp problems - in fact he slept in my room the first night as no others were available. His second room had sellotape stuck between the wooden panelling on the ceiling, which didnt bode well. If you want somewhere cheap and close to the beach and dont mind about your surroundings - this is the place. We moved out after two days as we really were not that impressed with the locale. The service is the best thing about this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulianHeathcote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    128
    66
    25
    20
See reviews for
1
140
170
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Stayed recently at the Mercurio. Great central location in Zona Romantica, less than 5 minutes walk to the beach, great cheap neighborhood restaurants, great staff. Don't expect a 5 star resort, but it's for the most part clean and safe. Great if you just use the hotel for sleeping and showering. Happy hour there is fun too. Only negative was presence of a few ants in the room, but it didn't bother me too much. Mainly in the bathroom....never got bitten. Very tiny ants. lol.
BE CAREFUL OF THE POLICIA IN TOWN. THEY SHAKE TOURISTS DOWN. When you walk back from the bars late at night, they would stop you and accuse you of things (including drugs). Hide your money down your underwear or in your shoes. If you put it in your pocket, they will ask you to empty your pockets (in ruse of looking for drugs) but they really just want to take your money. It's such a shame that this town is being ruined by the local police. DO NOT TRUST THEM!!! Happened to me and happened to several other people I've spoken with. Better if you take the taxi from bars back to your hotel (pretty cheap...usually about 50 pesos only). If police stops you, they don't have the right to frisk you.....tell them that what they are doing is illegal. If they accuse you of drugs, challenge them and say that you will call a lawyer and take a drug test to prove them wrong. Again, tell them that what they are dong is illegal and they will leave you alone.
THE MAYOR OF PTO VALLARTA NEEDS TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS. The town relies on tourism for their revenue and this situation is turning people off. They should remember what happened during the swine flu epidemic when the town was devoid of tourists.

Room Tip: Stay away from the first floor, especially the rooms close to the patio/bar. Very noisy, especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset NJ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

The staff is terrific, the bar is nice, the pool is great! The rooms need some sprucing up, my mattress was lumpy & bumpy.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank broadwaybrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

This was my 4th time to stay at the Mercurio and I was more than happy with my stay. From booking all the way through to check-out the staff were fantasic. ALL the staff, and I mean ALL of them were friendly, chatty and helpfull.

My room 203 seems to of been repainted recently. The bed was perfect for me although some might find it abit hard. The sheets and towels were spotless as was the room. There was always plenty of hot water and the aircon/ fan both worked very well.

The Bar and pool in the Mercurio is the perfect place to be after a day at the beach.

The guest's ages ranged from 60s to late 20s so a good mix.

I can only say good things about this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AaroninDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehoboth Beach
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

First time staying here and totally enjoyed ourselves. We had orginally decided to stay only 3 nights and extended it to 7. Staff very friendly accomodating and try to attend to all needs. Joey & Israel were top notch along with the rest of the staff! Not a one did not try to make our staff pleasant. We did have a small problem with the air conditioning-and had to move it was 95 with 105% humidity. But they were great and looking forward to staying here again in September.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doslocosguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

This is our first visit to Hotel Mercurio, although we are here with friends who have been here several years in a row. The staff is attentive and consistent through the years. With close proximity to the beaches, restaurants, and attractions, this is a must-stay for for gay and gay-friendly travelers.

They take great pride in keeping the property well-cared for and make themselves available for assistance when asked. From then front desk, to the bar, to the housekeeping staff, they work hard to make your stay memorable. Pricing is super reasonable and there is no driving (or hiking!) down and up the hill for each venture into town...you are already in town. The property is off the main road, so out the door and a half-block over, anything you need is close at hand. Give it a try...you'll come back!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MADRID
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

PLEASE LOOK AT THE PICTURES. One thing is that gay people like fun and quite another that they like to live like pigs, but this hotel seems not to have heard. Cobwebs in the rooms, organic remains in the savannas, the corners filled with dirt, the bathroom had not seen the bleach for years. The hotel is very old, in the forties, and has not been renovated at all. The walls full of moisture and many, many, many bugs of various species. All very messy. PLEASE LOOK AT THE PICTURES. At night better not leave the bar or the pool if you want to see Mickey Mouse relatives checking size horse breakfast the next day. There are better hotels like the Abbey, very good quality and cheaper. A scam.

Room Tip: NEVER AGAIN
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SALAZARMADRID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Cupula
Casa Cupula
#11 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
#27 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Yazmin
Hotel Yazmin
#63 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#62 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
316 reviews
0.0 mi away
Andale Hotel
Andale Hotel
#102 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
4 reviews
0.3 mi away
Almar Resort Luxury LGBT Beach Front Experience
Almar Resort Luxury LGBT Beach F...
#69 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mercurio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercurio

Property: Hotel Mercurio
Address: Calle Francisca Rodriguez 168 | Colonia Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mercurio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, friendly mid-priced hotel with 5-star service serving the Mexican national and international LGBT travel market. 28 Rooms (up to 4 persons in some rooms), Pool with poolside bar. Popular Happy Hour ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mercurio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercurio Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Mercurio Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing