We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously the BEST gay hotel in PV”
Review of Hotel Mercurio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mercurio
Ranked #56 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Seriously the BEST gay hotel in PV”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I've stayed at the Mercurio more times than I can count. I've just read some of the recent "less than favorable" reviews of this hotel, and feel the need to add my two cents to the discussion. This hotel markets itself as a reasonably-priced with great service. No more, certainly no less. If you are one of those high-maintenance sorts that whine if the towels aren't ironed and no mints are on the pillow, don't stay there. It is NOT the Ritz, nor does it pretend to be. And if you are looking for a Palm Springs/Key West bathhouse disguised as a hotel environment where you can pick up that 20-30 something for a vacation hookup around the pool, don't stay there. It's not that kind of place, nor does it market itself to be. BUT, if you want a CLEAN, SAFE, and REASONABLY-PRICED hotel in a GREAT LOCATION with 5-STAR SERVICE, then stay at the Mercurio. You can measure the quality of a property by the percentage of repeat customers. I would bet the Mercurio's is one of the highest in PV. I wouldn't stay anywhere else. Just my two cents.

Room Tip: 2nd and 3rd floor are the best if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    128
    66
    25
    20
See reviews for
1
140
169
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I've stayed at Hotel Mercurio the last three years. Upon arrival, the staff greets you like "you're coming home" and I'm sad when it's time to leave! I don't speak Spanish, but it's not a problem because the entire staff is bi-lingual and are always happy to assist in translating. A yummy, hot, pool-side breakfast is included in the room-rate. They have Happy Hour daily pool-side, which is always fun! I cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: 2nd and 3rd Floor Rooms are quieter. 1st Floor Rooms are pool side, which you might like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Great place and location, Rooms can be small but who staying in their room all day.. Bartender George is good and will go above and beyond (example is was getting a cold and need some honey, so he went and bought some). Pool is warm and lots of hotties.

Carl in Michigan

Room Tip: You want the pool very. Other rooms are street view and come with loud cars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbarguy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My impression upon reading reviews and checking the web for this Hotel was that it was not only gay oriented and gay friendly but that there would nearly be a "friendly" cabana boy available for each and every "temporary tenant" of this hedonistic hacienda. While not just this particular venue's fault; it is located in a "gay friendly" area of Puerta Vallarta but you are much more likely to be accosted - 10 times over - by peasant vendors peddling their picayune wares from sarapes to junk jewelry. For each and every cute 20-30 something that might make you feel both comfortable and desirable there are 2 to 3 older dowager queens (with talons!) that are more than likely to give you the stink eye before you touch their "boys" - there was plenty of that meow mix action at the pool on Wednesday where I felt much more like an outlying interloper than a positive participant. The staff at the hotel are indeed extremely helpful but be mindful - it's on a steep hill and there is no elevator to access its second or third floors. Unlike other reviewers I had no trouble with noise or leaks but it is clear there are some "finishing touches" the hotel could use to spruce it up. The breakfast from 8-10 AM is a clear value as food prices at area restaurants (unless you're brave enough to try the "street meats") are comparable to prices back here in the good old US of A.

Room Tip: I was on the third floor facing the street and found this to be a nice quiet area where I could view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BairesBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercuriostaff, General Manager at Hotel Mercurio, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
We are not at all certain where you got the information that Hotel Mercurio (or Puerto Vallarta, for that matter, since much of your comments seem to have more to do with vendors on the beach, which we at the hotel have no control over) is a "hedonistic hacienda" with a "friendly" cabana boy available for each and every "temporary tenant." Perhaps you were looking for a different type of tourism experience that a completely legal or moral one. We do not offer that type of experience, nor do we offer it in our marketing or website.

Further, we must make clear that vendors and their "picayune wares" are not allowed on Hotel Mercurio property, So this was clearly your experience off the hotel property. That said, we, along with many PV business owners, are concerned at the number of ambulatory vendor licenses that have been granted by city government, and the effect this has on the visitor's experience. We regularly make those concerns known to local politicians, but many of these license holders have had these licenses for many years, and politically, it is difficult to revoke them in the context of the local economy (inequality, poverty, scarce jobs).

We are sorry you did not enjoy the Wet Wednesday party at the hotel pool... many of our regular guests and locals really enjoy these events during the hot and humid September weeks. We had many people ask us to hold these parties this year after we held them last autumn. But to each his own.

We are well aware that the hotel is not a 5-star property... but neither do we charge 5-star rates. We do the very best we possibly can to offer comfortable accommodations at a very reasonable price. We are constantly focused on maintaining the property in very clean and well repaired condition.

At least we're glad you enjoyed our full breakfast buffet (which, as you point out, saved you substantially over buying breakfast at local restaurants) No, Mexico is not as cheap as it was in decades past, but it is still a very good vacation value, with much to offer the traveler who is looking for something more than "cute 20-30 somethings" and cheap prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This hotel was great! The staff had excellent customer service and helped out with whatever I needed. The room was basic but clean and it's a great value and I am not too particular about esthetics. Most importantly I felt safe and the morning food was AWESOME! Every morning the breakfast was eggs with some meat with sauce and it was DELICIOUS! There is a safe in the room and the hotel is in a good location with a quick walk to the beach. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The top floor seemed pretty quite: It's where I stayed. The rooms around the pool would probabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jabberjawz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

First off, the staff were quite friendly and helpful from the reservation process through our arrival. We have stayed in various resort towns throughout Mexico at many different levels of service and this was shockingly the worst. The place is in major need of renovation. It rained our first night and the roof leaked horribly. The "breakfast" was quite unappealing. Not surprisingly, we woke up after our first night, quickly went online and booked a new hotel and moved to a much nicer place. If you're looking for a "hook up" joint, this is it. If you're looking for clean and comfortable, keep looking. There are many other options in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank westinguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The location is perfect....right in the middle of everything and very close to the beach. The 3rd floor room had a leak in the ceiling of the bathroom from the rain so I was moved to the 2nd floor where my toilet clogged on a daily basis. I would not stay here again until renovations are done.

Room Tip: If you are there during the rainy season stay off the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrflamingo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercuriostaff, Owner at Hotel Mercurio, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
I am sorry that you found the facilities less than you had expected. We are constantly working to maintain and repair every detail that we find needs our attention. And we do so as promptly as we discover the problem. Your visit coincided with the first major rainstorm of the summer. Despite repairs made to the roof during the spring (when there is sun and no rain virtually every day) we found that the roof above this room will require another visit from the roofer. We try to test the roof after repairs, but no hose hoisted to the roof to check for leaks can compare with the deluges we get in the summer months. Our roofer has already returned to work on this leak, and we hope the problem is resolved. The next big rainstorm will tell.

As for your toilet clogging, this too, will be checked and fixed if indeed we find a problem (occasionally we do have clogged toilets, as does any building, but in most cases, it has to do with what's been flushed... if this is some other problem, it will be fixed - whatever it takes.) In checking with housekeeping and our manager, there was only one clogged toilet on one day in recent weeks... so I'm not sure which room you were in or what were the factors surrounding the clog "on a daily basis." Please do let us know so we can address this!

We have plans to both expand (to the adjacent property next to ours, with a completely new building), and to completely renovate our existing building, from the skeleton out. That plan has been a focus since 2006. Unfortunately, the global financial crisis, among other factors specific to Vallarta, forced us to shelve that plan in 2008. But we are beginning to see light at the end of the tunnel after several very challenging years, and are once again seeking debt and equity financing to achieve our dream of making our hotel's physical facilities as fantastic as our attentive and caring staff is.

Please keep in mind that we (all tourism-related businesses) in Vallarta survive on a very short winter season - December to March, essentially. The rest of the year, we struggle to stay afloat with pricing and revenue that doesn't meet expenses. Indeed, because we believe that consistency is a key to success, even at very affordable summer rates that average about $49/night (excluding taxes), we still offer a full breakfast buffet, free wifi, daily maid service, free use of beach towels, and other amenities that hotels at twice our price charge for... Services we include because we believe it's the right thing to do.

So please know that we strive every day to ensure that we meet or exceed the expectations of every guest. Its a challenge given the circumstances in recent years, but it's a challenge we gladly accept and will always continue to do so. We appreciate your comments, because they help us to improve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Cupula
Casa Cupula
#11 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel
#27 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Yazmin
Hotel Yazmin
#63 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#62 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
316 reviews
0.0 mi away
Andale Hotel
Andale Hotel
#102 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
4 reviews
0.3 mi away
Almar Resort Luxury LGBT Beach Front Experience
Almar Resort Luxury LGBT Beach F...
#69 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mercurio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercurio

Property: Hotel Mercurio
Address: Calle Francisca Rodriguez 168 | Colonia Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mercurio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, friendly mid-priced hotel with 5-star service serving the Mexican national and international LGBT travel market. 28 Rooms (up to 4 persons in some rooms), Pool with poolside bar. Popular Happy Hour ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mercurio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercurio Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Mercurio Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing