We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard beds” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Pescador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Pescador
Ranked #66 of 127 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hard beds”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 20 nights and believe me sleeping on this hard as the tile floor isn't very nice, but the staff, the food ok not great, everything is close by supermarket La Ley has everything you need for a stay as long as ours street food is good, got to try el pechugon that's a rotisserie chicken next to OXXO it's the bomb a little too salty for my taste buds though, you can always bargain the price of the taxis for less

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KaelCislan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    119
    60
    26
    15
See reviews for
50
103
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

As say the title you get what you pay for. The hotel has a very perfect location very near the Malecon only 3 blocks and in front of the bay. Also it has the Camaron Beach that it is by far better than other beaches in Puerto Vallarta.

The restaurant food is average, the service in general is good not excellent. The hotel in general is clean.

Recommendable for one or two nights.

Room Tip: third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruben1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosita_ElPescador, Director Comercial at El Pescador, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you so much for your comments, We are glad to know that our service,staff and location was good for you.
We look forward to see you in a near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed a total of 4 nights at the hotel. Rooms were very clean and the staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. We liked our bedrooms both times ( we had street view and sea view for one night ). The entire hotel was clean and in good condition. One if our rooms had a part of the sink broken and they sent it to repair right away. I went with my little one (16 months old) and they had a play pan ready for him with clean sheets. Who does that? We were absolutely happy to be there.
Only downside? The internet connection. Dear owner/manager, please do something about the connection, every time you want to use it on your phone you have to log in. It is very, Very annoying. If you invest on your internet quality and connection you will have a flawless hotel.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank KarlaR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosita_ElPescador, Director Comercial at El Pescador, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you so much for your comments, We are glad to know that our service,staff and location was good for you.
We look forward to see you in a near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The attraction for me was the price ($60) and the central location (3 blocks from the Malecon). If you've stayed in a Motel 6 or any similar traveller's hotels, you'll have no surprises with El Pescador. The rooms are adequate, clean and even have a small balcony. The hotel has a beach front and the few extra dollars charged for this view may be worth it unless you have sensitive hearing and cannot get accustomed to the noise of the waves. The Hotel has access to the beach and it has its own pool. I found the staff accommodating.

This is a low tech hotel and the single key that you are issued must be left with the front desk. An operational elevator is available.

The room rate includes a breakfast and meagre though it may be, it does start off the morning and preps you for lunch. The breakfast is usually pancakes or scrambled eggs with ham. Also, there is only a two hour window. A surprise discovery was that the restaurant serves a good lunch. Although very little time was spend hanging around the hotel, the couple of times that I was at the hotel at lunch time, although I was apprehensive about the quality given the boredom of the breakfasts, I found that lunch did have more life.

The central location is a winning attribute. It is at the north end of the Malecon in a quiet neighborhood and away from the noise of the main road. Many restaurants are close by of many types from small Mexican mom and pops to swanky, pricey places.

The Hotel takes advantage of the Holidays and raises the rates. During part of my stay, the rates were doubled because of the Easter break. The Hotel is popular with tourists from Guadalajara and the Hotel quickly filled up. I found that for $15 more, I could move to the Feista Americana on Hotel row. The difference in the quality of the accommodation made me wish I had saved more when I was young but no regrets.

Room Tip: The main decision is to whether have an ocean view or a street view. Having chosen the ocean view, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iSolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosita_ElPescador, Director Comercial at El Pescador, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you so much for your comments, We are glad to know that our service,staff and location was good for you.
We look forward to see you in a near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay. Clean & comfortable. Breakfast was hit or miss.( not a fan of eggs.) so on pancake morning it was ok with coffee & juce. Close to the downtown area & old town. Cabit or walk. The walk is very entertaining. Staff are good.

Room Tip: ask for ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosita_ElPescador, Director Comercial at El Pescador, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest :
Thank you for your comments.
We are happy because you had a good time with us and all this information help us to still offer a best services.
We look forward to see you in a near future.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

I just returned from staying at El Pescador; Was charge twice more for a room then the locals; food was terrible and the restraurant had fleas; front desk people not very friendly; paid top dollar for a oceon view but only get the 2nd floor with the trees blocking our view.

Room Tip: demand a 3rd or 4th room with a ocean view; but they may still put you on the 1st or 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deeqa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosita_ElPescador, Director Comercial at El Pescador, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments all this information we will help us to take care
about some change in our service.
We look forward to see you in a near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed at the El Pescador for a couple of nights while in Puerto Vallarta. It is on the beach, close to the El Malecon with its bars and clubs. The room was very spacious, with two twin beds, however basic. The bathroom was outdated and we had a few visitors (tiny ants) during our stay. We booked breakfast as well, however their selection was very limited and if you're not a big fan of Mexican food, it's better to just go elsewhere. The AC unit was positioned on the wall, next to one of the beds, so it was impossible to have the AC on while in bed. Hotel non-residents were not allowed on the premises at night so the place was quiet during the nights.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anca U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosita_ElPescador, Director Comercial at El Pescador, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments all this information we will help us to take care
about some change in our service.
We look forward to see you in a near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Rosita Hotel
Rosita Hotel
#53 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Suites Nadia
Hotel Suites Nadia
#68 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
1.3 mi away
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Hotel & Suites
Emperador Vallarta Beachfront Ho...
#56 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mocali
Hotel Mocali
#70 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.7 mi away
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
Catedral Vallarta Boutique Hotel
#48 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#31 of 127 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pescador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pescador

Property: El Pescador
Address: Paraguay No. 1117, Puerto Vallarta 48350, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Pescador 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your El Pescador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pescador Puerto Vallarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing